Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2017
A super book. In good condition too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
Great book and good value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
A great introduction to French for young children. The parents learned a thing or two also! A great find, thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2008
Bought this and the Italian version for the kids and they love it. I even found it useful for building general vocabulary. The kids love looking at the pictures and finding hidden items. You have to use a bit of pursuasion to get them interested in the corresponding French names, but once they get going it's fine.

My 8 year old daughter reads this every night before she goes to sleep and has picked up lots of words beyond what they're teaching at school.

Well worth a few quid.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2002
I thought that i would give this book a go, if for no other reason than i had heard alot about the associative method in linguistics. Despite having to listen to endless, very funny ridicule from friends, i'm a 1000 words more verbose than before and i think that learning a language, before grasping the basics, is pointlessly difficult. Great fun and useful.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2009
Great for supporting those just learning french at school. Each page pictures a scene (a garden, beach, farm etc) and the french translation of every day words on the scene are framed around the page. This could do with a spot of updating (not quite sure we need every day words for a fun fair etc) but is colourful and informative. Some disappointments in that they only provide numbers up to 20 and we have days of weeks and the seasons, but strangely no months of the year.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
Usborne's "First Thousand Words" series are great teaching aids especially for working with children. Whatever the language, the pictures are the same, and the family illustrated are a slightly caricatured version of an "Anglo-Saxon" style family. If you want insights into the landscape or culture of the target language country, these books are useless. But if you want to practise and learn vocabulary, especially if you are teaching somebody whose mother tongue you do not know, then these books are ideal. Every page has a picture full of colour, action and incident, with lots of humour. For the little ones, there is the fun of looking for the "little yellow duck" who is featured in each scene. (In the kitchen scene, he is to be found revolving behind the porthole of the washing machine, poor thing !) They are great for practising such questions and answers as "What colour is ....?", "How many ...can you see?", "What is X doing?", "What is Y going to do?" etc. etc. I must confess that I prefer the larger edition; the mini edition is rather small to appreciate all the detail in the pictures, perhaps, though far more convenient to carry about.
Adolescents would probably be snooty about these books as being too childish, but for younger children and for adults, these books are great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2009
This is a delightful little book. Will definately appeal to children. I am an adult learning French and have found it very useful for learning related groups such as clothing,colours,rooms in the house etc. The book is also small enough to carry about without takeing any space.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
This is an excellent book for French beginners. The vocabulary is set out in various scenarios eg. in the garden, at the playground, in the park. Each page is full of amusing cartoons which should hold the attention of any child. I found myself remembering long-forgotten French words, and even learning some new ones! My own son loved the English version when he was learning to talk thirty years ago, and I have bought this book in readiness for my granddaughter when she is old enough to start learning French (just in case it is unavailable then!) Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse