Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
11
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 11 January 2010
I have read just about every book Thomas H Cook has written. His themes always contain a sense of Conradian darkness, but I feel that now he is beginning to home in on a central premise. A premise which focuses on the nature of murder as a singular force and the balance of judgement/revenge.

His last novel 'The Master of the Delta' brings in much mention of historical atrocities - the Spanish Inquisition, the gulag ships, and so on. Cook touches on this type of material again here - Countess Bathory, war crimes, various famous serial killers. (But not in any sensationalising way. As a crime writer he is one of the most philosophical and morally tenacious in searching through the murk and the sadism.)

This is a truly multilayered book - and one of the strangest I think he has ever written. A previous reviewer states that the reader needs to go back to the first chapter after reaching the end to find out what has happened to George. This is spot on. (References in the story to 'a further turning of the screw' are definately relevant here.) It's not the kind of twist I expected from Cook, but then again he has never dealt in conventional 'twists' anyway. A further reason why he is so original and interesting as a crime author.

'The Fate of Katherine Carr' is an uneasy, perplexing, horrifying and moving novel. I really hope it finds a big audience. It would also make a superb film.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
I bought this book from Poundland, for, yes, you've guessed it £1. Firstly, I must say that I'd never heard of Thomas H. Cook and thought I'd give it a try. The cover and blurb looked intriguing. But from the first page, I could not put the book down.

This book defies genre. It's part mystery, part suspense, part psychological thriller, part crime novel, part literary fiction. Cook writes with poetic elegance, offering long descriptive prose like a literary novelist. He interweaves this with a slow-burning tension that ratchets up to the final denouement perfectly. There is also a twist in the tale as this book is a novel about another's story, told by a reporter. So it's in effect a graceful journey of one man's journey through the life of another through the another author's book.

This is a true masterpiece. A little gem, woven together with an ingenuity that every author should ascribe to. Cook is one of those writers who us authors can only hope to become, but will never be. The narrative is enthralling and each word is meticulously used to perfect effect. If I could give this book ten stars, I would. Ingenious and utterly powerful. This novel covers themes of missing persons, murder, redemption, death, and grief in a sensitivity that is utterly convincing. My only qualm was the authenticity of Alice and George's relationship. Surely no residential care facility or hospital would allow a strange man access to a young girl without supervision in 2010? Other than this, I cannot fault this book at all. Enthralling and captivating.

I've just bought Sandrine, as I couldn't wait to read more of his work!
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
This is a layered novel, being a story within a story within a story (and each has relevance to the reader's understanding, which might not at first be apparent). Although that sounds complicated in principle it needn't be, as similar structures are not that uncommon in lesser novels. But Thomas H Cook is not a common writer, and if you're expecting to understand this novel at a single reading, or fully unravel everything after even a second reading, I think you're going to be disappointed. (But I agree with others that it is the type of novel that rewards a second reading - just don't expect answers to everything, or more correctly don't expect the author to provide them directly.) On the other hand, if you like to be challenged to think, almost certainly the novel will leave a powerful impression, albeit rather depressing. And I don't mean to imply Cook's writing is other than excellent - Cook is stylistically a first class writer - it's just that if you're like me there will be places where you'll be thinking "what on earth is going on here?". So, thought-provoking, memorable and ultimately rewarding but if you're new to Cook I probably wouldn't start here - I've not read all Cook's novels but I think "Red Leaves" or "The Last Talk with Lola Faye" might be easier introductions (if you're not impressed I'd be surprised - and then come back to "Katherine Carr"). If you know Cook you'll know what to expect, and I don't think you'll be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2010
Stories within stories within stories. On finishing this book, I had to think hard, revisit the beginning and it was then that I think I got the levels of invention clear, and what the intention of the narrator was.
And then the story became even more powerful.
As with many of Thomas H Cook's novels, there is much darkness here and exploration of the nature of evil.
Cook writes elegantly. His best books are soaked through with secrets - often traumatic and murderous ones from childhood or the past that come pushing through into the present.And there is almost always a sense of dark revelation to come and much suspense.And often an unexpected and chilling twist as well.
"The Fate of Katherine Carr," like the marvellous "Breakheart Hill" and "Instruments of Night" and "Red Leaves" and others, is not a conventional "page-turning" mystery or thriller. It is deeper, more thoughtful and lasts longer in the mind.
Thomas H. Cook is an under-rated or under-known writer I think - and one of those whose images and explorations into the dark heart stay with you (or stay with me, at least) long after the book is finished, unlike many ephemeral mysteries, which are very soon forgotten.
For me this wasn't quite as satisfying as the other books I've mentioned, but it is still a very rich and rewarding story. And I've a feeling that its threads and echoes and haunting conclusion - which makes you reconsider the facts of the case - will not easily fade.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
This book was a challenge. Nothing is certain and the plot is complex, based on a book within a book format. About half way through, I gave up and read the ending and looked for reviews which might explain why I found reading it so hard. Of course, it made little sense. Thank you to the person who suggested going back to the first chapter. It was not an easy read, due to the subject matter as much as the structure, dense, allusive and elusive. However, I became haunted by the story and the characters. As soon as I'd finished, I went back to the start and read the whole thing again. That's my idea of a great book, involving, provocative. Great writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2010
I would dearly have loved to have awarded five stars to this story as I am a devoted fan of Thomas H. Cook. However, to say I was totally confused at the end of the book is an understatement. I have taken the advice of a previous reviewer and started reading the first chapters again, but I am now on to the fourth chapter and I'm not any further enlightened. I shall persevere to the end, as it is a hauntingly sad tale, beautifully written as usual by TH Cook, but I don't think I will be any the wiser second time around and still feel confused when I reach the final page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2009
I really need to read this book again to fully get to grips with the various threads. Not a book to be read little by little. HOWEVER this is a fascinating psychological book - the two sleuths referred to in a previous review are not what they seem. To really understand what is going on here - read the book to the end and then read the first few pages again to discover exactly what has become of George. Extremely clever and a bit spine chilling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
It is a very unique book,unlike anything i have read before and the ending is very unexpected.If you like a book that is lyrical, deep and haunting then this is the one for you.It stays with you for a while after you have read it which you cant say for a lot of books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2009
Three different stories fold over one another in this gothic mystery which revolves around the self-obsessive voice of a highly self-conscious, introspective former travel writer who laments the loss of his murdered son who had gone missing seven years before. Wracked with grief there is little that George Gates can do after eight-year-old Teddy was brutally killed one afternoon while waiting for his father to collect him after school. His body was eventually discovered, weighted with stones and suck to the muddy bottom of the Winthrop River. Suddenly the world for George has dropped away, the days falling endlessly, the grieving father desperate for revenge. Even as George remembers Teddy, the slow burn of his lost life, the killer never found, he narrates his tale to an enigmatic Indian man, Mr. Mayawati. Like a spider spinning the first delicate fiber of its web, George recounts his friendship with Arlo McBride, a retired cop and a strange kind of mystery about a missing person, he cannot get off his mind, a thirty one -year-old woman named Catherine Carr, last seen standing near a little rock grotto over the Winthrop River back on 1987.

Katherine was a writer like George only she only wrote poems - published stuff in little literary magazines - but she had just vanished "like she cut a slit on the world and stepped through it." Held captive by his dark turn of mind and constantly tormented dreams of Teddy's capture, George never stops harboring the notion that the man who'd killed his son would one day walk into his sites and discovering the strange fate of Katherine Carr, he can perhaps assuage his own feelings towards the death his Teddy. Positive that Arlo had missed a vital clue and mislaid a critical piece of information, he obtains from Katherine's friend Audrey the opening chapters of a story Catherine wrote, and a few poems.

Strangely it is George's friendship with a dying twelve-year-old girl, Alice Barrows who has progeria, premature aging, that helps in unlock the cryptic beginnings of Katherine's story. Alice is a very bright girl, possessed of a tremendous curiosity, but she doesn't have much time left. Even as she faces the hopelessness of her situation with a profound stoicism, fanatically tapping away on her laptop computer, George connects Alice to his lost boy, with the glimmer of a smile, the arch of an eyebrow, a twelve year old girl who looks like an old woman and that of the disappearance of Katherine.

Even now, in his solitary state, the world impinges on George along with Katherine's story and a mysterious figure called Maldrow and an "unknown man," Catherine enters her own story as a character. Whether based on herself or not, she's forever doomed prey. A story with its flickering horrors and talk of blood, and a girl whose own dark fate was approaching quickly, the character of Maldrow becomes only half-visible, "his features cloudy and indistinct, a character that Katherine has inexplicably rendered too insubstantially.

As George continues to fulfill his promise to Alice, two amateur sleuths following the trail of an elusive mystery, Cook writes of Katherine's literary fate in oddly haunting circumstances. This novel has all the hallmarks of 40's noir where symbolic images abound: figures in shadowy corners, a mist filled river bank, the stone grotto by the river where Katherine had been seen last, ghostly walkways, and spectral apparitions of evil murderers. Harrison digs into the darkest corners of the human psyche, the murky world of missing things and how sad it is - the unresolved, and how crowded life is with unsolved mysteries like the murder of a little boy, or the whereabouts of an unknown woman.

This tale is far from cheerful but nonetheless compelling. The lives of Alice and Katherine becoming a product of some terrible confluence of events, something cruelly embedded in the scheme of things. Still the essential dilemma remains of what had happened to Katherine, if she didn't kill herself or wasn't murdered, why did she vanish? And was her story a desperate note a plea for someone to save her? Adding to the emotional impact of the story is George's dilemma, the loneliness, displacement and his overwhelming sadness, the memories of Teddy's murder forcing him to lead a life in a kind of no-man's-land between constant dread and sudden panic. Mike Leonard June 09.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
Great mystery!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.02

Need customer service? Click here