A lower priced version of this book is available
Save £5.16 (47%) by choosing the Kindle Edition.
£4.74
Kindle price
£9.90
Paperback price

Save <span class="a-color-price">£5.16 (47%)</span> by choosing the Kindle Edition. Read now with the free Kindle app
Available on iOS, Android, Mac & PC.
  • RRP: £10.99
  • You Save: £1.09 (10%)
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Essayism has been added to your Basket
+ £0.00 delivery
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by Wordery
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Receive this fine as new book in 7-10 working days. Shipped from our UK supplier, via Royal Mail. We do not ship to Denmark.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Essayism Paperback – 7 Jun 2017

2.3 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
£9.90
£5.30 £5.29
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • Essayism
  • +
  • Typewriters, Bombs, Jellyfish
  • +
  • Bluets
Total price: £26.89
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 152 pages
  • Publisher: Fitzcarraldo Editions; First Edition edition (7 Jun. 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1910695416
  • ISBN-13: 978-1910695418
  • Product Dimensions: 19.6 x 1.8 x 12.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 2.3 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 265,021 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

'[A] wonderful, subtle and deceptively fragmentary little book...enjoyably roundabout and light-fingered...To borrow from one of Barthes's titles, this is a lover's discourse, the love object being writing, not only in the essay but it all its forms. It is also a testament to the consolatory, even the healing, powers of art. And at the last, in its consciously diffident fashion- Dillon is a literary flaneur in the tradition of Baudelaire and Walter Benjamin- it is its own kind of self-made masterpiece.'- John Banville, Irish Times

'It is somewhat unseemly for a critic to confess that their immediate reaction to a book is one of unremitting envy. But Brian Dillon's study of the essay is so careful and precise in its reading of a constellation of authors- Derrida and Barthes, Didion and Sontag, Browne and Burton, Woolf and Carlos Williams, Cioran and Perec- that my overall feeling was jealousy...A remarkable meditation on memory...above all he claims to admire style, and he is exceptionally good at defining the style he likes...His account of depression is reflected in thinking about the essay. Is it something composed of fragments and shards? Is it a coolly organised progression? Is it about confession? Is it about concealment? The book's excellence lies in the way these paradoxes are held suspended...The book, ultimately, is about how literature can make a difference. It is a beautiful and elegiac volume. I can give no greater compliment that to say that having read it, I re-read it.' --Stuart Kelly, New Statesman

'[W]ritten in lucid, exacting and unsentimental prose, Essayism is a vital book for people who turn to art- and especially writing- for consolation.'- Lauren Elkin, Guardian

'Brian Dillon could easily have written another book about the essay - its hallmarks, history, current role in literary turf wars, etc. What a relief, then, to find his Essayism navigating away, in its opening pages, from such a project, and turning instead toward this surprising, probing, edifying, itinerant, and eventually quite moving book, which serves as both an autobiographia literaria and a vital exemplar of how deeply literature and language can matter in a life.' --Maggie Nelson, author of The Argonauts

'Erudite and elegiac...Essayism is a constellation of close readings, its arguments coming to the fore through the repetition and rhyme between its sections. Dillon can locate the single comma or dash whose placement somehow sums up a writer's aesthetic commitments (he does especially graceful work with Hardwick's sentences).' --Will Rees, Times Literary Supplement

From the Back Cover

Imagine a type of writing so hard to define its very name means a trial, effort or attempt. An ancient form with an eye on the future, a genre poised between tradition and experiment. The essay wants above all to wander, but also to arrive at symmetry and wholeness; it nurses competing urges to integrity and disarray, perfection and fragmentation, confession and invention. How to write about essays and essayists while staying true to these contradictions? Essayism is a personal, critical and polemical book about the genre, its history and contemporary possibilities. It's an example of what it describes: an essay that is curious and digressive, exacting yet evasive, a form that would instruct, seduce and mystify in equal measure. Among the essayists to whom he pays tribute - from Virginia Woolf to Georges Perec, Joan Didion to Sir Thomas Browne - Brian Dillon discovers a path back into his own life as a reader, and out of melancholia to a new sense of writing as adventure.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 3 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

31 July 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
15 November 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
29 September 2017
Format: Paperback
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.6 out of 5 stars 3 reviews
David Tooke
5.0 out of 5 starsLiterary fun
26 August 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful.
Stephen Lyons
5.0 out of 5 stars!!!
25 August 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
MK
4.0 out of 5 starsFour Stars
13 September 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: literary criticism, fitzcarraldo editions

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?