Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Discover more Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2009
Shape and size made this easy to carry in bag or pocket, layout is attractive, and it contains a helpful fold out map in good quality paper: this travel guide is good if you want quick reading and suggestions of what you should/could see in a place - historic buildings, trips, suggestions for hotels and places to eat. It's light on the history or cultural subtleties, the 'top 10' aspect irritatingly leads to repetition within the different categories, and the restaurants inevitably bring queues of other tourists prompted by books like these; however, taken on holiday in conjunction with something more thoughtful to read on the sunlounger about Croatian culture and politics, it was a reasonable guide to take on a first brief visit to a new country.Dubrovnik and the Dalmatian Coast (DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide)
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
The size of the book is suitable to fit into a pocket but there are plenty of maps for Split, Dubrovnik and a less detailed coastline to enable tourists to get around easily. The scope of the book is suitable if you are planning to travel around central Croatia; details of key places to see/eat/drink along the main coastline of Croatia rather than lots of detail by focusing on one town/area. Highly recommended, especially at its current price.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
I love Dorling Kindersley travel guides and wherever I go, I always look to buy one before I travel. Sadly for Dubrovnik, they only have this 'Top 10' guide and filling even this slim volume seems to have been too much of a challenge for DK. We were there for a week and found the book to be of very limited use. I prefer a more in-depth guide and the info in this one was insufficient to really help us work out what was and wasn't worth seeing.

Handy map supplied.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
My Wife and i are going to Dubrovnik for a week in October and i thought that i would buy one of the usually excellent books from DK Eyewitness Travel to give us an idea of what to do & see/where to eat and - important for us, as we have never been there before - a good Map of the City as we plan to do a lot of walking around.
Compared to other City guides that we have used (London, Rome, New York, San Francisco etc) this one is rather 'brief'!!!
There is very little info on the City and it surroundings and the 'Map' - if you can call it that - is on the 'free' pull out and is no more than a high level overview of the City with little detail on street names/places etc.
This is a very poor guide book IMHO and i am now trying to find something a little more comprehensive and informative. Beware!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2009
This is the first time I have tried a 'top 10' format guide. I won't buy one again as the information on one site is scattered around the book and hard to identify. Otherwise its good.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2007
Even for a short break I would suggest buying a real guide book which gives more detail and is more usably organised than this brief overview.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2012
I am a great fan of eyewitness travel guides and this one does not disappoint. As with DK guides, it contains a good map of the area. Each site has a 'top 10 sights' liberally illustrated and with key information. There is also information on beaches, restaurants, accommodation, festivals and children's activities. I found it very practical and useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
This book brands itself as Dubrovnik...and Dalmatian Coastline (written in small nderneath) when in fact 30% is Dubrovnik (3 of the top 10) and 70% is Dalmatian Coastline. Made worse by the fact that those things on the Dalmatian Coastline outside of Dubrovnik arent even within reach for a day trip...on the whole I'd have returned this book if it wasnt so cheap and wouldnt have purchased it if I'd flicked through in a shop!

Information inside isnt sufficient either, I'd look elsewhere!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2009
At £7.99 you could not expect the detailed cutaway type guide you normally associate with DK and the 'top 10' approach means that some entries in the guide are trivial however, considering the competition, this is a useful introduction to Dubrovnik and the Dalmatian coast.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
The Eyewitness books are always good with their top-ten lists as a quick aid to building an itinerary. I thought it would be handy to have the kindle version for portability on my Android Tablet. But the problem is that pictures and maps are very low resolution. The maps are really not of any use on the device. Their are references to the maps in the text but this is awkward to flip between the two and the references on the maps don't link back to the specific tex. So it doesn't really work in this format - it needs to be in a far more interactive format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)