Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
12
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2013
A good story based on Burma and India in the 1920's and opening up a part of India which has largely been forgotten. For the best part of a century the Kolar Gold Fields, in South India, produced a great deal of wealth and was a very pleasant place to live for the British and Anglo-Indian communities. Fiona McIntosh is unashamedly visiting her family roots and builds round this a fascinating story of love and adventure, hurt and sadness. with a unique insight into the life and times of some very interesting people. Anyone who has had experience of KGF (as it is commonly known), or India, will be gripped by it, and those who haven't will find an unknown world opening up to them
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Brilliant book, first I have read from this author, and it certainly won't be the last. I found it hard to put down, and never sure of which way the story was going to go. All in all a great read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
I hadn't read one of Fiona's books before but will read more now.
This book was magical. Twists and turns. You felt like you was there in India with them. I couldn't put it down.
But sad in places too. Wonderful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2016
A brilliant & very absorbing read. First book from Fiona McIntosh I have read, really, really enjoyed it. I got so into it I feel like I have been to India and back and lived the lives of the caracters. I deliberately slowed right down the reading of it because I genuinely did not want this book to end. Will definitely look out for more books by Fiona McIntosh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
Fiona McIntosh is a brilliant writer who does her research. She lives in Australia and Tasmania, although she is English by birth. Time she was published in the UK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
This is another McIntosh wonder and has held me enthraled from beginning to end.

Races along with barely a pause, wow!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
Excellent I have bought it for my aunt for Christmas. We were such intrepid travellers in those days going into the unknown
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
I enjoyed this unusual story very much. Very good characters and interesting setting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
hooked from the first line of the first chapter.. a completely compelling story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
Predictable...gave up half way though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)