Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
34
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
29
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 February 2010
This could be classed as the Glee of the 80's. Season one is a lot better than this season, as there seems to be more great songs and more to prove with the first outing. Season two takes the characters onward on their journeys with songs and dance routines thrown in for good measure. If you liked season one, or watched it when it was originally on TV then this is great as a trip down memory lane. It's fun to see the talented actors, dancers and singers that are sadly not so often seen on TV today.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2010
i am a young fame fan and at only 14, don't remember it first on tv but love it and have been waiting for series two for a long time! i think the series are better than the original film (but I haven't even bothered watching the new one) however this one isn't quite as good as the first - well worth it though! ... where's the six star?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
We bought this for our teenage daughter and she adores it (just like us!). A fantastic step back into a world with no cellphones or fb friends. Real friends working at their talents and passion. Wonderful and educational.
Fame! I want to live forever!… :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
This television series is absolutely fabulous! It's just so great to watch it all over again. I first saw it beginning of the eighties as a teen, loved the music, the dance-scenes and the characters then and now still do. Still flying......
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2010
If you know Fame as the original movie and the spin off first season tv series, you know what to expect from this 2nd series. The tribulations of a class at Julliard school of the Arts in NY where teenagers are finding any excuse to put their problems into music, dance and other performing arts, sometimes to the dispair of their teachers in English or maths but always supporting their efforts to become artists and do what they can do best.
The songs and dances are good (and spawned even stage performances), the stories sort-of believable but in support of the song and dance. The school as rag-tag as any school, the kids quite believable kids with ambitions and temperaments of any teenager, the teachers as underrated and underpaid as any true teacher, but with ambition to let their pupils star and excel.

I loved it when I saw it in my twenties - I still like it in my fifties. God, did those years fly by. And are the teenage problems still the same? Does anything ever really change in life or is it just the packaging?
Fame - one of the better musical tv series of the 80s. A shame the actor playing the character Leroy, one of the star black dancers, died under miserable circumstances some years ago.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2010
Brings back great menories of this brilliant series not seen on UK tv for so many years!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Was it really about twenty five years ago? The series holds up well - a talented cast, awesome energy, important things to say. Admittedly it lacks the raw grittiness of the film that inspired it, but the essential message comes over clearly enough. No short cuts to fame. New York's School of Arts throughout stresses the need for hard work and complete dedication.

22 episodes. Topics include a racist ballet mistress, a blind supply teacher determined to cope, the threat posed by a new computer, chilling discovery of a note suggesting a student is suicidal. Movingly there is a tribute to a much loved colleague, his character written out when the actor died.

All is not gloom. Far from it! Fun abounds - some of it agreeably provided by dithery old secretary Mrs. Berg and by ungainly Dwight with his sousaphone.

A standout is the fantasy based on "The Wizard of Oz" - ideal season finale if ever there was. But, in fact, it appears earlier. This pinpoints a weakness: overall there is no firm sense of direction, not enough evidence of characters and situations developing. Proof? Most of the episodes could be shuffled and shown in a completely different order. Would it make any difference? This surely indicates a series marking time, rather than moving on.

Other weaknesses? Those infuriating pre-opening credits spoilers for a start. And why does the school only seem to have about five teachers? (Other adults could easily have been shown collecting papers from their pigeon holes in the office, instantly everything that tad bit more realistic.) A major disappointment concerns the one bonus ("Fame: Then and Now"). Be advised this is NOT the entertaining cast reunion once shown on television, but a brief plug for the new "Fame" film.

Such reservations aside, the series truly delights. Older viewers will find all as enjoyable as remembered, younger ones may be in for a surprise - their eyes widening at the sinewy dance routines of Miss Grant, Leroy and crew, whilst they themselves grow greatly to like Bruno and his mates.

Recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
For those of a certain age such as myself Kids from Fame was the mid week highlight on BBC1 . The second series was probably the high point of the shows run over seven seasons, with great songs, decent storylines and all the original favourites such as Leroy, Danny, Bruno and Doris on-board. Re-live past memories to the full with this brilliant series and hopefully share it with those too young to remember how great TV in the early 80s was
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed revisiting the Fame world and catching up on missed episodes. Good quality sound and pictures . Beats Glee anytime!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2016
Exactly as described. Great gift for anyone who remembers it. I bought it for my best friend to go with the first season as she watched it when she was younger and even as a young adult myself I love the programme
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)