Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2015
A perfect little book, ideal for carrying with you when in the hunt for medals and/or Orders. Enough information to give you a good idea of what you're looking for, pointers to consider for further discussion with like minded people or for researching yourself. Great to see colour photos of most of the Orders or Decorations referred to with in this book. An ideal book to give a taster of the world of Orders and Decorations to those who are purely curious, ideal for those with some general knowledge and ideal for those who have been collecting for some time. Easy to follow, concise information. To put it simply, it's a little gem of a book!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2009
This is the fourth--and by far the best--title from Shire Publications that I've purchased. I was initially quite wary as I'd bought British Campaign Medals 1815-1914 (Shire Album) only to find that it didn't contain a lot of the awards I'd expected to find. In this case, as with the other two Shire titles, I was glad to find my fears unwarranted. In all their books I've read to date, Shire provides excellent quality photos and a depth of information you just won't find on the many, many websites available. This title was more comprehensive than I'd thought and I'd gladly recommend it to the new medal hobbyist or someone wanting to learn about medals and honours. The only thing left to wish for is that Shire had more titles covering a wider range of medals!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
This is a nice introduction to the major European orders, with one or two more unusual medals to interest the more knowledgeable. It's very nicely illustrated, though the quality of one or two of the photos isn't quite up to standard ... it's a miniature coffee-table book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 March 2009
Could you image any royal event without royal ladies and gentlemen wearing their orders of knighthood, often splendid in diamantes, making them exquisite decorative objects? Where do they come from, what do they mean, why is e.g. the highest order in Denmark the Order of the Elephant?

Peter Duckers has been a collector of British campaign and gallantry medals for many years. He has written numerous magazine and journal articles about medals and collecting and is a member of the Orders and Medals Research Society. He is Curator of the Shropshire Regimental Museum in Shrewsbury Castle.

So Peter Duckers is the ideal person to describe the range of European Orders conferred before 1945, some of which stretch back hundreds of years. As the book said it is indeed an ideal reference book for anyone interested in collecting these rare and valuable objects or people interested in royalty.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2008
The field of collecting Orders & Decorations, can at times be quite difficult to grasp. between the different designs to varing sizes, in the same Order!
Althogh this book is a little thin, I foud it to be a valuble reference to my library. And I could not do without it now!!
Although "thin" it covers all of the major Orders of Europe, and quite a few lesser known, some that even I had never known of their existance!

The book is wonderfully illustrated with colour photos, as well as B/W.
If you only have a pasing interest in this field, I strongly recomend this book to you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
This book is very informative and has great photographs. As usual Shire books are just brilliant! I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
Slim volume, plenty glossy pictures to look at. I thought good Value for money - what else is there to say
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Very useful book for enthusiasts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
Very good for foreign medals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
First class book and service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)