Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13
4.7 out of 5 stars
Essential Cole Porter
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 October 2008
This compilation is a great staring point for new fans of Cole Porter. It features renditions of his songs by some of the biggets names around. Sound quality is variable in places as the source materials are now getting old. E.g. Cole Porter, Marlene Dietrich and Billie Holiday sound a bit muffled but Frank Sinatra and Bing Crosby later recordings sound great. This does not detract as it lends a bit of character and'sepia tinting'to a record looking into the past. Not your usual sterile 24 bit sound.. blah blah blah! It says Soho recordings but the Label company is Union Square- a good label i have bought other high standard compilations from before. Worth it!
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2009
The fact that this is both very cheap (Less that £4!) and that it has 60 songs, of which many are great means that not buying this is a foolish thing to do.

A great purchase as a gift to others or even as a gift to yourself.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2009
Over three hours of marvelous Cole Porter classics by great artists for me to sing along with. I thoroughly enjoyed myself but I'm not so sure the neighbours did! The price is so ridiculously small they are worth every penny and more.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
The title of this cd box set says it all. Porter is essential for any lover of music; and this collection, performed by some of the all-time great singers, is simply the best
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Some of Cole Porters work was very up-front and daring for its time. The artists and artistes make the most of these songs and made them hits. The melodies are all good to listen to and the lyrics interesting and sometimes risqué.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2010
I've recently become interested in the music of Cole Porter. These CDs (along with the Ella Fitzgerald songbook) are a superb collection of the work of a master songwriter. And what value!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
The best CD ever especially as a present for the older generation...but of course I listened to it first and wish someone had bought it for me!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
Three cd's of Porter perfection, with a wonderful selection of performers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
A bit variable - several duff tracks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
Quirky collection, but any rendition of Cole Porter is a winner for me -
even the dubious vocal talent of Porter himself. Great album !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)