Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
152
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2015
I've now had this saw for just under a year and can say i’m more than happy.
When i bought this i got the diamond blade for cutting masonry and a second 185mm blade, because a spare blade is an absolute must if you’ve got lots of work planned.
First impression... the saw is light and feels relatively robust.
I’ve used this to cut through
Pallets to make firewood (yes that includes nails)... cuts no problem
Brickwalls (25 mm) to chase electrical cables
Brickwalls (60 mm each side) to break and make opening
Bamboo Decking (like a hardwood) 30mm Crosscut
Various Pine joists and MDF of varying thicknesses
Solid oak beams Ripcut (30mm)... I’ve uploaded a couple photos of this. I needed to rip a 145mm beam, so ripped both sides to a depth of 60mm and hand cut the space left. 60mm ripping with this saw/blade would be pretty difficult and i think jamming and potential damage to blade/saw/wood/ or self would be the outcome, so i played it safe and did a 30mm cut and followed again on 60mm to finish the job (looks a little rough in the pictures but i did sand it down nicely after id finished the cut).
Solid oak beams Crosscut (60mm)
In all the above the saw barely thought about what i was doing and passed through like butter.
The vacuum fitting is a standard size and needs a good suction to pull as sawdust can clog in the evacuation pipe (this is due to a protection to prevent you sticking your fingers up there onto the cutting edge). Brick dust did not gather or block here but did get into the saw a bit. After brickwork i tend to take guard off and clean out the mechanics a little.
I’m by no means a professional but I’ve a decent amount of experience and have been using this saw regularly over the last year and its still cutting like day 1, in fact I’ve still not needed to use the spare blade i bought.
Conclusion...
I reliable blade/saw which has handled a good year of abuse and still going strong. Would highly recommend if you need a 185mm circular.
Evolution Diamond Blade 185 mmEvolution Rage Multipurpose TCT Blade 185 mm
review image review image review image
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
second shot at evolution rage. first time was the newer model, which cut well, but i found the sawdust clogged up in the debris collection system causing frequent stopping to clear. i sent it back. gave the older model a chance based on price and simpler looking debris system. much better. happy now.
22 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Used 3 times now and given effortless, true cutting on wood and plywood. I cannot comment on other materials as yet. Quality feel, good weight, actual cut line is dead centre with the V groove. Now looking at purchasing the rage sliding mitre saw also.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2016
Comes in a cardboard box with guide fence, allen key and instruction manual. No storage case.

Slightly larger and a little lighter than my old B&D PL40.

Weight = 4.15kg (not including lead and plug).
Overall width = 25cm
Overall length = 30.20cm
Overall height = 25.1cm

Clearance between motor housing and bottom of footplate at lowest setting = 1.15cm

Overhang of motor body over footplate = 10cm

No-load running speed = 3700 rpm (stated)

First the bad points:

1) Saw blade not quite perpendicular to the footplate at 90 deg setting. I had to dress the stop with a few strokes of a file to get it perfect. Definitely wouldn’t trust the angle scale on this saw!

2) Saw blade did not line up with the V cut in the footplate at the 90deg setting. I found it to be about 1.5mm out and had to adjust the V cut with a file to get it aligned.

3) The edge guide can only be fitted to the front of the footplate. It is not possible to fit two guides.

4) No rail system for it.

5) No riving knife.

The good points:

1) Saw blade is easy to change. Only the supplied allen key is required as the blade has an arbour lock.

2) Handle affords good control with a two-handed grip.

3) Adjustment knobs are large and easy to operate with hands alone.

First use was to cut 500mm of 5mm thick steel plate. Quite a severe test I know, but I figure if they say it cuts steel, it had jolly well better do it! I took “before and after” photographs of the blade teeth to see the amount of degradation. The saw cut the metal quickly and efficiently, with very little effort on my part. Eye protection is essential when cutting metal as swarf is thrown out in all directions! The cut produced was reasonably clean and free of burrs although it was obviously a sawed finish rather than machined. Good enough for welding though.

Some of the teeth showed noticeable wear after this first cut and I don’t think it would do more than two or three more before it needs replacing. I found replacement blades for sale on ebay at £16.73 so ordered a couple as spares. Metal cutting jigsaw blades are of course much cheaper and although a jigsaw is slower, it would probably be a better bet for metal cutting. Angle grinder is another alternative, but not easy to guide in a straight line. Naturally, if you have a lot of metal to cut, forget saws and get a plasma cutter. It’s a bit of a faff to set up, but much more efficient.

Wood cutting was effortless and produced a very clean cut with minimal waste. Very good for crosscutting hardwood. I didn’t have any long pieces of wet wood to try ripping with it but it is not the sort of blade that I would choose for such work in any case. In view of this, the lack of a riving knife is not that important to me. I got this saw for cutting composite materials, which so far, it has done very well.

As for overall quality, the Evo definitely isn’t up there with Makita, Bosch, Skill, et al. Well one wouldn’t expect it to be at the price.

Any fool can mount a saw blade on the end of an electric motor, but the quality of a circular saw is all about the adjustments, accuracy and guide system. The Evo Rage is mostly about the blade itself, which apparently has to run slower than a normal 185mm blade. The Evo runs at 3700 rpm on no load, but most other 185mm saws run at 4500 – 6000 rpm. The main advantage of the blade is its narrow kerf and the fact that each tooth is preceded by a non-cutting guide tooth, which limits the depth of bite that it can take. Conventional blades (especially ones with wide tooth spacing) would probably not perform too well on this saw due to its slow speed.

I think the saw is good value at £50 inc P+P from Screwfix. I didn’t buy it from Amazon Prime because of their appalling delivery service – no problems with Screwfix though.

I have given the product a four star rating based on a sale price of £50. If it had cost any more, my rating would be correspondingly lower.
review image review image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Used to cut solid oak worktops. Went through them like butter. Good value!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
Well made and the versatile blade makes it a useful tool to have.
Make sure you wear goggles, as the exhaust vent is going to cover you in bits.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Its slick, clean angles, and ease to use, makes you want to use it more.very efficient, smooth action.good value for money.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
Absolutely fantastic. The blade it comes with leaves such a clean cut, it's almost unbelievable. Combined with the evolution 185mm diamond blade this circular saw enabled me to cut and fit my own granite kitchen (I bought the kitchen second hand, so the granite worksurfaces had to be cut to fit). Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this circular saw!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
Brilliant saw for the money. Most of my work is done with hand saws, but on many occasion I have to use power, especially when ripping down sheets of ply. This saw makes short work of all jobs accurately and with no effort at all. Highly recommend this circular saw.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
This is a brilliant piece of kit. As I have a table saw, compound mitre saw and jigsaw I didn't think I really needed a circular saw. Boy, was I wrong this is a really handy tool. Its well made and comfortable to use, I knocked up a jig for using when cutting boards and get a perfect straight cut every time, and the same on smaller cuts using a speed square. Excellent saw would thoroughly recommend this to anyone thinking of buying a circular saw.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 37 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)