Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
463
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 9 October 2013
Can't believe that it was 12 years ago. Back in 2001, I was in college, with all my mates going on about this latest film starring Vin Diesel, featuring flashy supercars, girls & insane car chases, called The Fast & The Furious. I watched it, enjoyed it...expected a sequel, maybe two...

But I NEVER envisioned an entire series would follow.

Cars, car-chases, guns, crashes, girls etc...it's a winning formula for dumb, cinematic entertainment, but the Fast & Furious Franchise has proven itself to be more than that. Why it's been able to thrive and generate a strong fan-base is because the makers have actually cared about producing something worthwhile. The series has prided itself on telling an actual story, with characters you can emotionally invest in, and after over a decade, the Fast & Furious has become (dare I say) an epic, with exciting stunts/action, with a well-developed story & deep-enough characters to make this phenomenon ideal for all action film enthusiasts.

Now, Universal Pictures have released several box-sets in the past collecting all-current Fast Films as time's gone on. The franchise has no signs of slowing down anytime soon, what with Film No. 7 out next year, and chapters 8 & 9 having been confirmed also. So, if you still don't own any of the Fast & Furious films on DVD, now seems as good a time as any to collect all the films (currently) on one bargain box set.

This box-set contains all (to-date) six films; The Fast & The Furious (2001), 2 Fast 2 Furious (2003), The Fast & The Furious: Tokyo Drift (2006), Fast & Furious (2009), Fast & Furious 5 (2011) and Fast & Furious 6 (2013). One slipcase, with three DVD cases containing two-discs (movies) each. In total, you've got under twelve hours of rollickingly good entertainment with plenty of thrilling stunts, yet also enough story & character to make it more than just mindless fun.

Throughout the series, there's a range of excellent, distinctive main characters, all of which are portrayed with the grit, determination & emotion that their roles require. Of course, Vin Diesel is the star of the series as anti-hero Dominic Toretto, the violent criminal with a moral code & heart of gold (deep down). Plus there's Brian O'Conner (the late, great Paul Walker RIP), the undercover-cop turned fugitive, Mia Toretto (Jordanna Brewster) as Dom's strong-willed, capable sister & Brian's love-interest, and Letty Ortiz (Michelle Rodriguez), the feisty, tough & tragic lover of Dom.

All these characters, plus the rest of the main-cast, are truly ones to love. There're no duds whatsoever. You can laugh with them, you can feel for them, and (as I said earlier), they're all so well-developed as the series progresses, that it makes the films even more special. And some genuine moments of hilarity & heartbreak counter-balance the films' high-octane action nicely. This is a series that's really quite remarkable.

Alas, the Fast & Furious franchise isn't a thing of absolute perfection, with the movies themselves varying in terms of quality. The Fast & The Furious deserves recognition for starting it all, and while it's still an entertaining spectacle with a good story, it IS surpassed by later entries in the series. 2 Fast 2 Furious suffers from Vin Diesel being absent altogether, but it deserves props for developing Brian O'Conner's character, and introducing the likes of Roman Pearce (Tyrese Gibson) & Tej Parker (Ludacris) as future mainstays to the series.

Sadly, the series is let down by the third movie, Tokyo Drift, which is truly the worst entry by far! In its attempt to further expand the Fast & Furious setting, it fails due to its cringing story (which resembles that of a god-awful teen flick) and the stunts themselves proving inferior to those in the other films! However, Tokyo Drift is of great importance to the series' overall spectrum, due to it (chronologically) being the final film of the series (before Fast 7), and it DOES have the likeable Sean Boswell (Lucas Black) & the EVEN-MORE likeable & ill-fated character Han Seoul-Oh (Sung Kang).

Despite Tokyo Drift being a major letdown, Director Justin Lin REALLY hits his stride with the following trilogy (Fast & Furious 4, 5 & 6), delivering the next three chapters with more-blistering car chases & hard-hitting action than ever before! As well as taking the overall story-arc & family of characters to new heights, with fab development and major twists & turning points along the way. Introducing more great characters in the form of Gisele Yashar (Gal Gadot), Elena Neves (Elsa Pataky) and Agent Luke Hobbs (Dwayne `The Rock' Johnson), the second Fast & Furious trilogy showcases the series at the height of its brilliance, due to its tighter story-structure and the action/excitement being at its peak! Watch out for the ending of Fast 6! I can't wait for Fast 7 next year!

Finally, special-features. There's an excellent range of extras on each film disc (barring Fast 6 which comes without any special DVD features here), boasting trailers, documentaries, audio commentaries, deleted scenes etc. Plus this set comes equipped with the option to copy the films onto other media devices. There's plenty to sink your teeth into, and all this plus the films themselves make this set an absolute bargain at twenty-five quid!

Overall, the Fast & Furious 6 Movie Collection is ideal for fans. If (like me) you love/like the series, yet haven't purchased any of the films (together or separately) before, then now's definitely the right time. Is any of this Oscar-winning-material? NO! But we don't love Fast & Furious for THAT! We love it because it's exhilarating and it's fun! That's all that matters!
1212 comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
I have been a fan from the beginning. I have seen all of the Fast & Furious franchise bar F&F 6. I always watch the repeats on TV. Just love it and actions films. I would highly recommended buying the set. After the recent death of one of the leading stars (Paul Walker). I decided to buy the set in his memory. #RIPPaulWalker #Foreverinourhearts
33 comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Fast and Furious came about when boy-racer-ism was at its highest and preceded the likes of Need For Speed: Underground which marked an important date for street racing culture.

Fast and Furious: The early roots of the series where we follow a cop - Brian - who is looking to infiltrate and arrest a gang of criminals stealing goods from trucks. The first entry in the series focuses a bit more on street racing than the rest of the series.

2 Fast 2 Furious: Dropping one of the leading actors - Vin Diesel - 2 Fast 2 Furious introduces us to one of Brian's friends, Roman Pearce. Working for the police once again, Brian and Roman need to infiltrate and arrest a drug baron and his ring. To do so, they aim to become his drivers - tasked with beating other two-man teams to getting the job. This is where the focus of the series starts to stray from underground racing and becomes more about the criminal underground.

Fast and Furious Tokyo Drift: As if just to make me contradict myself, Tokyo Drift takes us back to street racing - if only for a fleeting moment. We follow a new protagonist - Sean Boswell - who is sent to Japan to live with his father after causing too much trouble in the US. Given his love of cars and street racing, it's only a matter of time before he thrusts himself head-first into the world of underground Tokyo. The difference being that this isn't just normal street racing, this is drift. Through a series of events, Sean ends up intertwined with a criminal ring and has to walk a fine line to stay out of trouble.

Fast and Furious 4: We return to Brian and Dom - Vin Diesel - and Dom has upped himself, taking on much bigger gigs than stealing electronics. Brian, working for the police, has been tasked with taking down a much bigger drug baron than he faced before and through a series of events, Dom is also targeting said drug baron - But Brian and Dom aren't necessarily on the same side in all of this.

Fast and Furious 5: Following the events of Fast and Furious 4, Brian has left the police force and Dom has a plan. Marking what could be the end of his life of crime, Dom enlists a crew to do the impossible - Steal 100 million from Reyes. But they're not just going to drive in and shoot up the place - Dom got a hold of the location of the money and has a plan, this is going to be a heist.

Fast and Furious 6: Dom is met with a ghost from the past and will do anything to get them. The problem is, this ghost from the past has no memory and is working directly under a new criminal - Shaw. Shaw has taken crime to a new level and incorporates technology into everything he does. He has eyes and ears everywhere and Dom looks to be outmatched. Dom gets a crew together to attempt to take down Shaw and get to the ghost.

The series gets off to a somewhat B-movie-ish start as the first two movies use a lot of cheap special effects, but as the series progresses it becomes apparent that this is a really great movie series and especially Tokyo Drift, 4, 5 and 6 which were directed under Lin - who seems to absolutely adore the series - the quality shows.

One problem with this box set in particular is that the discs for Fast and Furious 5 and 6 don't have any numbers on them and - in my case - were reverse positions from what all four of the other discs were. To make things a bit easier for you if you are unsure: 5's disc has one car on it, 6 has many.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
With the recent passing of Paul Walker it made my purchase of these movies even more poignant. Paul walker was great in these movies and worked off Vin Diesel so well . If you like cars then these films are for you . I highly recommed them
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
Love these films always have always will and can't wait for numbers 7,8 and 9 and (spoiler alert) the fact that Jason statham is the villain in the next instalment has me excited and the fact that we now know that this is the last film in the second trilogy and set before Tokyo drift is good news to carry on the franchise confused?
So was I so let me explain the order they run and you will understand so from that start,

The first trilogy

The fast and the furious
2 fast 2 furious
The fast and the furious Tokyo drift

The second trilogy

Fast and furious
Fast five
Furious 6

The 3rd and final trilogy
Fast 7
Fast 8
Fast 9

Oh and 4,5 and 6 are set between 2 fast 2 furious and Tokyo drift
Hope this clears up any confusion
44 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
This is one nice package of movies. All six Fast and the Furious movies (even Tokyo Drift...ugh!) in one marvelous set on six (region free) blu rays! Each movie (with its special features) gets its own disc (so no nasty compression problems when cramming two movies on one disc). There are three plastic cases (housing two discs each) that slide into a nice outer box. To be honest, most of these I have on US blu ray. I just wanted #6 since it has NOT been officially announced for release here in the states (I hear around Christmas), so I splurged and got all six in one package! And these movies are what blu ray was meant to be! The 1080p transfers on all look amazing and the lossless DTS-HD Master soundtrack really tests your subwoofer. Just VERY disappointed Universal did not release the sixth one in the new 7.1 instead of the standard 5.1 (most newer Universal titles are being released with 7.1 surround track). Plus the sith one comes with an extended version (only a few minutes longer, though).
Glad these are just the blu rays and not with the DVDs too. That is the norm here in the states. Who would want that? I love blu ray too much to have to go back to the DVD version.
This is one amazing set of some really good action movies. Cannot wait to see the seventh installment!
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
Best films I have ever watched. Will get very good use out of these discs. If you haven't watched yet I strongly suggest you do! Well worth the price too.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
I definitely won browny points for this collection purchase. Comes in a 3 dvd pack (2 disc per case) and ultra voices (not sure what to do with this yet). Disc quality exactly as expected. Great collection
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
Having only recently discovered the 'Fast & Furious' films, I'm well and truly hooked!

As other Reviewers have said (so I won't repeat), only three of the films (Fast & Furious, F&F 5 and F&F 6) have Vin Diesel and Paul Walker in them and these are the best out of this set. Not to say the other three aren't very watchable - they are - but the obvious chemistry between Walker and Diesel plays out very well on screen and brings an integrity to the films which are, quite literally 'sit on the edge of your seat' thrill-fests..

Nice to see there is actually a 'story' running through the film with a beginning, middle and high-octane ending - not all 'action' films have that - and for car enthusiasts, it's Nirvana!

Don't waste your time reading any more reviews - just order the six-pack (boxed set), settle down and prepared to be thrilled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
I saw 5 first sort of by accident - and wondered about the rest - great set to have because you get the lot 1-6 for what has to be good value - I had a FFF - Fast and Furious Fest.
Story wise - well its a franchise - if you like car chases CGI improbable action and some really badly scripted lines - delivered (particularly by Vin Desel) well then its fun
"Its could get bloody . . . ."
"Bloody . . . we could do bloody"

"Plan B we need plan C D and E they have a tank"
Clasic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)