£40.95 + £1.26 UK delivery
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by EliteDigital UK

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Fleagle: World Bliss

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £40.95
Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by EliteDigital UK.
4 used from £38.95
£40.95 Only 1 left in stock. Dispatched from and sold by EliteDigital UK.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Audio CD (28 April 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Archetype
  • ASIN: B000003QZK
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 653,952 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Alysoun
  2. Blow, Northerne Wynd
  3. Da Day Dawn
  4. Twa Corbies
  5. Death And The Lady
  6. Winter Wakeneth
  7. Nou Shrinketh Rose
  8. Doon Da Rooth
  9. O Speculum Spericum
  10. The Hern
  11. Maiden In The Moor
  12. Worldes Blis
  13. George Collins
  14. Pres De Paris
  15. Nottamun Town
  16. I Have A Yong Suster

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

World's Bliss (Medieval Songs of Love and Death): John Fleagle
The great disappointment for lovers of Early Music is that most of the notated music to survive from the mediæval period is from those areas of life with a written tradition - the church and the court. Popular songs of the common people survive only as words with occasional small hints as to how they might have been performed. In his album 'World's Bliss', John Fleagle seeks to redress this. Most of the music on the album is composed or arranged by Fleagle (with some additions by Shira Kammen and Pierre Bensusan), but his background as an Early Music performer (Ars Nova, Sequentia, Ensemble Alcatraz) has clearly given him a strong feel for the idiom. He accompanies himself throughout on period instruments (gothic harp, lute, fiddle, sinfonia, bodhran) - with occasional help from Shira Kammen.
The songs themselves are mostly taken from the Harley 2253 manuscripts in the British Museum and include such Middle English 'popular favourites' as 'Blow Northerne Wynd', 'Twa Corbies', 'Maiden in the Moor', 'Winter Wakeneth', 'Death and the Lady' and the title track 'Worldes Blis'. As the subtitle of the disk suggests, they are all on the themes of love and death; Fleagle's mastery of Middle English pronunciation adds to the period feel of the whole.
Fleagle is an excellent performer and his focussed but characterful voice manages to convey a folky edge to the songs which makes a change from the rather distant performances of music of the period by more academic-based groups; this having been said, it is certainly far from the full-on 'hand-up-against-the-ear' folk sound.
Read more ›
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

Look for similar items by category