Buy Used
£4.50
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by speakingtree
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: New and unread. Direct from Speaking Tree Shop; may have slight shelf wear, remainder mark and/or price sticker. Fast dispatch from UK seller.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

The Fifth Sacred Thing Paperback – 31 Jul 1994

4.8 out of 5 stars 18 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback, 31 Jul 1994
£2.82
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 496 pages
  • Publisher: Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing Group; Reprint edition (31 July 1994)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0553373803
  • ISBN-13: 978-0553373806
  • Product Dimensions: 15.5 x 3 x 23.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (18 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 177,866 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

‘Slated to be one of the great visionary utopian novels of the century.’
Marion Zimmer Bradley

‘This is wisdom wrapped in drama.’
Tom Hayden, California state senator

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From the Back Cover

It is San Francisco, 2048. Priestess Maya Greenwood lives in a tight-knit community run on ecological principles, without poverty, hunger, or hatred, where a rich culture honours its diverse mix of races, religions and sexual orientations, and the Four Sacred Things that sustain life – earth, air, fire and water – are valued above all. The Fifth is Spirit.

In this, Starhawk’s first novel, Maya Greenwood suddenly finds her idyllic world threatened by invasion from the militaristic state to the north: a nightmare place where a totalitarian regime polices a corrupt apartheid state. How can her community, which doesn’t believe in violence, defend themselves?

California is poised to become a battleground between two clashing cultures, and the outcome rests on the wisdom and courage of the community, and particularly in the strength and vision of the extraordinary Priestess Maya. In the tradition of Margaret Atwood’s 'The Handmaid’s Tale', Starhawk’s visionary novel creates a complex fictional reality about love and war, freedom and slavery, and the future of the living planet.

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product Description

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
See all 18 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
A true beauty. This novel magically weaves the link between fantasy and our "reality". A true beauty. To be honest I didn't expect the novel to be that good. It looked to me to be another new age, crystals and horror scopes type setting. But upon reading I discovered the errors of my judgements. The author displays an understanding of many worlds, from that of arcane magic and shamanism to practical community planning and biology. A gifted writer who succedes in her prowess as a communicator. Thank you.
Comment 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Instead of the "doom and gloom" stories of science fiction, or the "wonder" type, this book accepts the faults in the human race and the legacy this has created for the Earth, and examines an obtainable way forward, through community and respect for the Earth in her four manifestations. Beautifully written, thought-provoking, amazing book.
Comment 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
An inspiring and thought provoking book that explores a possible scenario of a post industrial collapse/ peak oil / climate change society. One of the few people who have come up with a positive vision for that future while contrasting it with a horrific extrapolation of the way we operate now. At the beginning I worried that it was going to be too new-agey for me but after the first few pages I was gripped and couldn't put it down. Very enjoyable and definitely recommended.
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is the second book by Starhawk that I've read and I couldn't put it down. Her style is both easy to read, it just flows, but it is also un- put-down- able! She tells the story of civilisation as it survives after near world melt down. There are the goodies and the baddies but nothing is stereo typed. Within the good camp,there are petty and not so petty jealousies and rivalry, bad decisions and characters with all their flaws that we can relate to on both emotional and psychological levels . And the baddies have the same mix, some bent on world dominance and totalitarian rule with all the perversions and cruelty, not to mention terrifying genetic modification to dehumanise their victims; but here are also those who doubt this system and ask 'what if ?' And maybe there is another way. There is hope and despair, love and heartbreak and joyful sex, abuse and torture, and an amazing portrayal of future possibilities for healing ourselves and our world. A brilliant read, ignore the awful cover, that I will go back to again and again. An inspiration on every level . If you are concerned about the future of our planet, our civilisation, GM science, and any other serious topic of the last 60 years you will not be disappointed by this novel. Her sensitive yet realistic grasp of how relations within families, couples and communities work and evolve or fail is brilliant. Her handling of sexual mores and sex even in very old age is interesting and gently done. A book that can be read on many levels. Just as science fiction or as a possible blue print to learn from and take on board. Her characterisation is very good and complex and at every stage it will help you see life with its joys and horrors from new perspectives. I would thoroughly recommend it to be read again and again,
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The Fifth Sacred Thing, Starhawk's first novel - perhaps more pertinent now than ever before.
A powerful tale of a community without poverty, hunger, or hatred, rich in diversity of culture, race, religion and sexual orientation, honouring the Four Sacred Things that sustain life – Earth, Air, Fire and Water – above all. In this context nurturing the Fifth sacred thing which is Spirit, the Earths, theirs, yours and ours.

Against this community, the sociopathic Stewards from the militaristic state to the north: a nightmare place where a totalitarian regime polices a corrupt apartheid state. With their psuedo religious oppression and control of water for profit, of medicines to make people obey the party line, intent on ravaging the communities resources (forests they have planted and nurtured, rivers they have cleansed, farmlands they have tended) and enslaving their people.

How can the community, which doesn’t believe in violence, defend themselves? Two cultures clash and the outcome rests on the wisdom and courage of the community and particularly in the strength and vision of the extraordinary Priestess Maya. An inspirational novel about love and war, freedom and slavery, and the future of the living planet. Set in a not too distant future but feeling ever more like modern times, a recommended read for all who have a heart and care to live by its guidance.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Profound novel that gets across the essence of permaculture and the value of community who chose to invest in becoming resilient and self sustaining versus spending on weapons. Love the idea that they overcome the odds by loving not fighting the oppressors. Starhawk has excelled herself imbuing spiritual material from diverse religions and belief systems as well as drawing believable and endearing characters. A perfect and powerful allegory.. Can't wait for the movie.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is a book to read and read again ----if you can get it back from all the friends you've lent it to! Absolutely brilliant, though also quite scary in that the things protrayed in this fictitious world are all too recognisable in our own. Its one of those books that changes the way one looks at the world ever after. A real treasure of a book, written with depth of understanding of human nature and society, and compassion, it offers no easy answers, yet does not leave a dark taste in the mouth. Would give it six stars if I could!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback