Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
164
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£18.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Ten more colour-drained, challenging, exciting episodes. Seven months have elapsed, Tom Mason and his three sons amongst those facing ever more demanding challenges. The planet is in ruins, ninety per cent of its population dead. The Espheni alien invaders seem firmly in control, helped by their ability to infiltrate humans with bugs making them spies, adept at sabotage. Whom now can anybody trust?

Full concentration is needed, the twists and turns sometimes hard to follow - even with episodes watched in quick succession. A recap of the previous season would have helped. The box set's many bonuses are an asset. (Many may wish, though, the "Second Watch" presenter were less gushy and not prone to such convoluted questioning.)

Throughout Noah Wyle's Tom Mason possesses presence and authority, all three playing his sons increasingly impressive. Doug Jones is great as friendly alien Cochise, he at times extremely moving. (Note the actor's appearances in the bonuses, minus all the attachments and full of hilarious anecdotes.) Also enjoyed is Colin Cunningham as charismatic chancer John Pope - not to be trusted but occasionally unexpectedly an asset. Amongst guest stars, note Robert Sean Leonard as Dr. Kadar, it hard to believe this the actor who was Wilson in "House".

As ever, Steven Spielberg's imput makes itself felt with fast paced storylines, spectacle, and belief in family values.

All in all, much that is great.

Ready when you are, Season 4!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 January 2016
Another brilliant season devoured as Tom Mason and the 2nd Mass, now firmly ensconced in Charleston begin to take the battle to the occupying Espheni with the aid of their new alien allies, the enigmatic Volm, and with the assistance of their more advanced technology increase the odds for more successful encounters. However, Charleston proves to be anything but a relaxing sanctuary as some inhabitants are weary of this new alliance while there are unexpected betrayals to deal with. There are more battles and skirmishes than in the previous season but not at the expense of good character development, especially for members of the Mason clan. I particularly enjoyed the episode entitled ‘Strange Brew’ as glimpses of Tom’s former, pre-invasion life are explored. Finding this superb SF TV series through this site was yet another delightful surprise. Roll on Season 4.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
What a rush. Just when you think you have seen everything they go and then come up with the most incredible plots and stories. I never thought i could see them wining the war but then they were never going to the Moon. Wow what clever and inventive character driven series. |we can actually see the characters grew and develop with the actors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 November 2014
A fantastic follow on to season 2, still great effects and acting. One or two real shocking turns in the plot this year will have you on the edge of your seat, but suffice to say humanity lives to fight another day (if not another alien race!)
You have to watch this from season 1 - it is a great adventure in the Spielberg tradition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
So much potential...

Show's became a failure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
For some reason the DVD i received was something home made, black looking disks, with 1 episode per disk in black and white, not really sure what happened here....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Rarely have I watched a show that had me popping in DVDs like meds when I have a cold......excellent sci-fi, and season 4 has started on the same track. Noah Wyle leads the fight with along with what remains of humanity in the U.S and does so with integrity and humility, these character qualities make the viewer think if we have been invaded we will always have a chance as long as we still have representatives of our species like this. Great show and as compelling as the X-files used to be, we'll worth buying!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
This season is much like the others, full of plot holes, inconsistency, borderline special effects and a love of gravel pits and forest last seen in Blakes 7. Just like Blakes 7 it doesn't really matter, it's all strangely watchable. I didn't feel defrauded after finishing the ten episodes that make up the season.
The feature alien sounds like Cryten from Red Dwarf. So much so it was difficult for me to take him seriously. Well, as seriously as the season demands to be taken. Which isn't much. But it's fun.

Thought the Blu-ray quality was actually better than the first two seasons and it looked like HD rather than SD warmed up. Had a bit more resolution, depth and dynamic range.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
This is an excellent series! Set in the future, but not distracting, from apocolyptic self-survival disbanded group of survivors who 'have to' come together in order to survive what comes their way against various groups of aliens, whom each have a different agenda for the Earth & the Human race.
I already have the box set of Season 1 & 2......so finding that Amazon Prime streamed Season 3 was brilliant! We watched the whole of the series back to back over 1 weekend! Both my 15 year old daughter & 12 year old son love it too!!
Shame Season 4 isn't released until Summer this year!!!! :(
It has the "what-if" factor with almost realistic story lines, non-predictive drama & enjoys following sagas-within-sagas with twists & turns within each episode.....just like a great book that you can't put down!.......you'll love Falling Skies!......all of them!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
This season starts several months after the incredible cliff-hanger finale to season two. Tom Mason is now president of the fledgling democracy in Charleston but all is not necessarily good. Mistrust of the newcomers, the Volm, is rife and rightly so; do we believe their altruistic motivations? Many Charleston residents are still sceptical about aiding the skitter rebellion against the Espheni and to top it all there’s a spy in Charleston.

The various plot threads and relationship narratives are woven into a remarkable tale which never lacks pace; there’s neither time nor need for much deliberate character development as each of the main cast has already thoroughly grown into their role. The special effects are far superior to Season one’s clunky efforts while the costume, makeup, locations and superlative writing blend the show into an almost plausible whole (notwithstanding, of course, the general silliness of the underlying premise and the fact that while other resources are scarce, they have an inexhaustible supply of shampoo).

Season four has already aired in the US (with twelve rather than the usual ten episodes) and the show has been renewed for a fifth and final season. Splendid stuff; it’s just a shame there’s always so long between DVD releases.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse