Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

First Cut

4.4 out of 5 stars 19 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
--This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

Top Deals in Books
See the latest top deals in Books. Shop now
Currently unavailable. We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
Customers also viewed these available items
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Top Deals in Books
See the latest top deals in Books. Shop now

Product details

  • Paperback
  • Publisher: Hodder Ome (11 Oct. 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1444721097
  • ISBN-13: 978-1444721096
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 9,522,961 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

[A] suspenseful Hitchcockian tale . . . [one of the] top ten crime books to take on holiday (Telegraph)

Top notch suspense! From first page to last, Knight delivers as she plunges an ordinary married couple into a steadily growing horror of past lies, fresh betrayals and murderous revenge. (Lisa Gardner)

'It is some time since I have been so completely absorbed and taken out of myself . . . This is Ali Knight's second book and it is hard to imagine how she can beat it, but I hope to goodness that she does! (www.shotsmag.co.uk)

The resourceful self-reliance of the imperilled heroine Nicky . . . the large cast and complicated happenings make an intriguing . . . read and Ali Knight writes well. (Literary Review)

This thriller will have you on the edge of your seat desperate to read more. Perfect for fans of James Patterson . . . I was left completely shocked with the twist at the end. (www.crimefictionlover.com)

Praise for WINK MURDER (:)

Jo Nesbo, Stephen King, Patricia Cornwell and Ali Knight (Independent Books of the Year 2011)

A tight-plotted, too-close-for-comfort thriller that races to the finish. Pacey and disquieting, Knight's debut hints she might be a successor to Sophie Hannah's queen of suspense crown. (Stylist Book of the Week)

'A really enjoyable read.' (Martina Cole)

'Knight's promising debut . . . crackles from first page to last . . . She could be very good indeed.' (Daily Mail)

'Tightly-plotted, high-pitched psychological thriller . . . what bright new talent Ali Knight does so successfully, and with a welcome fresh eye, is broach the great divide between public and private space.' **** (Daily Mirror)

'A fast-paced whodunit.' (Woman and Home)

'A psychological drama that grips from first to last' (Choice) --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

Book Description

When love is worth killing for, the price paid for the truth can be very high indeed. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
Ali Knight is a writer crackling with talent, reading this book is like embarking on an express train, there is not a spare word.
It is well word crafted, there is a complex plot which, on the whole, she pulls off, above all she has a talent for introducing swiftly, new characters who are well drawn and endearing so that the book constantly refreshes itself, papering over a very few cracks.
I like the style because it helps you enormously with the process of enjoying reading the book.
In phrases and paragraphs (particularly the ending of chapters) we see promise of a greater writer, not just in echoes of great crime writers of the past.
What she has found here in Nicky is a fast witty heroine who is capable of uniting the slick action girl with the intelligence of a character in Jane Austen (in fact I thought the book owed something to the gothic of Northanger Abbey). But it is modern and contemporary in feel for a thriller,her heroine more Lara Croft than Miss Marple.
I was relieved that there were fewer dead bodies than in her last book, as there were, less unpleasant character types and I liked that the heroine was more sure of herself. Moreover she is able to draw women as well as men, catching their foibles and their follies as well as their strengths, without diminishing them or rendering them unpleasant to be introduced to. A definite improvement.
This one is worth watching, and in the meanwhile her books are very, very readable.
2 Comments 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio Download Verified Purchase
I thoroughly enjoyed "Wink Murder" and was looking forward to reading this. The start was gripping and intriguing,and I was hooked. Then,fairly early on,we were suddenly plunged into Hitman/Psycho territory,and implausible chase/kidnap scenarios and I switched off completely,I'm afraid.I wanted the psychological build-up and character exploration of the other book,not silly contrived thrills and violence every other page. So disappointed. Was it written before "Wink Murder"?
1 Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
We start off with the murder of Grace and quickly flip to present day. Nicky and Greg (Grace's then husband) are now married and things are far from perfect. He is always away for work, they aren't talking and things are just strained. Along comes a chance encounter and she meets Adam, young, fun and very flirty. Soon the fun turns to danger and Nicky finds herself caught up in murder, lies, deceit and a secret that will change everything.

I was gripped after the first few pages and really drawn in until soon after she meets Adam. Then things change dramatically and I found myself having to re read parts incase I missed something as it didn't seem to make sense. I found myself thinking that a few times in parts where characters would say something and I had to go back incase I was missing the link. The confusion did take away from my enjoyment as I kept trying to work out the what and why in different parts (sorry for being sketchy but I don't do spoilers in my reviews).

Another thing I liked about this book is the chapter length is a handful of pages between each (like James Patterson does) which means you can race through it inbetween doing your daily chores. I did enjoy the book and the things I liked far outweighed those I didn't and all of the confusion was pretty An on the fence 3/5 for me.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Absolutely fantastic book. I've found it harder to enjoy books as I've got older as I have too much else on to engage with them properly unless they are very good. The "too much else on" has fallen by the wayside in the last few days because it is such a page turner. The cleverness and suspense is excellent but so is the characterisation and the story. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Amazon recommended this book to me by email and delivered a few days ago. I enjoyed her debut first immensely, but this second book is more confident and mature in style and the plotting is first rate. I really, really enjoyed this.

From the opening chapter right to the end, Ali Knight, drives the plot and always keeps you guessing. I thought I'd worked out what was coming next a few times, and then began to realise that this book is much cleverer than that with genuine twists and turns. The opening scene finds the main character Nicky swimming in a lake at night, which she loves, and then something dramatic happens. Won't put in a spoiler as to what, but the surprise of that sets the tone for all the other surprises to come.

I really liked the main character - she writes obituaries on newspapers and her marriage has got entangled in some choppy waters because of the aforementioned lake scene. Enter a handsome, carefree man she meets on a plane and who puts her on a path to test her marriage. Things then start to go really awry. There's a lot of plot to go through but the pace ramps up all the time and there are several nice set scenes, including one at the Notting Hill Carnival. But along with the pace it gets really creepy and twisted at times!

The final twist is a genuine surprise that kept me awake thinking about it for ages... I cannot wait for the next one!
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I loved Wink Murder and was really looking forward to Ali Knight's next one. This did not disappoint at all - in fact, it's even better. I read it in two days - couldn't put it down ... my wife started getting genuinely upset with me. Great characters, page-turning plot, loads of tension. Just fantastic ... Can't wait for number three now!
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback