Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
12
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2007
Tim Macartney has writing a wonderful and important book. It is poetic, passionate, inspiring, scary and ultimately hopeful, but not before providing a powerful wake-up call to change our relationship with the planet.
Reading Finding Earth, Finding Soul, this relationship acquires a new meaning. It is not a resource to be used and abused for mankind's benefit, but a protector and life enhancer for which we must always remain thankful. It is one thing to care about the planet, but it is another entirely to feel an personal connection with it, which Finding Earth, Finding Soul has helped me realise.
Macartney weaves in his own personal life with a deep understanding of our impact on the planet and brings it all together through the pages of the book in a manner that is beautifully poetic but extremely credible. The result of which is an impassioned call to arms for us all to take responsibility, from corporate and political leaders to anyone who has ever cast a vote or bought a product from a supermarket. If we want change, we must make it happen, and boy is he right!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2008
Books about our environmental challenges are often full of rather depressing facts, and
although they may be informative, they can leave you feeling powerless and depressed.
This book is the complete opposite, I've never read anything before that so clearly voices
the environmental issues, but leaves you feeling light,positive and ready to to take action
and be effective. Reading this book was a life changing experience.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2008
I loved this book. A personal journey, woven through with insights from a life lived with integrity and poems to Gaia. Good Medicine for this time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
Most books for managers are addressed to the mainstream – at how to get on in the world according to its expectation. This book is about how to make the most of your life and to change the world for the better.

It is a very personal testimony – a beautifully written account of one man’s search for meaning and his offer to the world. He happens to have worked in the domain of management development, to which his message is relevant because managers are powerful people in our society. For them to hear this story might hopefully be influential in awakening the reader, the world of management learning and society in general to the challenge of our age. He describes his happenstance beginning, his early work with managers, his establishment of Embercombe as a powerful centre for such work, the story of Pathways as a learning enterprise and his own quest for self-awakening. In so doing he transmits a message regarding western civilisations’ abuse of the earth and the need and hope for an alternative way of being.

Through the unique features of his own journey, Mac brings the reader into respectful relationship with the wisdom of old – what he refers to as the Invisible Path.. He bears witness to its application to leadership through his own authentic voice. Is authenticity anything less than this link from earth to soul?

Macartney speaks direct to the reader from his own experience – the deep experience of a mature and perceptive individual. It is a call from his soul to yours. A call to awaken, to play your part, to live rightly and to touch the earth. Not only to touch the earth but to rejoice in being intimately connected to the living earth and all her gifts. To learn to love and be loved – to live fully and wholly. It is a lovely book, majestic in its reach. It is also an engaging read. I heartily commend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2008
I thoroughly enjoyed sharing in this journal of insight, hope and fellowship. I found the 'story' unveiled, layer by layer, to build a picture of bravery, determination and commitment as the author seeks personal fulfilment. The experiences all became pertinent to the spitritual relationship of the author with nature, through his work, and inspired a desire to become involved in humanity's largest challenge to survival. The book teaches how to reach towards a life of appreciation and understanding, yet never judges. It gave insight into ways in which we can approach leadership through patient reconciliation and the importance of one's own qualities and needs to perform a role in an exceptional fashion. In addition to all of this it was beautifully and sentimentally crafted, with eloquent description and capture of people and places with a unique sensitivity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
Finding Earth ,Finding Soul is a beautifully written book.
It leaves you knowing, as you knew before, that though there is work to be done,
we are all very capable of doing it, no matter what that may entail.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2016
Tim writes poetically and from the heart, conveying a love of nature that heals, supports and inspires his entire life's work.

It is a passionate account of his personal journey, his struggles and achievements, which offers his readers a powerful guide through these challenging times, as we grope for new ways to live and relate. Ways that can nurture ourselves and the planet, rather than destroy it. It is a compelling read; I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2007
I love this book and hope many people will read it and have it be a source of inspiration, hope, courage and love in action.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2007
This book is a beautifully crafted weaving together of one man's personal journey towards living the full expression of his soul, and an empassioned call for inspired leadership and committed action. Wrtten in an open, personal voice, able to acknowledge vulnerability and fear, Macartney reaches out to his reader and demonstrates what is possible as he entrusts himself to his "invisible path". Anyone who shares his great love and passion for the planet will be touched by the intimate sharing of himself and his bold vision.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
Mac wrote this book so beautifully, full of emotion he lays bare our deepest urges and connects with us in a way that few writers can..and riding those waves makes this book something to really savour. You can almost forget the content..the words, and just receive that gift alone. Its more than you've received from almost all the books you have read..ever!

But when you read this book you will start to see something in you. I did. It will ask you a question. An important question. For this book is a Clarion Call. It asks us, asks me to awake, to stand and be counted. So will you?

It touched me deeply at both levels and my life is going to be different now because of it. Thx Mac
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)