Buy Used
£0.01
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by owlsmart_usa
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Good clean copy with no missing pages might be an ex library copy; may contain marginal notes and or highlighting
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Field: The Quest for the Secret Force of the Universe Paperback – 1 Aug 2003

4.3 out of 5 stars 114 customer reviews

See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback, 1 Aug 2003
£0.01
--This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Man Booker International Prize 2017
A Horse Walks Into a Bar has won the Man Booker International Prize 2017. Learn more
click to open popover

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 268 pages
  • Publisher: Quill; Reprint edition (Aug. 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0060931175
  • ISBN-13: 978-0060931179
  • Product Dimensions: 20.7 x 13.6 x 1.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (114 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,225,154 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

‘I think this is an important book and should be widely read. It stretches the imagination, making a good case that we are on the verge of another revolution in our understanding of the universe – perhaps even greater than the one that heralded the Atomic Age.’ Arthur C. Clarke

‘We must freely explore the unknown. Read, learn, accept and change your view of life … fascinating.’
Bernie Siegel, M.D.

‘The Field is a preview of third-millennium science and how it will touch the lives of every person on earth…McTaggart’s book should come with a warning: MAY FOREVER CHANGE YOUR WORLD VIEW.’ Larry Dossey, M.D.

"A fascinating read for anyone who believes there is more to this world than meets the eye. Unputdownable." JACQUES BENVENISTE

--This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

From the Publisher

A book which, like Capra’s Tao of Physics, explores the latest offerings from the scientific community who have found an explanation for the supernatural. It promises to be one of the most successful popular science books of the year. Will appeal to readers of Frijof Capra, Arthur C. Clarke, Graham Hancock and those interested in the paranormal, energy medicine, and popular science --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

See all Product description

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Still reading this but so far so good.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Great book! Loved what they explain about homeopathy. I've been taking it and makes a huge difference for me and it's interesting to know how it works.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
A remarkable read! Mind-blowing new scientific research into reality
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I acquired this book on a tip of a collegue who claimde 'it clarified a lot' and 'helped to understand life' in general. A lot of mumbo-jumbo IMHO.
1 Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
Lynne McTaggert pitches a lot of long held beliefs against research and documented evidence of Quantum Physics and its revolution on science. For example:
* Man is isolated from the world V's People are indivisible from their environment
* The brain is the seat of consciousness V's Living consciousness is not an isolated entity
* The human being is a survival machine powered by genetic coding V's Cells and DNA communicate through frequencies

McTaggart describes with valid scientific research the existence of an energy field acknowledged as a mere afterthought by modern science called a Zero-Point Field (ZPF). It stands to reason, that if the universe is bathed in a sea of energy, it is only logical to assume that everything in the entire cosmos is connected by its very immersion in it.

McTaggart may have intended to unearth the question of a "life force". She may have wanted us to question ourselves and how we connect with the ZPF and she may also have wanted us to ask does this coalesce of energy connect God and Science?

She wanted to get across the fact that science is on the brink of a revolution and help the reader realize that the old paradigm of Newton's foundation for science is not the complete puzzle. She wanted to impart some knowledge of quantum physics and how that can show us that there is more to the universe than just what is physical, that everything including cells and DNA have a wave frequency and everything is connected by this ZPF.

McTaggart believes that this scientific revolution will forever end the concept of dualism.

McTaggart explores ZPF as a source of explanation for a variety of scientific mysteries unanswerable with the paradigm of Newton's foundation for science.
Read more ›
3 Comments 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Peter Uys HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWER on 25 Jun. 2006
Format: Paperback
This book examines developments at the frontiers of science. Schroedinger, Heisenberg, Bohr and Pauli were the pioneers of quantum physics, but numerous scientists in various disciplines have been conducting experiments that reveal profound new possibilities in our view of the universe. The author investigates the work of those scientists who are at the cutting edge of exploration, all with reference to the life force, universal energy field or Zero Point Field, an ocean of microscopic vibrations. It would appear that evidence is mounting that the universe is one vast quantum field.

Part One: The Resonating Universe, looks at the work of amongst others, Rupert Sheldrake, Fritz Albert Popp, Robert O Becker, Jacques Benveniste and Karl Pribram. The theory of the universe as a collection of resonating frequencies is here examined. Part Two: The Extended Mind, explores the work of inter alia Helmut Schmidt, Jahn & Dunne and Puthoff & Targ. The topics include nonlocality, remote influence and viewing, dreams, clairvoyance, ESP, precognition, the nature of time and how the observer influences the observed, like quantum particles.

Part Three: Tapping into the Field, deals with the experiments of for example Elisabeth Targ and her positive findings of remote healing in AIDS cases, and the work of William Braud, Dean Radin and Roger Nelson. The concept of collective consciousness is fascinating. The speculations include the possibility that negative consciousness is like a germ that infects large numbers of people and could produce evil like the Inquisition, Hitler and the Salem Witch Trial.

On the other hand, positive consciousness might give rise to great periods in history, like the Renaissance and many benign popular trends.
Read more ›
Comment 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
As a quantum physicist I was quite impressed with this book. It stretched me. I would recommend that Lynne keep up her studies of quantum interpretation because no real distinction is drawn between the differing ideas. However most of the book is based on the Copenhagen Interpretation of Niels Bohr and colleagues. There is a fleeting reference to the Transactional Interpretation which has considerably less authority in scientific circles. As for the notion of a Zero Point Field all I can say is that it exists but I believe there is no evidence as to what exactly it consists of. Science is making progress but the dictum of Richard Feynman still probably holds - 'I think it's safe to say that nobody understands quantum physics'.

I'm beginning to sound quite critical and you are probably wondering why I have given this four stars. It is because the author has written about the fact that there is more to life than meets the eye. Whether intention really has such power I'm not sure but something certainly does have the power to affect REGs and other things; and as Christians say that we are made in the image of God so perhaps in a small way each of us does possess God-like qualities.

So the real conclusion of 'The Field' should be 'over to you scientists to write into your equations what we have identified'. I have absolutely no idea how long it will take, but I for one, inspired by Lynne McTaggart and others, will do my best.
Comment 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse