Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 September 2013
Everybody's idea of baby step instruction will be different. This is of little assistance until someone with the knowledge gleaned through using the equipment shows and says you do this or that and show the user. It then all clicks into place and serves as a reminder of what you have been shown. Not impressive overall.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
Well i bought this for my hubbys new ipad that i got him for xmas,and it is a VERY long read,yes it helps you find new hidden features on it but also alot of stuff you already know...
a bit steep on the price for what it is personally but hey he's got it!! lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2016
Good books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
This series of books are always great guides and this one did not disappoint. Although it is aimed at iPad2 it is very useful for later editions of iPads. The basics are the same. If you have spent money on an iPad - it's worth spending a bit more to get the best out of your purchase. A good book and sensible price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Since acquiring an iPad several weeks ago I have delved into two or three different instruction books. None has been completely satisfactory. Even the ones that say they are for complete beginners are nothing of the sort because they soon lapse into what is at times incomprehensible computer-speak. I am now convinced that the only way for an iPad novice to get a grounding into the workings of this gizmo is to get an iPad-wise friend or relative to demonstrate it. That is what I did and if you're like me you'll find that once you've been shown a few basics - like the intricacies of iTunes and how to import photographs - the instruction manuals become more comprehensible. I'm reminded of that story about Groucho Marx who, when told that something was so easy that a six-year-old child could operate it, replied "Quick, fetch me a six-year-old child." It's surprising how clear some of these 'beginners' instruction books become after a knowledgeable friend (or a six-year-old child) has explained a few things.

Of the books that I've read, 'iPad for Dummies' (a misnomer because it certainly isn't for dummies) is probably the best of the bunch. It puts you at your ease from the start because of it's friendly and humorous approach. The layout of the book, too, is very user-friendly, the twenty chapters being sub-divided into sections, all of which are listed under 'Contents' at the beginning. Whatever aspect of the iPad you're looking for you should be able to find it at once. If you can't there's an even more detailed index at the back.

As with all the 'Dummies' series this is, of course, an American book and no attempt has been made to Anglicise it - prices of accessories, for instance, are in dollars - but this is not really a problem. All in all, this is not a bad book - but do try to have access to an iPad-knowledgeable friend when you're reading it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
This book is very light on technical information try
help.apple.com/ipad/5/interface on the ipad. it's free. and in my opinion far better. put the address into a desktop/laptop, and you get a full blown manual.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
This book is perfect for the complete novice because not only does it explain everything in plain English but there are great coloured photos with simple steps to follow. For somebody who has just got their first iPad this makes you use your device it to its full potential!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
This book is a total waste of time. It is obviously written BY Dummies more interested in "Kool" stuff and merchandising kick-backs. It IS American, so enuff-said. I wanted information on two topics in particular which it did not address. Why DOES iTunes split up albums when tracks are by different composers?, and how to transfer and use documents from a PC into Mac. When I hit on the right password (like going into a plumbers merchants in the 50s) i.e. "Word Processor"....I found an App costing £2.49 that did all I wanted it to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
I bought this for my Dad who had a book before but couldn't get on with it. I am a fun of the "For Dummies" series and my Dad has so far been singing much praise for this book and has said it is very helpful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)