Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
35
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 January 2008
The strength of this guidebook is in its pictures - there are colour photographs throughout - and its guides to the most famous monuments which walk you through the main features in the order in which you're likely to find them. The weakness is in the maps and practical information.

The 'top ten' format is maintained rigidly throughout, even in the general information sections, which doesn't always seem appropriate. I was also unclear as to whether the top ten was in ranked order (i.e. with one being the best, ten the least good of the selection), or in no particular order. As the book often isn't comparing like with like (e.g. budget and luxury hotels in the same list), it is hard to tell.

The sightseeing sections are useful provided they cover what you need, however a lot gets missed out. Perhaps such a large region, so diverse in attractions, isn't suitable for a single guide of this size. The presentation is good and it's easy and undemanding to read, and the 'bitesize' chunks of information will be ideal for many travellers who want to know a little but not an enyclopaedia's worth. It's also small and light, suitable for carrying round in a small bag.

I would recommend this more to people on package tours or where they will have a significant level of guidance, rather than independent travellers. The maps are hard to follow and only cover the very centres of a few selected cities (Cordoba, for example, isn't included as a map even though it features heavily in the rest of the book). For travellers using public transport there is nowhere near enough information to enable travel and I got seriously lost in two cities because I was relying on this book. For example, the train stations aren't in the area covered on the maps, and there are no instructions or information about, for example, what bus to get or which direction to take.

The language section is reasonably comprehensive but the print is tiny! Those with poor eyesight might want to take a separate phrasebook.

On the whole, I liked this book some of the time, but wouldn't rely on it as a lone, independent, budget traveller. It would be a great accompaniment to a package or guided trip though.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2007
I live in Gibraltar and frequent my Andalusian neighbouring villages and cities often. This Top Ten guide is simply not large enough to cover such a vast expanse of land. Andalusia may be rural and underpopulated but it's still a huge part of Spain with tons to do and see.
Top Ten guides are brilliant (possibly the BEST guides) for cities such as Rome, Dublin, etc, not for regions though.
Still, all in all, a compact guide albeit lacking in substance. Probably best to invest in a full DK Guide to Andalusia instead. More weight to carry by cammed with better quality and quantity of information. Avoid Andalusia in July and August!!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 160-page book - the 7th (PRINT) edition of March 2017 - is a colourful and informative guide to the attractions of the (southernmost) Spanish province of Andalusia; for real visitors and armchair travellers alike. It has all the usual features, including excellent maps and articles. There are excellent colour photos breaking up the text columns, so you can see what you are looking for. It is a handy up-to-date guidebook, with all the usual topics a tourist guide provides, as well as chapters on the top ten sites.

Please note that this is a POCKET guide to the HIGHLIGHTS of the area, and not an in-depth study of everything to be found there. For that, you need a full-sized guide. This volume is more of a guide for a weekend or short break.

The Contents include -
P005: Andalusia’s Top 10 Highlights -
Moorish Granada – the Alhambra, Generalife & Albacin; Seville Cathedral & La Giralda; Real Alcazar, Seville; Cordoba; La Mezquita, Cordoba; Cadiz; Ronda; the Costa del Sol; Baeza & Ubeda; Parque Nacional de Donana; the Sierra Nevada.

P041: Top 10 of Everything (top 10 lists of all the other touristy things to see and do)

Andalusia Area by Area
P084: Seville
P094: Sevilla & Huelva Provinces
P102: Malaga & Cadiz Provinces
P116: Granada & Almerida Provinces
P124: Cordoba & Jaen Provinces

P132: Streetsmart (practical touristy information); including -
P140: Places to Stay
P148: General Index
P159: Phrase Book
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2016
I may grow to love it but we will not be using it until we go to Andalucia in a couple of months time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Pocket (largish) sized guide to Andalucia, which immediately poses a problem as it's geographically and culturally a very large area. Very much an "edited highlights" volume, and when space is short it's often a very similar potted description for each of the numerous white towns, hilltop, white houses, beautiful churches, which doesn't use the limited space available efficiently. Some good (but small print) street maps of Seville and Granada. Sort of thing which these days is probably best loaded on a tablet or smartphone, but a good general introduction to this wonderful part of Spain
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
Let me say first that I am a great fan of the DK Eyewitness Guides and own several excellent editions for many parts of the world where they have proved invaluable for helping me locate myself in strange and different places.

But not this one... the area covered is too vast, it ignores many places of immense interest and does not go into any great detail about the places that it does cover.

The book is shallow and superficial and I wish I had saved my money and bought a few Sangria's whilst visiting the region, at least I would have derived some pleasure, which this travel guide failed miserably to give.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2011
This series is perfect for those tourists who like to dip into an area and don't need too much detail. If you like lots of detail then these are not for you. Ideal for those who want a pointer about what not to miss.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2008
Poorly researched. Includes one restaurant recommendation which suggests a 'local speciality' which the restaurant in question had never served (or even heard of). Contacted DK for a comment on this and, in keeping, with the author's view of the reader they didn't bother to answer. Defintiely not recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
This book is a complete waste of money. I ended up buying another travel guide during my trip to Spain as this one was useless. It contains barely any useful information. One can get significantly more for free from the Lonely Planet website.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2010
Lots of handy information, I usually do lots of research on holiday destinations, but this year the family decided we weren't doing much except the villa and pool. I couldn't quite do NO RESEARCH! So I compromised with one little book with all information needed for our holiday.
It wouldn't have been good enough for the detailed research that I normally do, but as a guide to the area and ideas on where to go it is ideal.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)