Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
126
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2015
LOL the mite man ya love him or hate him.....in the end common sense from this guy is in a abundance they say the truth hurts. A good read get to know the man
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2017
A good insight to how Nigel thinks and how he got where he is now. The Middle is a bit boring but there is a few humorous moments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
You can't help but be entertained by everything this man does, and in this case writes. The UK owes him a huge debt of gratitude for helping to give us our country back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Politicians are no longer representing the people, it is all about the Party and their careers. Nigel is a love him or hate him figure, yet anyone who has followed Farage and UKIP and actually bothers to look beyond the tabloid headlines will see that Nigel is the kind of politicians we need. Forget everything you've heard and go into this book with an open mind. You won't regret it.
Whether you agree with everything he says or not, it is a fascinating look at the EU from the perspective of someone completely against the norm.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
A great insight to UKIPs beginnings, and its ups and downs throughout the years.

Also a real eye-opener as to the corruption within our own political system, and main stream media.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Thank God for Nigel Farage! The greatest politician this country has ever produced. A fantastic autobiographical account that is beautifully written. Nigel presents his human side within many chapters of this book, which has incidentally been neglected and cast into the darkest catacombs of the minds of many journalists; for the last two decades, this man has been dehumanized by the marionettist elite and has been wrongly proffered by the media as a racist, misogynist and general xenophobe. If your mind has not been tarnished by the mass media and you can see behind their partisanship, then this book is for you. With Nigel's first hand account of being an MEP representing the South East, he exposes the corruption, exploitative nature and the true agenda behind this European project. "Bring on hard Brexit" - is all I can say.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Really interesting to read and good fun. Nigel Farage's style is superb. Whether you are pro or against him, it is still a good read and worth knowing the history behind the man and his actions.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Garage and Boris seem to be the two real characters in contemporary English politics. Both are from upper middle class backgrounds. Farage had an alcoholic stockbroker father and Farage's parents divorced when Nigel was very young. An individualistic boy he did well in sport at Dulwich college but was no academic. He preferred to enter the City not university. He did well as a metal trader until his career was interrupted, a drunken man walking out in front of a VW Beetle. He spent months in plaster, married a nurse and went back to the city where he prospered eventually founding his own futures firm. In politics he was libertarian and found a home in what developed into UKIP. Here is where this review dropped a star. The internal wrangling of UKIP are a rather sordid story of self-agrandising would be politicians, most high on ego and many low on loyalty. This continues when the party starts to have European electoral success. The worst individual example appears to be prima donna Kilroy-Silk. Elected an MEP Farage relates at length the waste, profligacy and general non-democratic nature of the EU. This goes on and on to the point of boredom but it is the EU's history. One thing sadly lacking are references to the sources of quotes. There is one absolutely damning one where Arnold Toynbee openly states it is necessary to mislead the electorate for his European dream to come true. It the workings of the EU are boring the book comes back to lefe when for a second time Farage narrowly escapes death, this time in a plane crash. This is really gripping writing. Nigel survives but his pilot suffers terrible mental scars. This brings us up to the date of publication. There follows some policy views. The is but one brief paragraph on immigration and no indication of any racism, in fact just the opposite right back to the author's schooldays. He says his big passion is not primarily to get out of the EU but to see the UK great again. He favours a federal UK while loathing all things in a federal EU. He has plenty of good reasons for the latter. I think Nigel and Boris are men to watch.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
How we were led from independence to complete subjugation under the unelected Euro council, giving up the right to make our own laws. You could not make up how the Eurocrats forced their failed constitution through unchanged by rebranding it as treaty. We have a chance to get out of the failing euro project by voting no next year. Greece will leave within a year.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
I have read a lot of autobiography, and this stacks up well. Compared with Alan Johnson's Please Mr Postman, it is more amusing, and difficult to put down. There are some bits which confuse slightly, and a section that gets a bit boring, but soon lifts again. For someone who is not a writer, it is a very good effort, and comes over as the real deal, this is who Nigel Farage is, an honest guy with a very keen mind, who has had life changing traumas shape his raison d'etre. Politics is a cause for him, not a means to an end, he gave up any pretension to riches to fight for change. He is passionate to let people speak and debate, and passionate to expose the totalitarian attitude of the EU which curtails free speech.
There is a great deal of enlightenment in this book which everyone should read.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)