Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2014
Used it for my daughter's 11 plus revision. Great set of comprehension passages and she enjoyed doing some. Useful because the vocabulary was a bit more demanding than the normal fiction books for her age so it helped increase her knowledge.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
Great series of papers, more challenging than some other publications. Would recommended to use near the end of your 11+ prep.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Excellent and varied selection of texts. Above all the questions (multiple choice) were credible and appropriate_ unlike some publications which seemed to be trying to think up as many questions as they could no matter how ridiculous.
Highly recommended for 11+.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Interesting and good selection of reading passages from the "classics" that children going for 11+ should be able to deal with - Black Beauty, A Little Princess, Alice and Wonderland etc. Questions are a bit easier than sample past papers (according to my child). I'd say this is good prep for early days of 11+ prep and probably best compares to the Bond Level 9-10. Peer compare interesting! I like this function though you wonder if the numbers generated are legit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2016
Great comprehension book.There are 10 tests which are supposed to take 12 minutes each. My son has happily completed this twice before his 11+ exam (using different time settings less than 12 minutes). All comprehensions from classic literature (Peter Pan, Black Beauty, A Little Princess, Alice and Wonderland, Little Women, etc. I think, questions in this book helped him to practice his timing as well. He passed his 11 plus with very good marks. I'm so pleased with this book and some of the other books I bought for him. Highly recommended.
Hope this review is helpful at least a little bit :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
This is a useful book for practising comprehension, though (as the title says) it is all drawn from classic literature (Peter Pan, Little Women, Black Beauty, etc, so you will definitely need other books that include different kinds of texts. I think the level of questions is about right for the 11+. There are 10 tests which are supposed to take 12 minutes each.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
I have both of these comprehension books: classic and contemporary literature. The choice of extracts was very good in the classic book although I must say that it's virtually impossible for students to read (and absorb) the 3+ full A4 pages in 5 minutes (as recommended). Also, some of the questions were very ambiguous so more than one answer could have applied. A couple of the texts had excessively complex vocabulary: obstreperously, alacrity, withal, and cormorant to name a few that were contained in just one passage, whilst other texts had answers that could simply be guessed at by a process of eliminating the obviously wrong answers. Overall, I felt the choice of texts was good, but I was left wondering how well these papers had been tested on children before being published, as these issues should have really been identified and addressed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Good comprehension skills to bring out best in early year 5 - the work is challenging enough to start year 5 but not of high enough standard for 11 plus
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
Great for 11+ practice. Challenging comprehensions for this age group and plenty of `new words' within them to learn.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Excellent book, really helped with 11+ test preparation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)