Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



on 20 November 2010
This really is an excellent book for those wishing to develop Excel applications. It provides clear and useful information on the workings of Excel spreadsheets and how to interact/control them in VBA. Although I have over 12 years of Access VBA experience, my Excel abilities are far less robust. This book really does cover most of the bases: beginners will be pleased to know that there is a good introduction to the basics of VBA in early chapters, whilst more experienced developers will find a multitude of hints and tips to improve their applications. Topics include VBA fundamentals, the structure of Excel files, User forms, Object Oriented coding, coding charts and pivots, integrating with other Office apps, including help files and much more.

There is a nice glossary of VBA commands and functions in the back with one line explanations which you can then take further by looking up the details via the index, and it comes with a CD of code samples.

Is it perfect? No. There is very little on interfacing Excel to external data sources using MS Query for example, and only 1 page on considerations when making the application cross platform with Mac Excel (although Office 2011 for Mac with VBA support has only just been released, Office 2004 for Mac does have VBA too, so a little more would have been nice. Not all Mac users use Office 2008).
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
This is a great book with some very advanced VBA programming techniques for Excel. I've certainly learned a lot from it, very useful!

If you're thinking of getting the Kindle version, don't bother - all of the examples are on the cd and some of the projects are ONLY on the cd. You also get a PDF of the ebook on the CD which you can easily convert to a (better formatted) kindle ebook anyway.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
This is a reasonably good book though I found it lacked any good examples and failed to go into enough depth on each of the VBA programming fundamentals. It seemed to stop just when it layed down each concept and left me short of grasping some of the topics with any real understanding of their application. It's like an extended version of the "For Dummies" book by the same author but still falls short of a comprehensive introduction to this interesting subject. I'm sure the same amount of information could have been delivered in a book half this size.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Not comprehensive by any means but eminently readable and extremely useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
not much vba programming on it. it very large book but not much coding in it! won't recommend this. nothing creative! I would say:- profit driven books nothing more!
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
I have got a number of John Walkenbach's books on Excel programming starting from Excel 97. Always clear and informative and even though I have been programming for a number of years, I still come across nuggets of golden information in his books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
This book is a direct way to learn advanced excel tools. A nice complement skill to support any management job.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
What else is there to say - an excellent volume which I use as a reference for Programming with VBA
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
I have used John Walkenbach's books before in paper form. When looking for an update from the 2003 version of the book I chose a Kindle version. I was not disappointed. The guidance given is well up to his superb standard and the addition of a search facility given by an E-book made finding answers a lot faster.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
As someone who is self-taught and regularly programmes in Excel VBA, I was looking for a reference book for Excel 2010. While a lot of the content is familiar, it is always useful to look at how other people tackle a problem and it will change how I approach things in future.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)