Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2017
Catchy songs, the lyrics sound awful when you read them but somehow they work really well once you hear them! My first Steel Psnther experience..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
husband loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2010
GET THIS!!! GET THIS!!! GET THIS!!!

You're parents/partner will love it
Put it in the car full volume and give your neighbours a listen and they will love it too.

You wont regret it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
OK, depending on your point of view on political correctness, knowledge of rock music, sense of humour and probably how fat you are, you will either see this record as a work of genius or a steaming pile of (insert excremental equivalent here)!

To love this you will need an in-depth knowledge of 80s hair metal bands, the sense of humour of a 15 year old schoolboy and think PC should only ever stand for police constable. Thankfully, all of the above still apply to me, so I LOVED this.

You have to admire Steel Panther's ability to mimic some of the great bands of that generation. Part of the fun is listening and picking out which band each song was obviously modelled on...Iron Maiden, Enuff ZNuff, David Lee Roth, Whitesnake, Bon Jovi, Extreme... the "tributes" just keep coming, each one crafted with careful attention to detail, great energy and some fantastic playing.

If you didn't speak english, you could actually be mistaken for thinking that this is one of the best glam metal albums you have ever heard. But if you do speak english, you'll know that this is actually one of the funniest most un-PC records you'll ever hear. To write most of their lyrics, they must have just went to the local school and asked the kids to tell them what they knew about sex!

In truth, the non-stop onslaught of debauchery does get a little repetitive after a while, but when it's done well, like on Asian Hookers or Community property, you can't help but laugh out loud (partly in shock that they were actually allowed to put some of that stuff on a record). I think that the jokes will probably wear thin very quickly though, which is a shame as the music is good enough to Warrant (pun intended) repeated listening.

This is the album that the Darkness didn't have the balls to make. Justin and co managed to keep their tongues in their cheeks, whereas Steel Panther make a point of sticking their tongues firmly between somebody elses!

Makes you wonder what sort of an album they could have made had they taken themselves a little more seriously?
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A very tongue-in-cheek, but clearly affectionate parody of '80s glam rock music. I really enjoyed this debut album at the time, and it still makes me grin today. Think of a mixture of Guns N' Roses, Poison and Motley Crew, with the latter-day The Darkness, and you have yourself Steel Panther.

'Feel the Steel' is full of well-crafted, clever, feel-good songs, with the most filthy but hilarious of lyrics. It'll rock your songs off but make you laugh as well. 'Party All Day' is a great copy-and-paste of Bon Jovi's 'Livin' On A Prayer', 'Community Property' is the funniest of love songs, 'Fat Girl', an obvious take on Whitesnake's 'Here I Go Again' is just hysterical, and I couldn't think of a better way to close things out than with a (dirty) ballad like 'Girl from Oklahoma'.

I have no doubt that some listeners just won't 'get' Steel Panther, but I do, and I love this album. If comedy and hair metal is you're thing, I recommend this one highly. Also, make you sure you take the booklet out and have a read of it, great stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
Utter genius. The timing of Spinal Tap, attitude of Twisted Sister, riffs of prime-era Motley Crue and the potty mouth turn of phrase straight from Derek and Clive.

There have been other musical parody acts, but none of them could play or write this well. Go back 25 years and they would be up there with the giants of the genre filling arenas and corrupting countless teenage girls in the American Mid-West.

But what really makes all this work is that it is done with such great love for its source material. It would have been easy to make the mick with a sneering sense of superiority, but Steel Panther play it like they mean it. They make no excuses and there is none of the post-modern knowing nudges and winks that just about everyone else would have done. By playing is straight rather than outright laughs and by not making out that once they are off stage the wigs come off and they go home and listen to The Strokes, it all works with total credibility. You just know that Steel Panther genuinely still wish it was 1987 and that they really do still trawl strip clubs and listen to Faster Pussycat. Steel Panther are the band of the year by an absolute mile.
11 Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2009
this is a parody !!!!!!!!!!!! its fantastic. musically spot on. vocally spot on. lyrics will make you scream with laughter.. all the while revelling in the hard rythms of the c@@krock sound. its brilliant. every song souldve beens a hit from somewhere between the kiss , the crue, w.a.s.p to gnr and skid row. its UP THERE !!!. LOL with them. love it. its rockin my world lol. what a way to run a traffic light on the way to work. yeah !!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2009
I had no idea what to expect when I stuck this album on for the first time, with some trepidation I might add, but I was blown away. Possibly one of the most hilarious albums you are ever likely to hear from tracks like "Fat Girl(Thar She Blows)" to, a personal favourite, "Turn out the lights".

Probably the most misogynistic band you'll ever hear as well, as most of the tracks focus around their various sexual exploits with women. At the end of the day they really have to be taken with a massive truckload of salt and with your tongue firmly embedded in your cheek. Part tribute, part pastiche, all METAL is the best way to sum them up, but don't be under the assumption that they're not very good, far from it, they are fantastic musicians in their own right.

I had the pleasure of seeing them live last month and it was utterly brilliant, to reinforce my above point, the lead guitarist burst into a 10 minute solo of epic proportions that, rightly so, received huge cheers and rounds of applause from the audience.

So I can't recommend it enough, however if I really had to pick faults then I'd say the last track on the album is pretty poor compared to what's come before it, and repeated listenings can lessen the impact of the songs. Still don't let those minor quibbles turn you off, if you're a fan of the hair metal era then I'm sure you'll love it, if you're an upstanding 21st century woman....you'll probably hate it :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2009
They're as funny (or more) than Spinal Tap and musically they're much better. The ultimate combo of hot riffs and rip-my-guts-out-laughing lyrics.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2009
The band have been around under various monikers for quite some time, and whilst it's fair to say that yes they are taking the mick out of the whole hair metal genre, they are doing it with such panache, their love of the genre shines through.

The quality of songwriting and playing here cannot be faulted, and whilst I'm sure their lyrics will attract criticism from some quarters, they are no worse than some rap acts have been doling out for years, and are a whole lot funnier.

The band are more than capable of playing their material live, including acoustically which they do often at radio stations in the USA, and for a metal band the ability to play well live can make or break them.

I'm sure the band will go down a storm worldwide, and become the band that they think they've already been(see their 'Behind The Music' segment to see what I'm on about!)

My only criticism of this release, is that there is enough video footage of the band out there already to have put this out with a bonus DVD, but maybe that will come in the universe tour edition!

Up until now, Bad News have been my favourite of the metal parodies, but Steel Panther have left them in the distance.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)