Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
46
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2017
Great idea. One of my Mum's fav. films now! Steve Martin is wonderful :p would recommend - feel good film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Awesome and hilarious! Just as funny as part 1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Not bad but not as good as the first one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2008
a fun film to watch, my daughters love it, they watch it quite a bit, we like both father of the bride, i like the soundtracks in both films, worth watching..vary good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2007
Thankfully it doesn't seem like a total cash-in (like so many sequels of this sort do) because it has a certain charm (as did the first film) and is still remarkably entertaining, all considered. But you can tell it was made solely because of the success of the first film - even Martin Short is back with another extended cameo as Franz the wedding manager. Of course you may be wondering why he's involved with a pregnancy, since his business is weddings. Here's a hint: more $$$ for the studio.

Martin is basically doing the same thing he did in the first film - the weary upper-class guy who feels overwhelmed by the state of things. Diane Keaton is still very sweet and likable as his wife. The rest of the cast (including Macaulay's little brother Kieran Culkin) range from OK to good. Martin Short, however, is yet again a stand-out and is very funny - he wasn't necessary for the plot but he is funny and a good addition to the movie regardless.

Overall I'd say this is one of those sequels that didn't need to be made, but could have been a lot worse. It's sweet, it's got some good lite-comedy moments, and in general it's just an enjoyable family movie that isn't trying to be anything other than simple entertainment -- which it is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Happy with purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
George Banks must accept the reality of what his daughter's ascension from daughter to wife, and now, to mother means when placed into perspective against his own stage of life.

As the family unit starts to unravel in his mind, a rapid progression into mid-life crisis is in his future.

His journey to regain his youth acts as a trigger for a kind of resurrection of his attitude on life when he and his wife find how their lives are about to change as well.....

The first movie was a huge hit, so a sequel was inevitable because at the time, Hollywood had a penchant for greenlighting sequels to sleeper hits. See also, Waynes World, Beethoven, and Sister Act.

And thankfully, along with WW2, this is one of the better blatant cash ins.

If you enjoyed the first movie, you will enjoy this, because Meyers has gone for the old 'If it ain't broke' way of filming, more of the same.

There are references to the first film, The Dogs not liking George, the over emotional Father In Law, and of course Frank, the clown of the movie, used to even better effect than in the first.

It's all been done before, but it's still a nice little film for all the family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2008
I was slightly dubious about watching the sequel, as I love the first film so much, but I needn't have been. It is just as funny as the first. The story line is similar to the first film, in the sense that a major family event is taking place and George Banks (Steve Martin) is struggling to cope with it. I was happy to see that Frank (Martin Short) appears in this film, as he was so good in the first. Overall, a very good sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 24 May 2015
In this movie, we follow George Banks (Steve Martin) on his journey of learning to accept the fact that he's going to be a grandfather for the first time. What ensues is a funny trip with some unexpected twists and turns along the way. A really enjoyable family comedy.

I wish they made more movies like this today: funny in a non-crass way, likeable good wholesome characters and an uplifting story line. Ace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2009
The sequel to "Father of the Bride" is just as funny and entertaining. I thought the first film was very funny, but "Father of the Bride 2" is totally hilarious, the trials and tribulations of a man who discovers he is about to become a grandfather, and unbelieveably, a father again,and, refreshingly in this day and age,the film does not contain any bad language or violence. It was a real pleasure to sit and watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse