FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Fire has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Over 3 million items sold. Fast dispatch and delivery. Excellent Customer Feedback. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Fire Paperback – 5 May 2016

4.9 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback, 5 May 2016
£14.99
£6.55 £2.99
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£14.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 6 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • Fire
  • +
  • Plague
  • +
  • Shakespeare's Rebel
Total price: £32.97
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Century (5 May 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1780891458
  • ISBN-13: 978-1780891453
  • Product Dimensions: 15.3 x 2.6 x 23.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 763,861 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

"Adept and entertaining historical fiction that has been thoroughly researched and accurately portrayed." (Historical Novels Review)

Book Description

First came Plague, now comes Fire. The epic tale of the hunt for a serial killer threatening London’s rich and poor during the Great Fire of London. Perfect for fans of S J Parris and C J Sansom.

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 9 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
This is the second volume in the series set in Restoration London. It is 1666 and the newly established pairing of Pitman and William Coke are employed by Sir Joseph Williamson, Under-Secretary of State, to prevent the planned assassination of King Charles II by fanatical Fifth Monarchists in London. They equate the fateful year of 1666 with the number of the beast and therefore expect that the year will see the return of Jesus as the world’s king to banish Satan once and for all. The attempt is made while the King is attending the theatre, and fails, thanks to the efforts of Pitman and Coke, though they needed some luck to thwart the killing. Pitman is a professional thief-taker and Captain Coke, former cavalier and reformed highwayman, is preparing to marry his pregnant partner, a widow and actress Sarah Chalker. But William is betrayed on his own wedding day by a villainous plot hatched by the Fifth Monarchists, and ends up pressed into service for the Royal Navy in the campaigns against the Dutch fleet. Meanwhile, Sarah ends up in a debtor’s prison, and then the hot dry London summer explodes into the disastrous conflagration at the start of September, and it does indeed appear that the Fifth Monarchist’s predictions might just be coming true.
The story is very capably and engagingly told. The madness and disregard for life shown by the fundamental Fifth Monarchy believers is clearly echoed in aspects of some of today’s extreme religious beliefs and the violence and terror they justify in the name of their God. The story rattles along to a neat conclusion – adept and entertaining historical fiction that has been thoroughly researched and accurately portrayed.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Do not think 'oh, not yet another Fire of London novel' and set this one aside - read this one and don't bother with the others! Apart from the fact that Mr Humphreys is a superb, evocative, and imaginative writer, this story really brought the events of that September in 1666 100% alive. Chris Humphreys has produced the next best thing to a time machine!
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Finished reading this last night - absolutely fantastic book. It is a follow-up to his book called Plague about the Great Plague just before the Great Fire of London, and also has the Fifth Monarchists causing mayhem and trying to assassinate King Charles II. Very, very, good. I was sorry to reach the end!
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Chris Humphreys is one of my favourite authors. Everything I have read has been well paced, with good characterisation and enjoyable. Historically accurate, as you would expect, well researched and I recommend it to anyone with even a fleeting interest in the reign of Charles II.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I would recommend this Author.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Feedback