Fabriclive. 07 has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller with over 5 million feedback ratings, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Fabriclive. 07

4.3 out of 5 stars 18 customer reviews

Price: £12.64 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 2 Dec 2002
£9.24 £0.01
Only 2 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
15 new from £9.24 9 used from £0.01

Frequently bought together

  • Fabriclive. 07
  • +
  • FABRICLIVE 09: Jacques Lu Cont
  • +
  • FABRICLIVE01: James Lavelle
Total price: £39.03
Buy the selected items together

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Product details

  • Audio CD (2 Dec. 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Fabric
  • ASIN: B0000794FM
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 18 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 26,594 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Intro
  2. Break ‘em On Down - The Soledad Brothers
  3. Late Night Blues - Don Carlos
  4. Hipsteppin - MC DET
  5. Needle In A Haystack - Velvelettes
  6. Lust For Life - Bad Livers
  7. Let’s Get Small - Troublefunk
  8. There’s A Moon Out Tonight - The Capris
  9. Mr. Pharmacist - The Fall
  10. 15:5 Remake - Smith And Selway
  11. Too Much - Jimmy Reed
  12. In The Midnight Hour - Maloko
  13. Moon Hop - Derrick Morgan
  14. In Love - The Datsuns
  15. Purty Vacant - The Kingswoods
  16. Liar - Sinthetix
  17. Lion Rock - Culture (Peel Session)
  18. Tom The Peeper - Act 1
  19. Love Will Tear Us Apart - Joy Division
  20. Clock - Elementz Of Noise
  21. Corn Rigs Tunes - Cheviot Ranters
  22. Identify The Beat - Marc Smith Vs. Safe ‘n’ Sound
  23. You’ll Never Walk Alone - Kop Choir
  24. Teenage Kicks - The Undertones

Product description


Taking over from Grooverider, the man behind the decks for Fabriclive Vol.7 is everyone's favourite steam engine-loving sexagenarian, Mr John Peel. After his memorable set at the Fabric club in February, the veteran DJ obviously relished compiling his relentlessly eclectic first mix album.

Predictably, The Fall get a look in as do the Undertones with "Teenage Kicks" but as the cult vinyl manipulator flicks from techno to blues, then R&B to reggae via folk and funk, it proves to be a rocky ride well worth the fare. Quite how it all fits in to the dance compilation category is a mystery, but in contrast to the dirge of one-dimensional titles available, Fabric 07 shines bright with a free-form bristling energy that many DJs half Mr Peel's age can only dream of.

Where else would you find MC DET's feisty drum & bass fuelled "Hipsteppin" merging with the gorgeous soulful R&B harmonising of The Velvelettes "Needle in a Haystack" before the Bad Livers serve up a manic, banjo-driven, thigh-slappin' rendition of Iggy Pop's "Lust For Life"? With music culled from deep within the archives, Peel effortlessly transcends genres and decades with carefree abandon. Fabric 07 may well confound the feet but it's sure to rock the soul and warm the heart. --Christopher Barrett

BBC Review

As you might expect, John Peel's contribution to the excellent Fabriclive series is not like the others.It's not perfect. It's not even really that great when you pick it apart but it's got soul, imagination and style. And in these days when rumours persist that certain DJs are more likely to be in Ibiza having their eyebrows flossed while a personal assistant produces their mix CDs, Peel's weak spots here are forgivable.

This isn't strictly a mix CD. It's more a collection of curiosities and classics with some added football commentary. It's not really 100% Peel either.Someone has smartened it up with a computer so that all the tunes come in at the right speed. If it was the real Peel we would get three seconds of something we heard 5 minutes ago, followed by a long apology and then the thing he actually meant to play.

If the skills aren't John's, then the choices certainly are.Nobody else would have segued the lumpy jump up of MC Det's "Hipsteppin'" into the classic girl-band sound of the Velvelettes "Needle in a Haystack". Likewise running the mighty, ramshackle racket of The Fall's "Mr Pharmacist" into the twisted techno of Smith and Selway's "15.5 Remake" reminds you why he's been 40 years in the business.Because he's the goddam MAN!! Thats why!

The feel of this thing is more like a compilation tape your mate made you, and that includes a few tunes that only an owner could love. So alongside classics like Joy Division's"Love Will Tear Us Apart" and the inevitable closer, "Teenage Kicks", there comes the lame doo-wop of The Capris' "There's a Moon Out Tonight" and the equally forgettable R'n'B of Act 1's "Tom the Peeper". But somehow they just sort of add to the charm.

Charm. Now that's another thing mix CD's don't have. --Matt Fernand

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window

Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

30 November 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
26 February 2005
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
8 December 2002
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
A customer
21 October 2005
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
7 December 2002
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?