Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Exploring Immunology Concepts and Evidence

This was one of my favourite topics at University and inspired me to look at how genetics influenced the immune system. This led to a very satisfying career in science.
This is an excellent Immunology textbook. It scores on many fronts, including being well written, structured and illustrated.

The book is in several sections from the introduction to explaining the key elements and concepts of immunology. The text then develops the basic themes into six detailed chapters:

The immune system,

Infection and immunity,

Functional anatomy of the immune system,

T Cell mediated immunity,

Antibody mediated immunity,

Immunity disease and therapy,

Each chapter has been well researched and is presented in a logical and accessible way (not common for a text book!). The language is succinct and supported with many excellent diagrams to help understand each of the major components of the immune system and how it all works. The book has a useful set of revision questions at the back and a useful index.

Overall
This is a very well presented and researched text book. It should be on the reading list of any undergraduate studying medicine or human biological sciences. An engaging, interesting, and informative read about a fascinating subject. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 3 January 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a concise and well written book on Immunology. In seven chapters and sub-chapters it explores immunological concepts backed with evidence. The major chapters are as follows:
introduction
The immune system-
Infection and Immunity
4.Functional anatomy of the immune system
5. Innate immunity
6. T-cell mediated immunity
7.Antibody-mediated immunity
8.Immunity, disease and therapy.
Then answer to the questions in the various chapters and further study questions. The chapters are independent and comprehensive and covers extensively the subject heading.

The book can be read from beginning to the end or separately in any order you like as the chapters are comprehensive and independent. This is really an innovative way of writing. The texts integrate clinical and experimental evidence with selected clinical case studies to explain the background to the current concepts. Also the authors highlighted the areas of controversy and uncertainty and discussed these .

Each chapter has learning objectives and outcome with clear diagrams and pictures to illustrate the text. There are questions in each chapter with answers at the back to help stimulate critical thinking as you read along.

I like this book not just because it is reader friendly- good layout, pictorial diagrams and concise and detailed explanations but for the simplicity of the language and the ease with which one can understand and follow the concepts. Immunology is one of those fields in medicine which has grown in leaps and bounds since I went to medical school and this book does a good job of covering both the basics of immunology as well as the current concepts and their evidence. It is written as a concise introduction to immunology for all students of immunology- biology, medical and veterinary students, and in my humble opinion anyone with special interest in immunology. It is a well written and well researched book. I am happy to recommend it to all students of immunology and anyone interested in the subject both as a textbook and a quick reference guide..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 February 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
For such an incredibly broad and complex subject, authors Gordon MacPherson and Jon Austyn have provided a well presented introduction to the field with good quality colour diagrams and clear text. Concepts are built upon steadily, sometimes simplifying earlier on before expanding into a fuller picture in subsequent sections - chapters are designed to be independent so it is possible to plunge straight in to certain areas dependent on previous knowledge. There are questions within the text (designed to test the student's critical facilities, and which do not always have a definitive answer), as well as end of chapters questions to test comprehension, and moreover further study questions.

As someone with a scientific but not biological educational background but with an interest in the subject matter, this is proving to be an accessible induction into immunology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 December 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I am not a science student but I do have a lot of interest in Immunology and wanted a book to help expand my very basic understanding.
The first chapter is "The Immune System" and gives a basic and comprehensive understanding to get things started.
I found this very helpful and interesting, a good place to start for a non-student.

Other chapters include: Infection and Immunity, Functional Anatomy of the Immune System, Innate Immunity, T-Cell Mediated Immunity, Anti-Body Immunity, Immunity , Disease and Therapy.

The Illustrations are well executed and attractive. Clearly drawn using different colours making them easy to understand, and plentiful throughout the book.

I would recommend this book to anyone interested in this subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 February 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a book geared towards medical students, but still is useful to so,done wanting to gain an understanding of the way that the immune system functions and works in humans.
Has useful 'case histories' which make the learning process a bit easier as your not dealing with abstract facts.
Could be useful for children's school projects, but possibly 'overkill' as its far too detailed to be of much use that way...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a very good book on a complex and difficult to understand and remember subject for me.

A flip through the pages reveals clear text, eye catching diagrams and diagram descriptions that could have come from a kindly professor presenting his slides. There are clear sections and even developing points segregated by colour coded boxes which cover learning questions, research developments and clinical cases. Each chapter is bookended by learning aims and learning points. There is a box of questions at the end which reiterate major points and MORE importantly there are answers to them.

I have reread the chapters on vaccinations and transplantation several times as they are the clearest I have read on the topics. I would also like to confirm the truth to the claim that this book was written so each chapter can be revisited/referenced on its own after the first reading.

Every doctor should have a reference on specialties which are closely linked with their own. This fits the bill for Immunonology.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 10 January 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I got this book to learn more about the immune system because I had Cancer last year and from everything I learned the immune system is the common denominator in that disease and a lot of others. I am not a medical or biology student, just an average Joe that wanted more info in a digestible format that was easy enough for me to comprehend and learn without too much jargon that goes over your head. Well I found it in this book. There was a lot of stuff covered which I already knew but this book expanded upon that and helped explain some aspects that I did not know or understand. It made what I already knew so much plainer and more. I also learnt so much more. The importance of our immune system cannot be over-estimated and if you want to stay healthy, just look look after your immune system.

I thought it would be like the old school biology books I remembered from years ago but it was modern, up to date and well researched. What quite often happens with an academic author who really knows their stuff is that the content becomes heavy and unreadable and difficult to understand but these authors kept it at a level which is informative and easy to understand without being boring or patronising but also giving so much information that it makes this book useful to anyone from an A level student right through to a nurse or medical student.

It may sound odd to say that I really found this book to be a good read but then I don't read fiction so for me, this was bedtime reading!

I would highly recommend this if you want to know more about how your own immune system functions and gain explanations and insight into how illnesses may be affected by it then this is for you but also if you are studying and need to cover this topic, this book may be all you need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I really enjoyed this book, although not a student it is an area of interest for me, the layout of the books is particularly good, it is the product of a well organised writer, I particularly liked the colour coding and regular questions on each page that insured that you are grasping the concepts and information as you go through this subject. This is a great book for both the student and layman. It is worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)