Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
95
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2007
Even including the vibrant and polished martial arts film `Hero' in which Jet Li also stars `Fearless' is, if not the most exciting martial arts film I've seen in recent years then it's definitely the most original and poignant. The film begins with a tone that's quite playful and humorous as Jet Li's character Huo Yuanjia is a young boy and with aspirations to follow in his father's footsteps and train in the ancient fighting style known as wushu. At that point my expectations weren't particularly high for a film that would offer anything other than the familiar martial arts' surface gloss. Forever accompanied by his faithful friend Nong Jinsun there are liberal doses of comedy (albeit with equal helpings of bloodshed and brutality) and you might begin to wonder as I did if there's likely to be any exploration of a warrior's psyche implied in the film's synopsis, or if it will simply be another empty vessel of high kicks and upper-cuts. But this film is destined to surprise you...

Gradually and grippingly the film begins to build a slightly darker, but also more touching tone, as a tragic fate befalls Huo's family thanks to his arrogance and eagerness to embrace conflict rather than peace. From that point on Huo goes on a journey of self discovery, finding himself in the end in a similar position but with the chance to make the right decision, even if it means making the greatest sacrifice a warrior can make. In fact `Fearless' explores the spectrum of human emotion from humour to grief, honour to forgiveness. If this is to be Jet Li's final martial arts movie, it's easily one of his greater achievements as an actor in this genre. Artfully and poignantly directed, well-acted and beautifully filmed. Stunning and moving.
11 comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2006
when i went to watch this film, i was expecting something similar to 'Hero' or 'House of Flying Daggers,' where everything is incredibly bright and colourful, and the fighting seems more like a ballet than anything else

with Fearless i was pleasantly surprised by what i saw; the fighting was fast, gritty and shocking, reminding me of the classic 70's kung fu films but with a much more polished, up to date edge. the story was not especially epic, but that's what i loved about it; there was an elegant simplicity to the whole thing that made it easy to connect with and enjoyable to watch. nothing pretentious or over-the-top.

so, if you loved the action in the 70's kung fu films (or just martial arts in general), if you enjoy a good story, and if you have the stomach for some tragic, shocking and violent scenes, then this film won't dissapoint.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2007
A Film that I enjoyed very much. It has a very strong plot which is also based on a true story about an martial arts master, Huo Yuan Jia and together with great actors and actresses, a masterpiece is presented. As an Asian, I have already seen too much martial arts movie, however this one stuns me with the story and acting as I have mentioned above, but as well as their visual effects, every movement is shown clearly, one would find their heart beating hard as the fight is going on, the music in the film also fits perfectly with the film. I have to mention that this film is quite Hollywood standard and I believe it is because Jet Li had already learn a few elements to make a good Hollywood film when he was filming some Hollywood films a few years back. As Jet Li has said, this will be his last martial arts movie and wants to make it a good one, I think he has already fulfilled his dreams, because this is a truly Jet Li movie and I think a lot of people would like this film.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2008
I grew up in an era of Bruce Lee, Chuck Norris and Jackie Chan (amongst others) churning out classic after classic to satisfy the Kung-Fu-mania sweeping through the US.

However, if there has ever been a movie that more successfully addresses the ethos behind all martial arts, while at the same time, delivering the very highest quality in Hollywood-glossed action, I've not seen it! Jet Li is awesome, as are the rest of the cast.

An absolute classic! If there is anyone out there who was a fan of martial arts movies as a kid and has not seen this, it will make your day! Pay whatever they're asking!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2009
Very good movie, excellent picture quality and all versions of the movie! One of my favorite Jet Li movies.... so far :-)

For all Germanns: Ihr könnt bedenkenlos zuschlagen. Wie mein Vorredner bereits erwähnte kann man zu Beginn des Filmes alle drei Versionen (Unrated, DC, Kino) auswählen! Leider kein Deutscher Untertitel verfügbar aber das Schulenglisch sollte ausreichen.

Greetings from Lake of Constance
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2007
I watched this film about 3 times in a row. It's simply brilliant. A great story line based on a real legend which honors martial artists across the globe. As mentioned the fights are brilliantly done but what i really like about this film is the acting, i found myself really involved with the story and loved the way Jet is able to play a more mature role i was actually impressed by his acting, no offense JET!! looking forward to War. This is a must buy for fans alike.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2006
I am a fan of martial arts movies and I have high expectations. This movie met them. There is much to be learnt from this movie, such as friendship, honour, humility, letting go and patriotic spirit. The characters are realistics and Jet Li's character, Huo Yuen-Jia was actually a real person who lived during that time. Without a doubt, the fight scenes were good and some of the best I have seen for a long time. It is good to see a variety of Western Martial arts against Chinese Kung Fu. It is not often you see how well Western swordsmanship and polearms fare against Eastern weapons. We often don't see Western martial arts at all, never mind seeing it as an artform, so this movie is a big eye opener. The balance between the moral message and the fighting is well balanced. The movie has been cut for final release and it would be nice to see a director's cut at some point in the near future. This is a marial arts movie for the informed and cultured movie goer.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2016
Fearless is one of the best martial arts films I've seen and one of my favourite films of all time. The story is good, strong and well acted. Emotion scenes that will make a good impact and shows what martial arts is about. Very well done fight scenes, though sometimes a bit over the top. Beautiful scenery and nice, fitting music to the story. Film at times feels a little rushed but the ending is satisfying and emotional to this pretty good and very watchable film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 January 2008
Very loosely based on a true story, Fearless is the story of Huo Yuanjia, a martial artist who became famous by challenging and defeating martial artists from around the world in order to return pride to the Chinese nation at the beginning of the twentieth century. In the film Huo Yuanjia faces personal tragedy but overcomes all obstacles until he becomes a world renowned martial artist.

Although not terribly historically accurate this film is still entertaining to watch with some great fight choreography and a little more depth than you would get from the usual martial arts movie. Personally I found that the main problem with the film, and the only reason I didn't give it five stars, was Jet Li himself. Although his martial arts is peerless and a joy to watch I feel he is not greatly gifted in the acting department seeming rather uncomfortable and unconvincing in the quieter parts of the film. Overall however Fearless was a most enjoyable movie with a nice story and a surprisingly emotional ending. Although not the best martial arts movie in the world I do feel that any fan of the genre would enjoy this film.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2011
I really enjoyed this film. A film of two halves much like our own lives. The first half of our lives filled perhaps with youthful hubris and the second half hopefully filled with hard earned wisdom through self discovery. I'm not an expert of martial arts but I really did enjoy what I saw in this film. Most importantly, I thought the message of non violence was very poignant in an age when we learn that 'pre-emptive strikes' are the only solution to resolve conflict.

On the Blu Ray I received, it included the following:

Directors version 2:21 mins
Unrated version 1:43
Theatrical version 1:41
Extra's 00:16 mins

DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 Mandarin
DTS Surround 5.1 English & Canadian French (unrated/theatrical only)

Subtitles: English SDH, Canadian French, Latin American Spanish

I found the picture quality to be outstanding with very little ghosting
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)