Buy Used
£0.01
+ £2.79 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Ships from the UK. Former Library books. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Your purchase also supports literacy charities.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Farm (child 44) Paperback – 13 Feb 2014

3.7 out of 5 stars 591 customer reviews

See all 18 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback, 13 Feb 2014
£0.01
click to open popover


Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



All Amazon Original Books on Sale
Browse a selection of over 160+ Kindle Books currently on sale. Learn more

Product details

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK; Export edition (13 Feb. 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1847375707
  • ISBN-13: 978-1847375704
  • Product Dimensions: 15.2 x 2.8 x 23.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars 591 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 944,350 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

'On rare occasions, an author pulls off the high-wire act of writing a crime-oriented novel that easily transcends the genre. The Farm is one of these. In the vein of Miss Smilla's Sense of Snow and le Carre's A Perfect Spy, the tale brilliantly choreographs the collision of the present with the familial past. Author Smith takes a new direction here, but his skills are as finely honed as ever, with this tale that's both a page turner and a searing examination of the lives of our protagonist, his lover and his family. Structurally innovative and stylistically resonant, The Farm is a remarkable achievement' Jeffery Deaver

'Chilling, hypnotic and thoroughly compelling. You will not read a better thriller this year' Mark Billingham

'Tom Rob Smith has created a truly original and chilling thriller, which makes you ask yourself: who would I believe?' Jojo Moyes

'This is a neatly plotted book full of stories within stories, which gradually unravel to confound our expectations...Smith's twisting, turning novel shows that Scandi crime also retains the ability to surprise and thrill' Guardian

'A mind-blowing, addictive plot that will have you on the edge of your seat, tearing through the pages as the truth involving a missing teenage girl, Swedish folklore and some sinister neighbours slowly leaks out' Stylist

'A pacey page-turner with an ending you'll be dying to talk about' Good Housekeeping

'A taut and atmospheric psychological thriller, which keeps the reader guessing until the very end...Rob Smith breaks new ground, geographically and stylistically...the story is compelling, well-crafted and gripping...an excellent and unusual thriller' Irish Independent

'Tom Rob Smith returns with a brilliant psychological thriller...An eerie ride, perfect for fans of Gone Girl' Viv Groskop's Recommended Reads, Red

'Tom Rob Smith reathes new life into the landscape, transcending the traditional crime fiction genre with an intricately-knitted thriller steeped in mythology. In The Farm, Rob Smith demonstrates the same craftsmanship that saw his highly-acclaimed novel Child 44 claim the Galaxy Book Award for Best New Writer and long-listed for the Manbooker Prize, among its many plaudits. This latest offering is a tapestry of fairytales old and new; so unsettling and oppressive that it blurs the distinctions between sanity and madness, reality and fantasy, leaving the reader guessing until the bitter end' Independent

'The author of smash-hit period thriller Child 44 (soon to be a film starring Tom Hardy) shifts style for this satisfying and original psychological thriller' 5 star review, Heat

'An absorbing, upsetting, multi-layered novel; beautifully crafted, its effect enhanced by the author's admission that his own family faced a similar experience' --The Times

'Child 44 was one of those rare books that managed to thrill both the Booker judges and the Richard and Judy brigade. The Farm is, perhaps, even better. It is so good, in fact, that you will finish it quickly and then be jealous of anyone that hasn't read it yet' --Independent on Sunday

'Gripping, atmospheric...This absorbing novel thrives on gradually revealing the intimate details of lives, showing how they become hidden not only from strangers, but from those closest to them. The relationship between parents and children is excellently explored as the author traces the toxic effect of lies and reveals some shocking home truths.'Observer

'This novel has its roots in the experience of the author's own family, and what a weird, absorbing tale it is' The Times

'Though The Farm may initially appear to be full of enjoyably restful conventions, these gradually unravel to confound our expectations...Smith's twisting turning novel shows that Scandi crime retains the ability to surprise and thrill' --Louise Welch, Guardian --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

From the Inside Flap

Daniel believed that his parents were enjoying a peaceful retirement on a remote farm in Sweden, the country of his mother's birth. But with a single phone call, everything changes. Your mother... she's not well, his father tells him. She's been imagining things - terrible, terrible things. In fact, she has been committed to a mental hospital. Before Daniel can board a plane to Sweden, his mother calls: Everything that man has told you is a lie. I'm not mad... I need the police... Meet me at Heathrow. Presented with a horrific crime, a conspiracy that implicates his own father, Daniel must examine the evidence and decide: who is telling the truth, his mother or his father? And he has secrets of his own that for too long he has kept hidden... --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

10 August 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
5 August 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
10 January 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
16 September 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
31 August 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
12 August 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
2 January 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
4 May 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?