Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2000
This is an excellent source of basic information on practically every major film movement. Each chapter is clearly organised and sub-divided in chronological order giving basic knowledge on subjects as diverse as German Expressionism and the Hollywood musical. It is a very good text book to dip in and out of providing a good starting ground for a more in depth study for all film students.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2000
Alongside "A Histrory Of Narrative Film" written by David A. Cook, this book represents probably the best account on film history in recent time. By the way, this is not the only one by this tremendous couple of people. Thank you Mr. Bordwell and Mrs. Thompson.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2015
Very well documented and well informed history book about movies, that can serve as a "bible" for years to come, split into small chapters, with small, but well chosen illustrations. Academic coffee-table.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Same review as when I ordered 'Beginning Theory' for my son's Film Production Course.
Very fast turn around. Book was in pristine condition. I was surprised as this book was considerably cheaper from this vendor (Was a large variance in price) than others so I had thought that perhaps this would be a Bangalore special where the paper quality was poor, print would be gray, dust between the pages etc. (After living in Bangalore and seeing books like this I recognise them quickly.) However this was nothing like that. Clean white pages and solid dark ink, no blurring or any other signs of an inferior print.

Excellent value and thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
Very useful as I needed this for film studies at uni and this was one of the core books I needed. Anyone interested in film will find this book very interesting. Would highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
Great book for every cinema student and film geek! Thomson and Bordwell are very competent and the book's form and substance is very rich.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
The book is an introduction in film history. The texts are short and clear, but not really elaborate. The book is in good condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Great service, the book looks as it has been described, highly recommend, thank you so much for this lovely book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
A little upturned at the corners but good condition otherwise. Just what I needed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
High expectations, but despite plenty of useful information I was finally defeated by the flat prose and boring presentation.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)