• RRP: £9.99
  • You Save: £0.01
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 11 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Field: The Quest for ... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Field: The Quest for the Secret Force of the Universe Paperback – 7 Apr 2003

4.3 out of 5 stars 102 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£9.98
£3.75 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£9.98 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 11 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

  • The Field: The Quest for the Secret Force of the Universe
  • +
  • The Intention Experiment: Use Your Thoughts to Change the World
  • +
  • The Bond: The Power of Connection
Total price: £33.96
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Element; New Ed edition (7 April 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0007145101
  • ISBN-13: 978-0007145102
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 2.6 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (102 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 9,045 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

‘I think this is an important book and should be widely read. It stretches the imagination, making a good case that we are on the verge of another revolution in our understanding of the universe – perhaps even greater than the one that heralded the Atomic Age.’ Arthur C. Clarke

‘We must freely explore the unknown. Read, learn, accept and change your view of life … fascinating.’
Bernie Siegel, M.D.

‘The Field is a preview of third-millennium science and how it will touch the lives of every person on earth…McTaggart’s book should come with a warning: MAY FOREVER CHANGE YOUR WORLD VIEW.’ Larry Dossey, M.D.

"A fascinating read for anyone who believes there is more to this world than meets the eye. Unputdownable." JACQUES BENVENISTE

From the Publisher

A book which, like Capra’s Tao of Physics, explores the latest offerings from the scientific community who have found an explanation for the supernatural. It promises to be one of the most successful popular science books of the year. Will appeal to readers of Frijof Capra, Arthur C. Clarke, Graham Hancock and those interested in the paranormal, energy medicine, and popular science --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
This is an excellent book.
I recently lent it to a PhD science graduate on holiday who read the thing cover to cover. Be warned that it is likely to force you to reassess your entire view of the reality! It is one of the most mind-blowing books you'll ever read.
BUT:
On the down side, although Lynne McTaggart is clearly highly intelligent but what she is not, is a scientist. And it shows. She is a journalist. And although her copy has been proofed by scientists, in accordance with her journalist training what she instictively and repeatedly does is to "simplify and exaggerate".
Thus although I loved Lynne's book and highly recommend it, my complaint with it is that it comprehensively fails to be objective. It is extremely one-sided. She fails to give adequate weight (or totally fails to mention) all the failed experiments where many of the more exotic experiments have not been replicated elsewhere. (e.g. On many occassions, Homeopathy has in fact been both proved AND dis-proved).
The second thing she fails to do is give the non-scientist reader a feel for the degree of certainty the experimental evidence in each instance has attained. Although good science necessarily does start with a single obervation - an anecdote if you will - where possible it then needs to go through double-blind, placebo-controlled, peer-reviewed (etc) studies... and the whole thing needs to be successfully replicated elsewhere.
Although it is great to see that she has pages and pages of scientific references, the untrained reader is given no sense of just how relatively significant each piece of evidence really is. And it turns out that some of the material discussed in her book - fascinating though it is - has in fact failed to be replicated elsewhere.
Read more ›
Comment 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
As a quantum physicist I was quite impressed with this book. It stretched me. I would recommend that Lynne keep up her studies of quantum interpretation because no real distinction is drawn between the differing ideas. However most of the book is based on the Copenhagen Interpretation of Niels Bohr and colleagues. There is a fleeting reference to the Transactional Interpretation which has considerably less authority in scientific circles. As for the notion of a Zero Point Field all I can say is that it exists but I believe there is no evidence as to what exactly it consists of. Science is making progress but the dictum of Richard Feynman still probably holds - 'I think it's safe to say that nobody understands quantum physics'.

I'm beginning to sound quite critical and you are probably wondering why I have given this four stars. It is because the author has written about the fact that there is more to life than meets the eye. Whether intention really has such power I'm not sure but something certainly does have the power to affect REGs and other things; and as Christians say that we are made in the image of God so perhaps in a small way each of us does possess God-like qualities.

So the real conclusion of 'The Field' should be 'over to you scientists to write into your equations what we have identified'. I have absolutely no idea how long it will take, but I for one, inspired by Lynne McTaggart and others, will do my best.
Comment 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Perhaps the most important feature of this book is Lynne MacTaggart's balanced even handed writing, not trying to persuade or cajole you. While she is clearly in favour of what they have found, rather than the rebuttals that many of them faced, she describes what different scientists have demonstrated over the last 50 years about the depths of quantum physics, mind, matter, time and space. Their findings confirm what many of us have experienced in many small different experiences throughout our lives, and in one way or another. Experiences that so clearly derive from the truth that consciousness is a unified field, intersecting different levels and experiences of matter, mind, time and space.
Aside from the excellence of her bringing these findings together in readable language... Lynne also keeps her balance as your mind as a reader gets blown away by the fact of homeopathy over the internet, distance healing, that going back to heal yourself or someone before an illness starts and the now theoretically explained and possible wonders of anti-inertia travel, everyday levitation etc.
She also keeps her balance as the experiments she describe make it clear that perception creates reality. Change your perception and you change the reality (not just the way you think about it).She is delicate not to rub in the awesome truth that therefore we each have total responsibility over the reality that we create through our conscious and unconscious use of thought every moment of our lives. Something I need to remain aware of more of the time.
In reading this now, most of what I have seen and witnessed in the last 40 or more years has been squarely pushed back in my face.
Read more ›
3 Comments 170 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Lynne McTaggart has succeeded in writing an accessable account of what can be a mind boggling subject. She presents some of the research that provides a foundation of proof for a "collective consciousness" and certain "supernatural" phenomena (such as precognition and telepathy) that is based in established knowledge of physics. Explainations of these theories steer clear of complex equations in favour of metaphor (comparing the Field to the "Force" in Starwars is a little sensationalist) and simple terms, making it an easy read. However, the experiments are presented as fact without too much explaination of methodolgy, so a little critical thinking is often required. If you are looking for a book to whet your appetite for the subject, then its a good place to start, as it points to some of the more meaty reading (Michael Talbot / David Bohm). If you are looking for difinitive answers to questions about consciousness and your place in the universe, this book will probably leave you with more questions than you started, but with an urge to find out more.
Comment 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback