Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
15
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£33.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2005
J.M. Roberts, knows his subject, no doubt about that. He covers social, economic and cultural history over a period of 65 years. All important themes are covered, as you would expect from this type of book, such as the fall of the Austro-Hungarian empire, both World Wars, rise of Fascism, Russian revolution etc. It is easy to navigate the chapters and find areas you are looking for.
However, this book is written in a dull, heavy style. Roberts seems to delight in long winded prose when making a point, not something that lends itself to easy reading. Certainly it has it's uses as a text for the undergraduate historian but for the casual reader it may be just a little too much.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2001
Roberts' insight in to the shifting sands of European affairs is both concise and well argued. Structured argument and an interesting critique is inherent throughout, whilst evidence of a resounding depth of knowledge is ever present. A period, dogged by war, colonialism, and the emergence of powerful nation states is portrayed with resounding historical passion. The difficulties in dealing with such a tumultuous period of history are evident, yet they do not become burdensome to the point of detracting from the novel. 65 years which incorporate the zenith of Bismarcks political weight in Germany, the rise of the fascist state under Mussolini in Italy, and two wars which define the twentieth century for our generation, are vividly depicted. Innovative and charming, this book is imperative for an up to date understanding of the period.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
I bought this book for background knowledge for the module I'm undertaking as part of my history degree. It is informative and easy to comprehend with so much relevant (to me) information. I would recommend it for anyone interested in 20th century European history. It is a second hand copy but arrived in good condition and was a fair price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
Pretty dull and dry, but incredibly informative. Very useful for my revision.
Some buffoon has 1 starred this because it never arrived, so I'm going to give it 5 stars to balance it out. Although my own personal rating would have been 4 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
This book is quite good at covering all the key aspects of the period of 1880-1945 and what caused different minor conflicts, the assassination of the Archduke Ferdinand causing World War I, what Europe was like between the end of World War I and the beginning of World War II. It shows the great changes there were as it was a time of radical political, social and economic change throughout Europe especially as this was the height of the existence of empires.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
This book covers a period of great change in Europe. The many conflicts leading up to the Great War, the inter war period and then World War II are dealt with in great detail and a must for students wishing to understand the early part of the twentieth century.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2009
This was a set book that I had to purchase for my present course with the Open University. Roberts covers the period well although some of the text does not flow smoothly, in my opinion. However, to get an understanding of Europe during the two wars, it is very informative with a lot of background information.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Excellent, particularly if you are studying A327: War, Peace, Modernity with the Open University, or simply interested in European history in this period. Highly recommended reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
I purchased this product out of necessity for the study of the Open University course, AA312 (total war and social change).

The book is very comprehensive about the social events surrounding both the first and second world war. It is not particularly concerned with the conduct of the wars themselves, however, and people interest in this particular aspect ought look elsewhere (I would recommend John Keegan).

Recommended in its own right but, again, not for beginners as the reading can get quite intense at times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
Updated edition of an outstanding reference book. Without doubt the best book of it's type written, without which I would never have completed my Open University course. Excellent reader for those with a passing interest in European history written in a clear and readable style. Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)