Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
44
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 24 June 2007
"Fame" the TV series based on the 1980 Alan Parker film was a smash hit in the 80s,particularly in the UK,its fans helping to bring it back from its axing after two series.

Viewers tuned in,each week to watch the "School of The Arts" drama and dance students of New York,deal with a show problem or a personal one,usually ending in a big production at the end of the episode.

Lee Curreri recreated his film role as Bruno Martelli,the musical genius playing away on his synthesiser while his cabby father tries to pay for all the expensive equipment.

After having only a tiny part in the "Fame" movie,Debbie Allen had a very large role as dance teacher Lydia,the feisty but caring dance teacher,Miss Allen also the dancing boss,behind the scenes too.

The late Albert Hague was great as Professor Shrofosky and his scenes with Bruno were some of the special ones in the show.

The real star of the TV series as in the film,was the late,great Gene Anthony Ray as Leroy Johnson,the street kid with a fantastic dancing ability,whose problems with his other school work,caused him to be at loggerheads with English teacher,Miss Sherwood,a very strong performance from Carol Mayo Jenkins.

Valerie Landsburg was very funny and endearing as the plump Doris,always fighting the weight problem but very funny too,one of the highlights of season 1 is Miss Landsberg belting out "High Fidelity" in a music shop,the song becoming a big hit in the UK,as indeed,did the whole "Kids From Fame" album,leading to several "Fame"tours in Europe but usually without Miss Landsberg.

Strangely Montgommery,gay in the movie,was suddenly straight in the TV series,actor P.R.Paul not really making much of an impression and he didn't return in the 2nd season.

Erica Gimpel took the very important role of Coco(played by Irene Cara in the movie)and although her singing isn't a patch on Irene Cara's,her acting held up and she caught Coco's hunger for fame ,to a tea,indeed Erica Gimpel is still performing away,to this day.

Lori Singer is "goody two shoes" Julie,the one we meet in the pilot,one of the best episodes is when Julie falls in love with a temp teacher,who turns out to be a rat and Julie sings "It's Gonna Be a Long Night",a lovely song but Lori Singer isn't the greatest of singers but it all works somehow.

Carlo Imperato is wisecracking Danny and he is a very likeable character and one episode,deals with his awkwardness with his father and Danny's drug problem,very well written and acted.

So get your leg warmers on and sit and enjoy this great show!
55 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2006
Hard to believe that this series was a must see for us teenagers back in 1982 (not 1980 as stated). The series was little short of a phenomonem back then and spawned a number of successful albums and a UK tour by the cast. It ran for 6 years but the first two or three were the best.
Apart from 4 episodes recorded to VHS back then it's been a long wait to see the series again and reacquaint myself with Coco, Leroy, Bruno, Julie, Doris and of course Danny. With sterling performances by the 'supporting cast' of teachers the episodes crafted a great tale every week with a good moral lesson and one or two great tracks thrown in for good measure.
If you remember their names then it's a must see.
11 comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2006
All those 80s folk who enjoyed this series will still do so - the DVD quality is good and the episodes are light entertainment with a feel-good factor

Enjoy and hope the next season DVD comes out sooner than the time it took this one to reach us.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2006
I had fond memories of this TV series but hadn't seen it for over 20 years. It's as good as I remembered, if not better. The characters are endearing - the casting was spot on and I love the songs. The whole thing lived up to and exceeded my expectations.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2008
Fame - the series finally on DVD. Fame the movie has been available for ages, but it's not a great example of what the show was about, so this comes as a timely reminder. Obviously it hasn't aged as well as one would like, but it's a great nostalgia trip. Seeing the likes of Leroy, Coco et al reminds me of why this was such a big hit back in its day.
On the downside, it's as corny and cheesy as you might fear, but that really is to be expected, and once you get used to it, it simply adds to the charm.
A fine purchase.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
back in the day of 1982 i used to rush round to my mate Julie's to watch kids from fame after totps and sat enthralled and spellbound by every single episode.

All these years later i sit still spellbound and mesmorised by the fantastic storylines and memorable songs and it puts a spring in my step and i still remember the words to all the songs.

I have thoroughly enjoyed catching up with this dvd and all the memories attached to it and will go on to watch it again and again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
I'd forgotten about this show.

I bought it for myself to see if it was as good as I remember, it was.

My 12-year-old daughter loved it too.

If you remember those Thursday nights in the UK in the early 1980s, when Fame and Top of the Pops was on, everybody watched both. The streets were empty when this was on.

A lack of disappointment is guaranteed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2008
What with all the talent shows on the TV at the moment with quite talentless bores on I thought I would get this for the kids so they could see what a proper "song and dance" show was all about. They loved it - and I loved the nostalgia.

Recommended
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2016
Fame !! Im gonna live forever !!!!! this was THE show of 1982. It was huge. you had to watch it. I loved it. The songs, the stories, the dancing!!!! I was 14 when this was on TV. i remember it so well. Brilliant !!!! xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2009
Those were the immortal words shouted out by Carlo Imperato (Danny) when the Kids from Fame performed at the Royal Albert Hall, London. Well the answer is yes! Although Fame season one sold well on DVD and the other seasons were to follow Sony Distribution dropped all of MGM's titles and therefore all planed releases were then cancelled. All is not lost though as Fox, new distributers, are planning a season 1 & 2 DVD box set due out in September to coincide with the remake of the original FAME film at the same time.
The film is to star Kelsey Grammer (Fraiser) as well as the only person to appear in the original film, the TV series and the remake, Debbie Allen although she will play the Principle of the school rather than the dance teacher.
In the meantime though buy this DVD. Forget High School Musical and the other Fame wannabees - this is the real deal! With fantastic toe tapping numbers, great stories and a great cast this is one sho which I'll always remember with great affection.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)