Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
916
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2014
This review is for anyone wondering whether it is worth getting the 3D Blu-ray version. Maybe you already have it in DVD (or even Blu-ray) and have just bought a 3D TV and wonder if it is good enough to justify the expense. Well all I can say is Yes, yes & yes again! Just watched it myself on my LG 3D TV and was blown away by the quality. To be honest I was prepared for a mediocre 3D effect given it's a post release conversion. But it's amazing, the depth is terrific and scenes like the coral reef, jellyfish swarm and in the tank are on a whole new level. Although there are no 'out of TV' front projections this does not detract from the overall enjoyment. It's been a few years since the last time I watched it in 2D and it was like watching it for the first time!
22 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2004
Finding Nemo is, quite simply, brilliant. Computer animation has come on in leaps and bounds since the days of Toy Story (1995) and Finding Nemo stunningly attests to this. From the vibrantly coloured and gently undulating coral on the reef, to the murky depths of Sydney harbour, to the clever use of reflection and refraction off the fish tank, this is a film in which the constantly changing scenery is a large part of its attraction. The original and well-judged score enhances the viewer's sense of wonder and their empathy with the characters.
But computer wizardry alone cannot create a great film. Finding Nemo is also blessed with an action-packed story and lots of laughs (largely courtesy of Dory - a well-meaning blue tang fish with short-term memory loss). Nemo is a young clown fish, eager to test his boundaries, who is caught by a diver and taken to an aquarium in Sydney. Whilst there, he makes friends with a motley collection of aquatic creatures who help him plot his escape. Meanwhile, his over-protective father, Marlin, begins a frantic quest to find his son. Along the way he is helped and hindered by three new-age sharks, some bodacious-dude turtles, a whale, and a monstrous angler fish (amongst others).
And yes, the ending may be a little mushy, but after such an epic adventure, the viewer will find the sentimentality relatively easy to stomach. Indeed, the character development is surprisingly deep for a children's movie, and it's a nice change to have not every character being entirely good or bad. Parents in the audience will certainly identify with Marlin's dilemma of wanting to protect his child, and yet coming to realise that the time comes when one has to let go a little.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2004
The premise of Finding Nemo is, like many good stories, quite simple: an over-protective, worrying father searching for his prodigal son. In this case, the father happens to be a fish, a clown fish to be precise. As voiced by Albert Brooks, Marlin the clown fish is both a sad and sympathetic figure.
When his son, Nemo, is snatched by a scuba diver, Marlin ventures off into the great unknown to rescue him. Along the way he is joined by a blue tang named Dory. While trying to be helpful, Dory is seriously impeded by her lack of short term memory (we’re talking Memento for the under 10s here).
Together, this unlikely duo brave the perils of the open sea, including sharks, whales and jellyfish. On the verge of despair, Marlin and Dory are picked up by some sea turtles led by Crush, the quintessential surf dude, who points them in the right direction. Through these adventures, Marlin learns a parent’s hardest lesson: how to let go of your kids and let them grow up.
Finding Nemo has a great deal of heart and is told with much humour. Thankfully, the filmmakers show some respect for their audience, both kids and adults, treating us with a measure of intelligence rarely found in Hollywood ‘family’ fare. All of which makes for a very satisfying movie. This is one you’ll watch again and again. Years from now, you’ll put it on for the grandkids and still realize how good it is; a timeless classic.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
I don't know what it is, but Disney seem determined to short change customers in the U.K. The American release of The Incredibles on Blu-ray came as a 4-disc behemoth. Here in the U.K. it was released as a paltry one-disc.

And so, with arguably Pixar's most popular film - Finding Nemo - celebrating a 10-year anniversary to boot, you would expect something special from the house of Mouse. The U.S. got a lavish 2-disc edition back before Christmas, with a host of special features. The U.K. edition creeps out 6 months later with little or no fanfare and is missing a few special features.

Gone are the days when Disney ported everything over from previous DVD releases - now we're just getting the semi-skimmed version of releases and it's just not on. Shame on you Disney!
66 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
Ahh who doesn't love Finding Nemo! One of Disney's best animations, it is beautifully made, colourful and the storyline is fantastic. This one of my children's all time favourites and they never get bored of it.
The characters are all well thought out, the voices are perfect for each of the parts, its just a superb film. The one thing I love about Disney films is how they can be enjoyed by both children and adults.
A great film, well worth watching by all ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2004
You don't need to be embarrassed about going to watch this 'kid's' film, even if you are (ahem) nearly 40. What Pixar have achieved with Toy Story 1, 2, Monster's Inc, and now this, is quite simply to have re-discovered the magic of cinema.
The merits of this film are endless, but one or two are worth picking out. First the script: This is lively, witty, and has enough informed, sophisticated humour to keep any adult giggling stupidly, at the same time as pushing all the right buttons for the kids. Barry Humphries' Bruce the shark leading the 'Fish are Friends not Food' AA meeting is a case in point. And Marlin's reaction to Dory's attempt at talking in whale language is instantly recognisable as a perfectly judged observation of the embarrassment caused by English speakers who think that to speak to foreigners you have to shout and do lots of arm movements. Secondly the art. Here, we are treated to a festival of animation that effortlessly blends documentary style ultra-realism that could have come from the BBC's Blue Planet series, with three dimensional fantasy. Every single scene is visually stunning.
So buy this for your kids by all means. But make sure they leave it 'for you to put away' when they go up to bed. Then see if you agree with me when I suggest that Pixar is an exceptionally bright spot in an otherwise dreary Hollwood.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2004
What an amazing film.
I went to see this at the cinema with my partner and his four year old daughter. We loved it more than she did!
The animation is amazing, and after loving Toy Story so much i was even more impressed to find that the animation was much better.
The story starts quite tragically and i even had a tear in my eye.
Marlin then vows to protect his one little baby from everything and never let anything bad happen to him.
The story starts with Nemo's first day at school.
Marlin isn't happy about him going off on his own and Nemo then tries to show his dad he is big enough by swimming out to a boat.
Unfortunately Nemo gets caught by a scuba diver and ends up in a fish tank at a dentists.
Marlin then sets out on a journey to Sydney to find his son.
Nemo in the mean time is trying to get out of the fishtank with the help of his new found fish buddies.
On Marlins journey he is helped along by a variety of wonderful water animals, and even the sharks are fab! 'Fish are friends not food' is a fantastic line and probably the best alongside 'Pop into my mouth if you want to live' in the whole film.
Its family fun at its best.
An amazing, wonderful, colourful, vibrant, fun loving film for all!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2005
What a delightful film, something for the adults and the children. The colours and humour are great, well worth watching
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
States it's a limited edition cover but I got the regular cover, the picture is very misleading
review image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This film is now available from Amazon.com for about £22 including economy postage. It took about two weeks to get to me, you can get it faster if you're prepared to pay.
For that you get the five disc special edition set including the 3D blu ray, the regular blu ray, a blu ray of extras, the dvd and a digital copy.
The disc is region free so its safe to buy, I watched it last night with no problems
Best of all it looks fantastic! If ever an animated feature was perfect for 3D this is it.
Bearing in mind that there is still no release date for the 2D blu ray in the UK this is a very worthwhile and reasonably priced addition to your collection.
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse