Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
11

on 17 October 2017
Very clear and understandable for non business people, so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2017
A great book for understanding the numbers for beginners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2011
If you're relatively new to finance and accounting this book is a real eye opener.

It explains a great deal about what the numbers mean and how they affect you. I was especially blown away by the revelation that these number aren't as precise as most people would have you believe. This book gives you a more realistic perspective of the financial statements, it explains the role of accountants and how financial statements can be manipulated to 'look' more attractive depending on whose looking at them (bank managers, investors, owners etc).

It even goes into some detail about how various companies took these adjustments to extreme levels and abused some of the tools when creating financial statements to make the company look better off (and the eventual demise of these companies through these questionable practices). But most of the book is about how to better understand and manage your financial figures more intelligently.

It teaches you how to interpret your own financial statements of your business and how to better understand your business's financial position (as well as applying these tools to other companies).

Surprisingly this book isn't just pages of numbers and accounting case studies, it's more of a guidebook for the average person. There are a few bits of jargon in this book that may make some readers stumble a little. However, the book does do a fantastic job at explaining all the important facets of an otherwise over-complicated subject in easy to understand terms.

If you've studied basic accounting before but still struggle with a financial statements and their implications, this book will definitely help.

This book is also essential reading for anyone who wants to run their own business someday but are a little in the dark when it comes to financial and accounting matters.

Overall, a great book, well written, insightful, and a rare yet essential text for those interested in the subject. My only irk is that this book alone won't answer all your financial questions, but it is still essential reading and a good addition to your knowledge-base on the subject.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2015
I've done MBA, worked on a number of IT projects which involved finance and I have read a number of books on finance.

This book explains the fundamentals in the best possible language.

It even helped me to better implement finance management in my own business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2015
An excellent all-rounder for getting to grips with the financial aspects of business. Questions I've always had have been answered concisely. I finished this book with a good understanding of P&L, Balance Sheets and, to a lesser extent, Cash Flow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2014
It was very convenient to download this book to be read on Kindle for windows. The content of the book is written in simple understandable language and is actually quite interesting for a finance book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2015
Gives you the basics of accounting needed for entrepreneurship. Would highly recommend to anyone thinking of starting their own business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2011
I now know how to read an income statement, balance sheet and cashflow statement. What more can you want from this book?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2016
Really good book if you want to measure the performance of your business (or any other).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2014
Clear and conscience. Easy to ready and understand. Must read for anyone with a job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here