Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 25 May 2014
This isn't what I'd call an easy book for the average non scientist to read, you have to do it in chunks and keep at it.
Having said that, what you are rewarded with if you simply skim the book, which I did at first, is enough to change your eating habits forever.

When you've finished reading, you'll probably never completely trust another food producer ever again.
The FDA and our own uk food agency should be ashamed.
We have relied upon them to protect us and they only seem to have looked after large food producers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2013
This book is awesome. It starts off with a breakdown of how the brain works and it is obvious the author is an expert in this area. He has been a neurosurgeon for 30 years and a professor of neurology at more than one university. In addition he has written books and several peer-reviewed papers for journals. The fact that some don't find him credible is beyond me.

The rest of the book covers toxins that affect the brain and it is great reading. The worst bit is that most food companies are aware of the dangers from their additives but are able to meander the rules by renaming ingredients. The corporate-owned governing bodies do not care either. Worth a read if you care about the brains of yourselves and your family.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2015
Brilliant book, a real eye opener as to what is going on in the food industry today.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2017
Excellent information for someone who is struggling with health issues where food and the brain are mentioned
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2013
For any truth seeking individual who is ready for life changing knowledge presented with sound evidence and extensive detail, an absolute must read! Among the hundreds of books I have read on Health and Well Being this is certainly top three!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2015
Well done
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2015
Amazing book, extremely interesting with plenty of research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2016
What an eye opener
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2014
Intresting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2008
I think this should be sent to every MP in the land with the first one going to the Prime-minister. It is time we stopped treating the symptoms of illnesses and put a greater effort and money into the causes.
We should put greater restrictions on industry for they will do anything if it increases their profits - a good comparison is what happened with smoking: the companies knew of the dangers before the greater public did.
And so with "excitotoxins". Every time you sweeten your tea with nutrasweet, you are in effect frying your brain, as it contains the excitotoxin aspartame; or take a bite of some crisps - check the label it could contain MSG(monosodium glutamate), another excitotoxin.
These excitotoxins need to be banned immediately. They are totally unnecessary - a lot of the time these flavour enhancers are used to disguise the awful quality of the food that is produced. Here is a thought - without these artificial flavour enhancers we would be forced to eat properly, as our taste buds would be awakened to the reality of what we are ingesting.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)