Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
48
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2017
Beautifully written storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
I really enjoyed this story. The Flash is the perfect character to use the time travel paradox. As Batman admits if he had the power he would use it to save his parents. The story and the art work are incredible, best of all this is not even an else world. As someone has already said this is the main story so it moves very quickly, and leaves the reader to try and work out many of differences in this world. There are separate stories of each of the main characters if you do want to research it further.

Barry Allen, has woken up to a different world, he does not have the powers of the Flash and his closest friends and allies are different, if they even exist. To find the villain responsible Barry must seek out the one hero he know exists (Batman) and get him to help put the world right. Though like everything in this timeline this person is not who he is supposed to be. I have to say I really enjoyed the Batman Flash team up and hope that DC does a more of them not just Batman Superman all the time.

If you like comic books get this book. Even as a standalone it is a great story, being part of a series it is not a complete standalone like say Justice TP, but it is comic books action and fun at its best. Especially if you are a fan of Batman or the Flash.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
I really enjoyed reading enjoyed Flashpoint, even though the story was quite complex, as I got further into it everything started to become a lot clearer. The storyline is a classic DC alternate universe where Wonderwoman and Aquaman are the villians and Thomas Wayne is Batman instead of his son Bruce. Well worth picking up if you're a fan the DC alternate universe stories as this is a really good one.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Flashpoint was used to bridge the gap between the old DCU and the New 52. It's a shame that that is what the story is best known for since it cheapens the interesting "what if" story presented, when the inevitable changes to the overall status quo in the final pages are entirely incidental to the overall story of the book.

Flashpoint is, as the name suggests, primarily a Flash story, or a Barry Allen Flash story, to be more specific. In fact, Flashpoint is perhaps the most restrained crossover I've read in terms of the number of DC characters that make an appearance. Unlike most other crossovers, there are few panels that contain gratuitous guest appearances. That is only a good thing as it gives the book a focus and clarity that many other crossovers would benefit from. Instead it feels more like an Elseworlds story than a crossover.

There's a genuinely great premise to Flashpoint that offers an interesting reimagining of the DCU (though some differences went on to be implemented in the New 52) and offers some intriguing hints at the history of the universe. Another area where restraint was employed was in the action sequences, of which there are few and all are relatively short.

That said, Flashpoint is not without its flaws. There are some subplots with little to no payoff and there are some "emotional" moments seemingly shoe-horned in (one particular comment from Cyborg has no relation to anything else in the book and just comes across as a very odd thing to say). There is also very little logic to Barry's main story, though given the subject matter, that isn't too surprising.

Overall, Flashpoint was very enjoyable but a little shallow. I can only say that I liked it. Definitely not an entry point to DC stories but well worth a read for anyone with an interest in the Flash or DC in general.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
Barry Allen, the hero known as The Flash, wakes up to find himself in a world he does not recognise. A world where Batman is a ruthless, immoral murderer of Gotham's criminals, Atlantis and Themyscera are at war and there is no Superman. As civilisation falls apart, The Flash assembles all the heroes he can find in a last ditch effort to end the bloodshed and find out what happened to create this apocalyptic landscape - his primary suspect: Eobard Thawne. To save the world, Barry must make the ultimate, devastating sacrifice.

This dystopic DC Universe was a pleasure to read. Geoff Johns creates a story so rich with a new, calamitous mythology that still remains true to the essence of superhero writing, creating complex alternate personalities for the people of this world. Brilliant character development is given to Barry as he learns more and more about what caused this world to fall apart. His final act is so heartbreaking that it's just as difficult for the reader to watch Barry change things as it is for him to actually do it. Emotion pours from the pages, showcasing just how good Johns is as a writer. This was a perfect gateway in creating the New 52's revised continuity of the DCU, giving reason to the change instead of simply rebooting it.

Andy Kubert, as usual, is a fantastic artist, delivering new designs of the characters to fit in with the new world of Flashpoint.

This is my favourite Flash story, and I recommend it to any DC fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
Oh that's a bit harsh,meh..
I think because now the New 52 is all settled in & canon that this book has aged in the space of a year making it a bit redundant.I hadn't read it so needed it but for me it didn't have the impact it should have.It felt like a stepping stone.
Still,upwards & onwards..!
(If you think you need this book to explain the gap between old DCU & New 52,forget it,it's not necessary in that respect,I was none the wiser)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
Really compelling story, great art and fantastic ending! It mixes things up and shows many characters in a new light. One of the best graphic novels I've ever bought.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
Similar to the Back to the Future movies, Flashpoint is a story that focus's on altering the past and creating a different future. I found the book very well written and with excellent art. I'd highly recomend. I haven't read any supporting Flashpoint stories but I still fully understood this book and felt it worked fine as a stand alone story. Flash is the main character, but this is a proper DC event story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
Recommend this story to any avid dc or marvel readers

Top story and graphically illustration is nice ! a must for comic fans
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse