• RRP: £14.99
  • You Save: £0.05
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Folded Clock: A Diary has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Folded Clock: A Diary Hardcover – 9 Mar 2017

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£14.94
£7.92 £6.17
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • The Folded Clock: A Diary
  • +
  • The Stone Gods
Total price: £23.93
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Circus (9 Mar. 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1408884291
  • ISBN-13: 978-1408884294
  • Product Dimensions: 14.4 x 2.7 x 21.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 514,458 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

Exquisite ... This diary is a diary in the way that Thomas De Quincey's Confessions of an English Opium Eater is a confession, or that Daniel Defoe's A Journal of the Plague Year is a journal, or that Sei Shonagon's Pillow Book is a pillow book ... Witty, sly, critical, inventive and adventurous ... A work so artful that it appears to be without artifice. This diary is a record of the interior weather of an adept thinker. In it, the mundane is rendered extraordinary through the alchemy of effortless prose (New York Times)

A work of finely tuned artifice, an unashamed performance of privacy ... By the end you come to realise that this is a work of careful, conscious assembly - a life told in tessellated pieces, fitting perfectly together ... Julavits acts as the expert tour guide to her own anxious, fizzing mind ... Revelatory (Financial Times)

Julavits is a brilliant craftsman ... Intimate, insightful and very entertaining, this is a singular delight ***** (The Lady)

Scathingly funny ... Exhilarating ... An engaging portrait of a woman's sense of identity (Los Angeles Times)

Blurs the lines between contemplation and revelation, fact and fiction ... Julavits takes the novel approach of reinventing the form of the diary ... Reveals a whole lot, in often-flawless prose, about motherhood, time, petty jealousies, grand debates, and the irresistible attractions of The Bachelorette (New York Magazine)

Playful, intimate and deeply insightful ... What you can tell from this book is that Julavits is someone you truly want to know - even better than you already do from reading her diary (Chicago Tribune)

Fascinating ... The humour and the pathos of the book arise from the mismatch between the urgency of a decision in the moment and the awareness that always runs beneath it: that time will eventually make most things not matter (Washington Post)

The Folded Clock is a study in awareness, like an affirmative email from a best friend that stands in solidarity, saying "ugh, I'm lost, too!" . She adds up little reminiscences and thoughts, weaving together a non-linear life. She gets through each day - the tough periods and precious times - and tells the story of a full life (Lenny Letter)

Book Description

An insightful meditation on time, relationships and identity, The Folded Clock is a funny, thoughtful and inquisitive diary for fans of Olivia Laing and Jenny Offill

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?


Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 1 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

14 September 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?