Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2009
This is a book about flying the Buccaneer. And very good at it. It contains a lot of details on how to fly and fight with this beast. The chapters covering tactics are very good and pilot recollections are great and VERY entertaining.

It`s a must to those interesting in the Buccaneer or the RN/RAF attack squadrons in the 1960s/70s.

My only criticism is the lack of detail on the technical evolution of the aircraft. Submodels are mentioned often, but for somebody not familiar with the type it would be quite meaningless. electronic equipment, even ejection seats, are mentioned and described, but somebody without a fairly deep knowledge of this particular aircraft could get false impressions or even be confused sometimes (I read a few pages ago about Martin Baker Mk4 seats being fitted, but now I find Mk6s being discussed!)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
Although the book is pretty informative and gives a higly detailed account on the development of the Buccaneer, being a member of the general public I find it a bit hard to read. Probably the reason for this is not the book itself but the relatively uneventful history of the aircraft, which makes the fact that the book does not describe the participation of the aircrfat in the First Gulf War. Nevertheless it is a very nice book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
A great read for me. As a pilot I particularly liked the information on the development and flight test as well as operational flying. Having worked with a colleague who had flown the type in service and had got a bit of an idea just how it was to operate this type I was able fill in some more bits of information and get a really good feel for just what operating this formidable machine was like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
Having read this, it makes me realize what a pig the Buccaneer really was to fly. It always looked the part when on the carrier deck, or on fly-by's, where in truth, if you let your guard down while in the hot-seat, it would bite you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
Supburb technical explanations on the development of the buccaneer from drawing board inception to initial prototype flights and in service with the navy pilots and later with the rag
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
First lass read on the development and service flying of this aircraft. Full of facts and insights on how the aircraft performed and the problems that were sorted out on the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
A really good read, Highly recommended by an ex FAA man who was Flight Deck crew on the fixed wing carriers all during the 1960's when the aircraft was in front line service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
Really good description of the gestation and birth of a classic aeroplane. Read it in two sessions; held my attention throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
A good read but a bit hard going at times, full of technical imformation but worth sticking with.
Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
I really enjoyed reading this book. I helped build them for 26 years and it was very good to read about flying them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)