+ £1.76 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Eternal Idol

Deluxe Edition

Double CD, Extra Tracks, Remastered, Digipack

4.5 out of 5 stars 32 customer reviews

Price: £18.67 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
The Eternal Idol (2009 Remastered Version) Amazon Music Unlimited
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Double CD, Original recording remastered, 1 Nov 2010
£12.00 £9.98
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Amazon's Black Sabbath Store

Frequently bought together

  • The Eternal Idol
  • +
  • Seventh Star (2009 Version)
  • +
  • Born Again
Total price: £44.27
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (1 Nov. 2010)
  • Deluxe Edition edition
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Double CD, Original recording remastered, Extra tracks
  • Label: Sanctuary
  • ASIN: B004222UC8
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  Audio Cassette |  Vinyl |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 32 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 40,263 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. The Shining (2009 Remastered Version)
  2. Ancient Warrior (2009 Remastered Version)
  3. Hard Life to Love (2009 Remastered Version)
  4. Glory Ride (2009 Remastered Version)
  5. Born to Lose (2009 Remastered Version)
  6. Nightmare (2009 Remastered Version)
  7. Scarlet Pimpernel (2009 Remastered Version)
  8. Lost Forever (2009 Remastered Version)
  9. Eternal Idol (2009 Remastered Version)
  10. Black Moon
  11. Some Kind of Woman

Disc: 2

  1. Glory Ride (Alternative Studio Recording)
  2. Born to Lose (Alternative Studio Recording)
  3. Lost Forever (Alternative Studio Recording)
  4. Eternal Idol (Alternative Studio Recording)
  5. The Shining (Alternative Studio Recording)
  6. Hard Life to Love (Alternative Studio Recording)
  7. Nightmare (Alternative Studio Recording)
  8. Ancient Warrior (Alternative Studio Recording)

Product description

Product Description

In th mid-1980s, Black Sabbath seemed to be suffering from an acute case of lead singer-itis, as Glenn Hughes became yet another (and the second Deep Purple) vocalist to swiftly depart the ranks. Hughes’ health was by this time suffering badly brought on by his years of cocaine addiction which was also having a devastating effect on his vocal performance.

Hughes’ replacement came in the shape of unknown American singer, Ray Gillen who was quickly air lifted in to fulfil the band's live commitments. Such was Gillen’s abilities that he was whisked into the studio to begin recording a new Black Sabbath album already titled, The Eternal Idol. The ensuing gestation of the new album was one mired in problems, however, as not one but three producers passed through the studio, resulting in band personnel changes that saw two bassists', two drummers' and the eventual departure of Ray Gillen who was in turn replaced by yet another unknown in vocalist Tony Martin. Martin’s style was not that dissimilar to Ronnie James Dio and he would re-record all of Gillen’s vocal takes for the final album release.

Issued on 1st November 1987, The Eternal Idol (Black Sabbath’s thirteenth studio album) was an altogether harder sounding record and brought back an ‘edge’ that had been missing from Seventh Star. Whilst there was much for the Sabbath fan to celebrate with tracks such as, "The Shining" (also released as a single), "Ancient Warrior", "Born To Lose’"and the title track, the album wasn’t as well received and settled at number 66 in the UK and a disappointing 168 in the US.

Over the years however, fans of Black Sabbath and hard rock in general have been re-discovering all that The Eternal Idol has to offer and this re-mastered Deluxe Expanded Edition adds two single b-sides from "The Shining": "Black Moon" and "Some Kind Of Woman", whilst the second disc brings to CD for the very first time the complete album session originally recorded by the late Ray Gillen.

32 customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

29 November 2014
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
3 October 2015
Format: MP3 DownloadVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
8 September 2018
Format: MP3 DownloadVerified Purchase
24 March 2014
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
7 August 2018
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
21 November 2014
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
19 October 2014
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
30 May 2011
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?