Buy Used
£0.01
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Ships from the UK. Former Library books. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Your purchase also supports literacy charities.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Family Bites Paperback – 31 Jan 2003

5.0 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£91.29 £0.01
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 370 pages
  • Publisher: Vanguard Press (31 Jan. 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1843860198
  • ISBN-13: 978-1843860198
  • Product Dimensions: 19.8 x 13.2 x 4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 4,195,083 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

From the Author

Family Bites is about two families of undead getting to know each other and trying to keep open minds.
Libidinous werewolves, aristocratic vampires, suspiciously pink cocktails and some very disturbing woodwork. Also features one or two good murders, but with humour.

About the Author

I have been writing since I was eighteen, mainly comic sci-fi until Family Bites. This is my first published work.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 9 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
Never was the saying "don't judge a book by its cover" more true. Looking at the rather poorly-drawn and garish cover you'd never guess that inside is the most exciting new talent in fantasy fiction ever to hit the UK.
A wickedly comic take on werewolves and vampires, full of characters who you'd love to meet - and others who you'd run a mile to avoid.
Every new author on the comic fantasy scene gets hailed as "the new Terry Pratchett", and usually turns out not to be fit to wipe Pratchett's boots. For the first time an author has appeared who truly deserves that title. The style is very different to Pratchett, and the humour is approached from a very different angle, but the sheer quality is not far short of Pratchett and is head and shoulders above anyone else in the field.
If you like Pratchett, buy "Family Bites" - you'll love it. Just keep your eyes away from the cover.
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Family Bites is the story of two families - the Rivers, who are werewolves, live near the village of Falborough. The locals don't seem to mind having werewolves in their midst, and the Rivers are careful not to upset the locals. Stealing sheep, for example, is a no-no. As is eating villagers. The fact that they provide a good source of well-paid employment for the villagers doesn't hurt either.
They get new neighbours, in the shape of the Alfonz family. Who happen to be vampires. Very sociable vampires, who have adapted to sunshine, garlic, and can even muster a reflection in a mirror, at a push.
Then one day, the Rivers' maid Katie wakes up with a mark on her neck and a sudden aversion to sunlight...
I bought this book on the recommendation of several friends and #afpers. I'm glad they recommended it, as I think I'd not have got past the cover otherwise. It's oft been said that you shouldn't judge a book by its cover, and nowhere is it more true than in the case of Family Bites. It looks like it was drawn for a school art project. It's *dreadful*
The book, however, is a gem. It fairly crackles along with a lovely line in wit and dialogue - the characters are very well written. For a first novel, it's a beaut. The book is funny, often laugh-out-loud funny, with a Pratchettesque use of the footnote*. These are characters you'll grow to love, despite their nature. For a novel involving werewolves and vampires, it's not scary, treating them as ordinary people rather than monsters.
I find little time to really get into longer novels these days, what with one thing and another. I haven't begrudged Family Bites a single minute of my time spent reading it. I hope the author is hard at work on a sequel. I shall be pestering the local bookshops to stock it. Do yourself a favour. Go and buy a copy.**
* used to great comic effect
**now. Yes you. :-)
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This book is brilliant. Others have already said this, but what they haven't commented on is the marvellous chatty style the book is written in. You often get the feeling Ms Williams is telling you the story over a coffee. It's amazingly done and really sucks you in.
The best thing about it is the subversion of werewolf/vampire cliches; most obvious when Sophia and Daniel are looking each other up in mythology books. She manages to create a nervy, haemophobic vampire without his being a wimp, and Ben and Sophia, werewolves who act like large friendly dogs in both forms, are terrifically drawn.
As others have said, it's obvious to compare this with Pratchett. It's *really* obvious to compare it to Carpe Jugulum and the Fifth Elephant. But I actually think the Rivers family are a *more* interesting werewolf family than the von Uberwalds. (And I expect to be struck by lightning by the God of Comic Fantasy for saying so).
My only niggle is with Daniel's brother John. We're evidentally meant to see him as a lovable rogue, similar to Richard Rivers, but his behavior is more that of a total git. He redeems himself towards the end, but I'd still like to have seen more consequences for his actions.
Others have said the book really deserves 10 stars. Well, due to the above and the needlessly confusing fractions in the later chapter numbers, I'm afraid I have to dock one, bringing it down to nine 8-).
I undestand there's going to be a sequel. I lool forward to it.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Unfortunately the star system only goes up to 5 but this deserves at least 10!
Please ignore the cover artwork (which is DIRE) and give a new book by a wonderful new authoress a chance.
Family Bites is fantasy (in the vein of Hughart and Pratchett) with a generous dollop of comic phrasing and some VERY good characters. The summary of the book tells of the Rivers (a family with a difference) and the interesting times that are had when the nearby Hall is inherited by a Lord and Lady Alphonz (complete with family).
The writing style is fresh and engaging (it managed to engage my attention all the way through the night until 3:00 am!!) I couldn't put it down!
I would definitely recommend this to anyone who enjoy the two authors I've used as an example - I think Lisa Williams has made a brilliant start to what I hope is a long and fruitful career (as I want MORE!)
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This is a book about famlies, families and inheiritance. These families are different and might be said to have added features.
This is a great book from a new author. Fast strong character and scene development populate a well told tale which proceeds at a nifty pace, and which is fun, occasionally gruesome, but sometimes saucy as well.
Inevitably any author in this genre will be compared to the other popular greats such as Pratchett. Early Pratchett made me laugh out loud, more recently it has grown more serious and deep. Family Bites had me in hysterics. There are some very subtle jokes though too, so read carefully and enjoy.
A different style from Pratchett but an excellent comic feast.
I eagerly await more from this author. If Colour of Magic had been this good
as a first (Discworld) novel, who knows what delights we would have had.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category


Feedback