Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 10 April 2017
Loved every minute of it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
as somebody late to the flashpoint arc i bought this after watching the film to fill in a few more blanks
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
The cover is deceiving, the drawings aren't nearly as good and the the characters featured on the front are rarely in it. Slightly boring but the segment with kid flash is pretty interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
A must for anyone who reads graphic novels.
I highly recommend the other books in the series also.
Great purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2016
Great service, very pleased with the product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
If you like Reverse-Flash & Captain Cold then you'll love this. Don't not buy this as your first Flash book, by Rebirth instead.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
Good collector's item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2017
A++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2012
I think I'm starting to see the pattern in these "Flashpoint" books - DC are marrying up their big hitters with their small fry to round out these books. The "Flashpoint: Batman" book had little to do with Batman while "Flashpoint: The Flash" has very little to do with the Flash.

I read this expecting a book about the Flash, a superhero I've never read before, but ended up reading about someone called the "Reverse Flash" (which sounds vaguely sexual), a laughable "villain" called "Citizen Cold" who has ice guns a la Mr Freeze and battles some other villains called the Rogues; a villain called Heatwave who has fire guns (does anyone have any real powers anymore?!) tries to destroy a hockey stadium (really), and a cyborg called Cyborg stops him; there's a talking telepathic gorilla called Grodd whose story was interesting if only because his personality was so destructive and complex; and then the book finishes with Kid Flash living out a semi-Matrix like nightmare.

While the gorilla story was half decent, the other stories felt like parodies of superhero comics. The effect of twisting characters' personalities and histories (which is the whole point of Flashpoint) is wasted if the reader doesn't know the characters well enough in the first place to appreciate the changes, so I don't know if the book was incredible for pre-existing Flash fans but it had no effect upon me.

But then dull characters like Heatwave and Citizen Cold (really stupid names, really stupid outfits, and no powers but guns that shoot fire and ice) should have no place in supposedly sophisticated adult comics anyway, they're just cheap and derivative by-products of a past age.

Kid Flash's storyline was interesting as I got to learn about how Flash and his family (there are a whole bunch of Flashes much like Batman and his many Bat-people and Robins), something called the Speed Force, but the parts that so deliberately ripped off the Matrix with the concept of a virtual world while the actual body lives in a bio-pod took away some of the originality of the story.

Overall it was an underwhelming book with underwhelming characters. The writing was ok, the art was pretty decent, but Flash fans looking for Barry Allen in all his glory will have to do with the brief moments (maybe appropriately brief seeing as he's so fast, even for his own comics?) he does appear and make do with the Z-list characters presented as the main course here instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse