Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 7 September 2017
I don't recall there being any fog in FOG. Like many post apocalyptic novels, it's a road trip. A band of people go from place to place, facing up to peril, brushing with death and overcoming the odds. Only there isn't really any peril in FOG. There's pretend peril, as in chapters ending with statements such as "And then they saw the big gun", or something like that, but after the first couple, the reader realises that nothing bad is going to happen to these people. There's no tension of any kind. The writing is among the most basic I've ever experienced in a novel I've paid money for, and even considering it's a post apocalyptic novel it's ridiculous. Full of plot holes and inconsistent, it's as if a teenager has written a story for school in his exercise book and never read it back. It only deserves one star, if that, but I had to add an extra one for the author getting away with getting me to cough up a quid for this nonsense. Well done!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2015
We are treated to a geriatric James Bond (with a smattering of Batman and Superman to boot) almost single handed taking on the Korean "Masters". Whilst author's poetic licence and imaginative freedom are essential for a good fictional novel I am afraid this book borders on a fairy tale and is written in the style of a Boys Own Comic feature story. For those old enough to remember Enid Blyton's "Famous Five" stories - this is an adult version. A late 60's year old who can immediately recognise and operate a 2030 spy drone of minute size - I doubt it. The same 60+ year old is still a competent sniper, unarmed combat expert, explosives expert and military strategist based on his few weeks in The Falklands conflict. This author is not and never will be a Clancy, Cusseler, Grisham or Roberts though no doubt those readers who like "Janet and John learn how to be a hero" type of books will no doubt enjoy this. A book that has 50+ chapters in 200+pages speaks for itself in respect of story development and plot progression.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2014
Very different! Set in 2030, in a Britain controlled by North Korea, Tommy and Fred, elderly Falklands veterans, have to revisit old skills to save themselves and some friends when the Resistance explodes a nuclear bomb over London.
Tommy and Fred are wonderful creations, and I thoroughly enjoyed their exploits with Brody, Daisy and Andy (they sound like the Famous Five!). I agree this would make a wonderful TV series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2014
A delightful read. Totally different approach with the lead characters. The story develops well and reads extremely well. It is interesting how well a few references to the history leading up to the story line integrates into the story ... 'Jolly good show!'.

I would love the idea of a sequel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2014
As well as being a good story, it's obvious that Will understands the technology his subjects are using very well, which makes it a rare and pleasantly realistic romp for those of us who also have such a background. It would make a very good TV mini-series!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2014
A good yarn. As an ex-Army old git myself, I found the reactivation of these two old codgers amusing and inspiring. A bit far fetched yes, with North Korea occupying the country after the election of a CND type government. Previous reviews of the effects of an atomic bomb detonated over London raise a few inaccuracies and the possibility of North Korea defeating the USA in a nuclear exchange is hard to believe. However, the story kept my interest going to the end and I look forward to the sequel. Just take it with a pinch of salt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 October 2014
Not a bad book. Interesting to see that the two main characters are old but, not so feeble. The characters are ok but, a little too know-it-all. Though they have some good survival skills.

I think the Book lacks a large enough description as to how Britain was occupied though it does give a small enough account. As the end acknowledges, there is a lack of information on how Britain and other react to the end plot and, how things eventually work out.

Could have done better but, 4 stars is the max.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2014
A rather gentle tale with no horrible twists and turns proceding and a gentle pace. I enjoyed it never the less. My biggest gripe would probably relate to the mis-match between the effects of the bomb and its purported 100 KT size. The damage effects described would perhaps be more suited to something in the multi-megaton range. Don't expect any great surprises, but an enjoyable read none the less, especially if youve had a stressful day and dont want anything that is going to make your brain hurt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2016
I agree that this is like a "boys own" adventure yarn but don't altogether think that that's a bad thing,some cool ideas in here,i was especially shocked at the fate of Newcastle! I would however, have liked more insight into the goings on of the oppressors. Again, am looking forward to the inevitable sequel thanks to a clever/sneaky lead up to one at the end of the book. Keep at it Mr Moore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2014
Literally just finished the book - Moore is a good story-teller - and I recommend FOG to you.
However the book lacks in places and that prevents it being a five star read. Examples ? There is no/are no central protagonists, no cunning North Korean intelligence officer or British Quisling Militia Officer to pit our hero's against - they all cant be as stupid as they are portrayed otherwise they wouldn't have subordinated Britain in the first place. Nice touch what happens to the USA towards the end of the book but nowhere near enough detail . And whatever endeavour our hero's try, they are always successful and never screw up. In the hinted at follow up - covering 'The Great Exodus' - the famous five ( the Hero's ) need to be more humanly fallible - try reading Sam Sisavath's 'Babylon' series for how to create - and productively kill off - likeable characters and have heros who don't always get it right.
But in summary - a really good read ( and set in the UK for a change - I'll never look at Newcastle's Metro system the same way ever again ) despite all my whinging. Will - you're not far from being a truly great genre writer - stick with it for all our benefits !!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Blast
£1.99

Need customer service? Click here