Flora the Red Menace has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Near mint disc and inlays - dispatched same or next day from UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Flora the Red Menace Soundtrack

5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
5 out of 5 stars 1 review from Amazon.com us-flag |

Price: £13.33 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
5 new from £12.99 2 used from £7.99
£13.33 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Act One: Prologue
  2. Act One: Unafraid
  3. Act One: The Kid Herself
  4. Act One: One Good Break
  5. Act One: Not Everyday Of The Week
  6. Act One: Sign Here
  7. Act One: A Quiet Thing
  8. Act One: The Flame
  9. Act One: Not Everyday Of The Week (Reprise)
  10. Act One: Dear Love
  11. Act Two: Keeping It Hot
  12. Act Two: Express Yourself
  13. Act Two: Where Did Everybody Go?
  14. Act Two: You Are You
  15. Act Two: The Joke
  16. Act Two: Sing Happy/Finale

Product Description

Product Description

Re-reissue of the debut musical from musical theatre legends John Kander and Fred Ebb, 'Flora the Red Menace', recorded in 1987 and featuring John Kander on piano.

As the writers of three of the biggest stage musical hits of the 20th Century: Cabaret, The Rink and Chicago, it is no surprise that Kander and Ebb's debut musical, which also starred a very young Liza Minnelli, was itself to premiere several hit tunes and future standards of the genre.

Although the original production did not last long on Broadway, three standards came out of the score; "A Quiet Thing", "Sing Happy" and "Dear Love". However in 1987, a sensational new version of the musical premiered to great acclaim and was this time a resounding success. Completely reworked to suit a smaller theatre and with an additional four new songs, with the added bonus of featuring John Kander playing the piano.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, enchanting show 27 April 2000
By Simon Cross - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I know this show really well, having had the pleasure of directing a production of it, here in Brighton in 1998. This cast CD was available in England at the time, and was invaluable in helping us prepare.
The show tells the story of Flora, newly graduated, and always keen to do the right thing. The setting is Depression New York. Flora shares her loft space with a collection of other artists.
At a job interview, she meets shy, intense Harry, a committed Communist. They spend time together, and truly believing she is doing the right thing, Flora joins the Communist party too.
I'll tell you no more of the story, because this CD is peppered with nice amounts of dialogue that propel the story along, but don't hamper listening enjoyment.
This is a small cast show, and so has a typical simple sound. There are some beautiful, sad love songs in the show, as well as some rousing dance numbers, and inspirational Communist numbers.
I don't know how this recording compares with the original Liza version, but it can stand proud on its own.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?