Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2014
Good easy to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
This book is aimed at any practitioner who is involved with examination of the newborn.

A consistent approach to the examination, early intervention and preventative care can have the most positive influence on outcome for the newborn. To this end, the UK National Screening Committee have produced a set of standards and competencies for clinical practice that all health care professionals should be taking into consideration before undertaking the newborn examination.

The book takes the reader through the process of examination of the newborn using a systematic, evidence based approach paying close attention to the UK Screening Committee's Newborn and Infant Physical Examination standards and competencies.

In additon to the physiological aspects, the book addresses areas such as the importance of history taking and how central this process is to a positive outcome. Professional issues surrounding the newborn examination are also addressed together with the role of the employer in facilitating midwives to perform the examination within Trusts.

The text also deals with the midwife's role in child protection and sets this within the context of the newborn examination.
Examination of the Newborn:An Evidence Based Guide is the only book of its kind that incorporates the UK Screening Committee's standards and competencies. Therefore it provides essential reading for all health care professionals who are continually striving to update their knowledge and contribute positively to the standardisation of care on a national scale.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My partner and I have just started trying for a child and although many books are avalible on pregancy and care of infants, there is very little that is easy to hand on the medical side without having to wade into the world of medical journals and the sea of textbooks without a clue as to where to begin. So, when I saw this book listed, I snapped it up and dived right into it.
I have a very limited medical background (memeber of St. John's Ambulance) but it seemed to serve me better than my partner who was easily lost in the medical terms. I still had to cross reference some of the things discussed in the book with a bit of web searching, but I'm sure a medical student or professional would understand fine all the fine details.
Laying out it's information like all excellent learning tools, this book is full of fine details and important information that has given me a much better view of the situtation that is presented to the hosptial staff when a new life comes into the world before them. Heavy reading for anyone who isn't interested in the medical side of things, but well worth aquanting yourself with it like me you are obessessed with knowing EVERYTHING!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2011
The examination of the newborn is a well written evidence based book that covers a wide range of issues in relation to newborn examination. The book covers a range of topics that are relevant to clinical practice from history taking to anatomical examinations. In particular some of the paragraphs on specific conditions e.g. in relation to chromosomal and genetic problems, examination of the newborns skin and examination of the newborn heart and lungs are through giving information on anatomy and physiology, the relevant examinations and a range of conditions that may be present at birth. A range of photographs, diagrams and illustrations are used throughout the book that support the text very well and reinforce the many complex ideas put forward.

Overall this book is an excellent, informative and evidence based read that is academic, yet understandable that would be useful to student nurses, midwives and qualified staff alike. In particular this book would be useful for nursing and midwifery staff or students with an interest in the neonatal field.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Very thorough reference book; an essential guide for GPs, paediatric juniors, and midwives conducting newborn examinations. As a GP, I perform occasional newborn examinations, and frequent 8-week checks; this is the best book covering the area that I have come across and I have found it extremely useful repeatedly. Highly recommended
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 July 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I work as a midwife and am coming to the end of an Examination of The Newborn module at uni so I can undertake this extended role. This book has been invaluable.

It covers all areas needed such as;

Changing circulation of the newborn
Common skin conditions/complaints
Examination of the respiratory system
Examination of the abdomen and genitalia
Jaundice
Foot abmormalities
Genetic problems
Child protection issues
Head, neck and eyes.

If its not in this book you won't need to know it! Would be a great book for junior paeds, VTS trainees as well as paed nursing students and midwifery students. Even if you're not doing the extended role it will help you learn about any problems you may come across.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I am in the medical profession so looking at this book is like looking another text book for me. Actually it is not really a text book. It is a useful reference manual for medical professional or professionals allied to medicine who comes into contact with the newborns eg GP, health visitors, midwives, student nurses, medical student. The book is not too thick which makes it easy to focus and read on subject one chooses to aim for. It is well referenced and thus makes it a good base for further research. It is well divided into section and rather succinct. Overall it's a good book to dip in and out with references and an invaluable tool for those who work with the newborn. Certainly more aimed for the British medical market with British medical guidelines.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The book keeps the reader abreast of the latest U.K. guidelines for best practice in newborn examination and follow up. As far as I can tell it is thorough and accurate.

There are a number of contributors, but Anne Lomax has edited it so that the format is consistent throughout. Along with the text are an adequate number of tables, flow diagrams and photographs.

It is inevitable that in targeting such a wide range of professionals, that the book
may not be perfect for everyone using it, but on the other hand it does help communication between disciplines when more people are familiar with the same reference work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 April 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As a primary care practitioner I was interested to see this book since I hoped it contained information that will prove useful in my day to day work , and will help me to know the 'normal' as compared to 'abnormal' when examining and handling new babies.
It covers various aspects of examination and issues like Child Protection and Genetic conditions are nicely presented .
The skin section in particular is thorough but I would have liked the photographs - of which there are several - to be in colour.
I think in addition to people in my role , it would prove a useful resource for Midwives and Health Visitors alike.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I am currently rotating through paediatrics and I found this book a valuable resource for examination of the newborn. It is written with the allied health and all care givers in mind, so takes its time in explaining in a great detail all the processes and medical conditions in a language that anyone will understand. It is this that makes it a great book for the general public as the language is very simple,but content is detailed to cover all aspects of newborn examination and screening.It also contains the latest guidelines and is evidence based.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)