Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2016
Bought for someone else but they enjoy these types of books very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
A very good read. Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
They all come as discribed very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2016
THE BIRD IS THE WORD.

Jessica Fletcher would like to relax as Thanksgiving comes to Cabot Cove. But she's suffering from a rare case of writer's block while helping with the town's Thanksgiving pageant, feeding its needy citizens, and trying to find a room for her dear friend Scotland Yard inspector George Sutherland, who's coming from London. Most distressing of all, Jessica is hosting a bountiful Thanksgiving dinner for an ever-growing guest list.

But Jessica bravely carries on toward her culinary conquest, and she couldn't be more thankful for the results. Until she and George take a post-turkey stroll and stumble upon the body of a man with an ornate carving knife stuck in his chest. Everyone knows that the holidays can be murder -- but Jessica is going to make sure this is one holiday mystery that doesn't go unsolved....

With characters that we know and love from the hit tv series. This was an enjoyable read, that was well plotted with plenty of twists and turns.

These are 'stand alone' books that can be read in any order, and I will be reading more of the Murder She Wrote books as and when I can.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2010
A Fatal Feast is the latest Murder, She Wrote paperback in the long running series based on the equally long running television show. However, it is a rather disappointing entry to the series.

We see Jessica in the midst of preparing Thanksgiving which she will be hosting at her house for her friends, and a visiting George Sutherland from England. With George's visit, Jessica beings to ponder her feelings for him and much of the book is spent on this relationship and often it overshadows the actual mystery. In fact it's not until about chapter 12 when the murder occurs and then its even further into the book that Jessica begins to seriously peruse the case, which means that everything is sort of rushed, especially the reveal of who the murderer is.

There is also a second mystery running throughout the book, this one again comes to a rushed conclusion. However, that is not the only this which is wrong with this second mystery. Jessica begins to receive cut out letters in the post and she begins to feel very uneasy about them as they eventually spell out GLOTCOYB and she has no idea what this means. She goes as far as getting the police involved and George also becomes slightly worried. However, this mystery has been recycled from an earlier book in the series, which I think is a terribly lazy decision by the author. Its almost as if they murder was as engaging enough on its own and he thought of this last minute as a filler. I have never really been disappointed by one of these books, but the use of a recycled storyline and the mystery-lite feel to the book has left me feeling slightly underwhelmed with this one.

So unlike other MSW novels, this one often drags and the mystery itself is greatly overshadowed by the Jessica and George relationship which by the end of the book isn't even made official. I hope that future books don't follow this pattern because I have a feeling we'll be getting plenty more of George and Jessica in the future.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
well packed and exactly as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2011
Murder she wrote books are just so easy to read!

In this book apart from the GLOTCOYB getting another mention (already been a part in Rum & Razors) it is thanksgiving in Cabot Cove with good old George visiting for the holidays!

I really enjoyed this book and love trying to guess who did it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse