This title is not currently available for purchase
Kindle App Ad
The Fifth Sacred Thing (Maya Greenwood Book 1) by [Starhawk]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

The Fifth Sacred Thing (Maya Greenwood Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.8 out of 5 stars 20 customer reviews
Book 1 of 2 in Maya Greenwood (2 Book Series)

See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from

Length: 496 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £3.47 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

Kindle Monthly Deal
Browse a new selection of discounted Kindle Books each month. Shop now


Product description

Review

‘Slated to be one of the great visionary utopian novels of the century.’
Marion Zimmer Bradley

‘This is wisdom wrapped in drama.’
Tom Hayden, California state senator

Synopsis

It is San Francisco, 2048. Priestess Maya Greenwood lives in a tight-knit community run on ecological principles, without poverty, hunger, or hatred, where a rich culture honours its diverse mix of races, religions and sexual orientations, and the Four Sacred Things that sustain life -- earth, air, fire and water -- are valued above all. The Fifth is Spirit. In this, Starhawk's first novel, Maya Greenwood suddenly finds her idyllic world threatened by invasion from the militaristic state to the north: a nightmare place where a totalitarian regime polices a corrupt apartheid state. How can her community, which doesn't believe in violence, defend themselves? California is poised to become a battleground between two clashing cultures, and the outcome rests on the wisdom and courage of the community, and particularly in the strength and vision of the extraordinary Priestess Maya. In the tradition of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, Starhawk's visionary novel creates a complex fictional reality about love and war, freedom and slavery, and the future of the living planet.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1648 KB
  • Print Length: 496 pages
  • Publisher: Bantam (10 Aug. 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003EJDGLE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars 20 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #2,035,956 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


20 customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-8 of 20 reviews

29 January 2014
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
21 February 2014
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
5 January 2016
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
13 August 2015
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
11 February 2016
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
6 October 2016
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
11 March 2015
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
23 April 2017
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?