Buy Used
£2.80
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

A Fairy Find Paperback – 12 Oct 2006

3.5 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£5.00 £0.01

Man Booker International Prize Shortlist 2017
Take a look at our selection of Man Booker International Prize 2017 shortlisted books. Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 244 pages
  • Publisher: Portobello Books Ltd (12 Oct. 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1846270618
  • ISBN-13: 978-1846270611
  • Product Dimensions: 20.9 x 15.6 x 2.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,355,835 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

'These deadpan images, mostly anonymous and very skilled, carry an
extraordinary freight of association and resonance.' -- Ian Beck, The Times

A delightfully absurd book...Buy it, pile it high and sell it – or the fairies will get you. -- Publishing News

Humour in the tradition of Carroll, Lear and Gorey. -- Christopher Logue

Ingenious and funny. -- George Melly

About the Author

Andrew Lanyon is a painter, publisher, author, and film-maker. His work has been acquired by public and private collections including the V&A in London and MOMA in New York.

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
I was a bit disappointed with this book, having been bought it as a Christmas present I settled down to read it thinking it was a story. It isn't, it's a collection of images which the author has shoe-horned in to fit his fairy related interpretations. Some of these are amusing, but after a few pages I began to wish the original footnotes to the illustrations and photos were available, as some were quite interesting images. The concept is interesting, and I did stick with it, but it's not a keeper.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
A Fairy Find is an absolutely beautiful book by Cornish artist Andrew Lanyon. His bizarre, witty collages are amusing and wry, but always brilliantly constructed.

A book for grown-up children and children alike, when you want something to make you smile.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This book is lovely. You can read in it a few hours, and its a funny, entertaining look at how you can interpret old pictures and drawings in completely different ways if you don't know the source. Very lighthearted and a very pretty hardback book full of pictures.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I accidentally found this book in a bookshop and bought one some years ago. It's a gem filled with funny and true insights and ideas. I treasure this book and recommend for the people who are also interested in world mystery & extraterrestrial intelligence as well as art and poetry in general.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category