FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Flag of Freedom (Nath... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Ex Library Book with usual stamps and stickers. Over 2 million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Flag of Freedom (Nathan Peake 5) Paperback – 14 Feb 2013

4.3 out of 5 stars 21 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£0.79
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£4.03 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£8.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 4 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

  • The Flag of Freedom (Nathan Peake 5)
  • +
  • The Spoils of Conquest (Nathan Peake 6)
  • +
  • The Winds of Folly (Nathan Peake 4)
Total price: £26.97
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Headline Review (14 Feb. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0755379055
  • ISBN-13: 978-0755379057
  • Product Dimensions: 13.1 x 2.6 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (21 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 77,467 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Book Description

The next Nathan Peake novel in this series of thrilling naval historical adventures in the vein of Patrick O'Brian and Sean Thomas Russell

About the Author

Seth Hunter is the pseudonym of the author of a number of highly acclaimed and prize-winning adult and children's novels. He has written and directed many historical dramas for television, radio and the theatre. Seth Hunter lives in London.


Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Parm TOP 500 REVIEWER on 26 Jun. 2012
Format: Hardcover
Review:

Seth Hunter like many historical fiction authors writing today knows his time period, and shows a real passion for it. His lead character Nathan Peake by this latest book(5) seems to have taken on his own real persona. He lives on and off the page. Seth Hunter writes the man so well that you would be forgiven for thinking of him as a real historical character.

There are a few authors in this time period who write this well, Julian Stockwin and Sean Thomas Russell to name a couple. They all display a true passion for the time period and the sea.

This fifth title has Seth Hunters usual careful build of plot and pace, carrying you across the sea and time into a web of intrigue. As i usually find with Seth Hunters books the story has a measured pace due to the depth of detail and intricate story. But that said, it is never a dull descriptive, with detail just for the sake of it, each chapter is well crafted to take and lead the reader deeper into the past and the war between Britain and Napoleonic France.

I look forward to Episode 6 of Nathan Peake.

Recommended

(Parm)

Description

1797: Britain stands alone against the forces of Revolutionary France. A victorious French Army, led by the youthful Napoleon Bonaparte, is poised to invade Britain. And in his country's darkest hour, Captain Nathan Peake finds himself imprisoned by his own side on the Rock of Gibraltar - charged with treason. To prove his innocence Nathan must uncover the great deception that masks the French war aims. Is the great armada being assembled in Toulon bound for the shores of Great Britain - or Egypt? His secret mission to discover the truth about Napoleon's invasion plans will hurl him into two of the greatest battles of the 18th century.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I love this series. I have been anxiously waiting for volume 7 to come out, but so far no luck, and it has been nearly two years since volume 6, so I am getting worried. It would be a shame to cancel this series. They are extremely well written, and Seth Hunter takes us into avenues of the Napoleonic Wars that are off the main path. So they are really informative as well, as the reader gets to learn about the less well documented events. Please publish more of this series.
Another one of our favorite series was apparently cancelled by the publisher, but the author put out an e-book last summer. That would be fine with us Mr. Hunter. Please don't put your quill pen down.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I am a fan of historical fiction, and non-fiction, but not usually that keen on naval history, sea battles or the accompanying jargon. However I really like this series. Nathan Peake is a great creation and I shall be sorry if, or when, his adventures, and his philosophising, come to an end. Unusually for the genre the series has also had some interesting women characters and the Flag of Freedom is no exception. The author tells his story well with the historical detail emerging from the dialogue, characters and locations, rather than being displayed as "history". He has, though, an unfortunate habit of killing off his midshipmen, boys in their early teens, which I continue to find upsetting.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I THINK i've read all of the books in the series. They are good action stories. I try to think what it was like to live on a warship at that time and think of the conditions on ships on which I served., In the early days a rating had to ask 'Permission to speak' to an officer, A carry over from the past, books sometimes give the impression conversation was more open!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The Nathan Peake books get better and better. A seafaring yarn mixing great historical action, politics spy's and beautiful women. All the main characters have such depth. You feel like you know them, you want them to succeed. You can't wait to turn the page. Looking forward to the next one.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Seth Hunter stands out from his contemporaries with his well written naval novels. Nathan Peake is an endearingly thoughtful Naval Officer with some of the self doubt of Hornblower, the easy charm and style of Ramage and the warmth of Bolitho. I greatly enjoyed Flag of Freedom and am eager to find out what happens to his "heart" and where in the world Mr Hunter sends him next.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Seth on top form - Nathaniel Peake is one of the best characters I've read in a long time. Long may it continue. Already ordered the latest edition of his swashbuckling tales and am looking forward to getting it soon.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I've read all the Nathan Peake series and enjoyed every one of them. I loved the way Seth Hunter has woven factual historical events into and around his fictional character.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback