Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2016
This is Book 3, Davina won the last round, yes she cheated and the good guys wait for an indication from upstairs that she might get a slap down. Meanwhile Jim makes a deal with Davina to get the name of his third soul. He is sneaky enough to get what he wants but Adrian and Eddie are worried. When they express concern between this and Sissy Jim tells them to walk away. This has tragic consequences.

They need to save Detective Thomas DelVecchio Jr - only one problem, he has already been infected by Davina. His father is a mass murderer who is currently on death row and who has been dancing to her tune for years. He lives in fear that he will turn out like his father. The fact that he beat up a serial killer but has no knowledge fuels this fear. Enter Sophia Reilly of IA who will supervise him for a month. Sophia and Veck have chemistry which finally boils over rather hotly but Reilly regrets it, she swings rapidly between wanting him and regretting sleeping with him and this allows her to be persuaded that she has read Veck all wrong and that he is actually just like his father.

This is Davina at her best. One of her actions allows Jim to find Sissy's body, she was the young girl in the previous book who was the sacrifice for her mirror. Jim is obsessed with finding her body and her soul, to take her home. It is this find that starts Vecks downfall, meanwhile he has finally started listening to Jim.

In the background we also get to see more of Colin and Nigel the Archangels relationship and the dynamics that cause that life changing row, the one that allows Colin to be in a position to help Adrian just when he needs it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
These book should be made into movies!

In this third book Jim has the task of saving the soul of Thomas DelVecchio Jr aka Veck, here again im loving the small cross over from the BDB series with this character.

In this book you really become invested in the main characters you want Veck and Rielly to work and have there happy ending. The twist and turns in there relationship keep you hooked.

There seems to more sex in this book than the previous two, but trust me there still steamy and so very sexy.

The emotions that run through you as you read these books have you in bits at times, they are so fast paced and always turning in ways you dont expect.
Jim continues to surprise you, one minute you think hes going to the dark side with Devina, then he is doing the opposite of what you think to fight for the lost soul of Sissy.
Jim walks a very thin line between good and bad, that makes him the perfect choice to fight for humanity i think.

Jim's dog continues to intrigue me also, who is he? hes so much more than a dog, right?

The whole Adrian and Eddie situation, heat broken. I wont say more as i dont like to put spoilers in my reviews.

Im so glad there are 7 sins as we have so much more to explore with Jim and his Fallen angels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
Jim Heron, fallen angel is back and this time he is helping Thomas 'Veck' DelVecchio, homicide detective and son of a serial killer, a legacy which Veck fears he will carry for the rest of his life. Veck is teamed up with Internal Affairs, Sophia Reilly to hunt for a serial killer, who reminds Veck of his father. Along with Jim Heron, Adrian and Eddie they must discover what happened to the victims and for Jim, he must find the body of one of the victims, a victim of Devina and help her get to heaven. Veck's path is laid out in front of him, will chose to be like his father? Or face his demons and be the good man he is.

'Envy' is my favourite of the series, the storyline was excellent and yet again, J.R. Ward takes you through a range of emotions from the beginning to the ending of the story. Jim and Veck are both struggling and it draws them together to ultimately fight against Devina which made for excellent reading.

I cannot wait for the next book in the series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2011
I have just finished reading Envy and really enjoyed it, I especially liked the continuation of the other characters storylines especially Adrian and the Archangel Colin who was quite a surprise.

The storyline is good, fast paced and although I did find the female lead a bit weak in places, the chemistry between the two and Ward's one liners were enough to keep me hooked.

What I like most with this series is the actual angels so the soul they are saving each book comes second to the story for me and I wasn't disappointed with Envy as a LOT happens to the angels.

You really need to read these in order as this is book 3 and the storyline follows on from the first two books. If you liked the first two, then you'll love this.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 February 2012
Envy is the third in the fallen Angel's series, and by my reckoning the best so far. To be read after: Covet: A Novel of the Fallen Angels: 1 (Novel of the Fallen Angels 1) and Crave: A Novel of the Fallen Angels (Novels of the Fallen Angels), in that order.

What I love about these stories is that they tie in nice and tight with The Black Dagger Brotherhood, and Ward's unique style and story telling are instantly recognisable.

In this instalment Jim Heron is starting to get to grips with the Angel thing. He's realising the boundaries aren't always black and white, and that where Devina is concerned all's unfair in sex and war, but that can work for you as well as against you.

Just like her character, Ward isn't afraid to break boundaries either. Her cunning imagination always give the reader hope that they might get the outcome they want while she never actually gives anything away.

Ward's talents to paint the scene are second to none; with a broad collection of secondary characters all woven into the plot, these stories are more like mini movies than books.

I've already pre-ordered Rapture: A Novel of the Fallen Angels: 4
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
The third book in JR Ward's Fallen Angel series follows Jim Heron on his quest to save the souls of seven chosen people, who will determine the fate of the rest of humanity. His third soul is Thomas DelVecchio Jr AKA 'Veck'. As with the other two books in the series we follow Veck at a crossroads in his life, hoping that he makes the choice that will give Jim a victory against the Demon Devina.

I really enjoyed this edition to the series. Ward once again creates characters in Veck and his colleague/love interest Reilly that you become invested in and want to have a happy ending. The twists and turns in their relationship and story kept me interested. My only criticism is that Ward is becoming slightly formulaic with the way she develops her characters. This is especially true if you have read the last few Black Dagger Brotherhood books. In both the BDB and fallen angel books the male characters are tall, huge (in every way of coarse), dominant characters who soften only in their interaction with the female love interest. I don't really want to read book after book about virtually the same males falling for virtually the same females. I hope Ward becomes a bit more inventive in the next few BDB and fallen angel books. The sex scenes, of which there are more than ever in this book are also very similar from book to book. Sorry Ward fans but it probably wouldn't be as obvious if they were used more sparingly!

Far more interesting and touching was the relationship between the angels, especially Eddie and Adrian. Their friendship and love for one another reaches new heights towards the end of the book and is really touching. We saw a bit more of the archangels Nigel and Colin in this book also. I found myself warming to them slightly as characters, especially Colin who I think may end up joining the fight on earth. Finally there is the interaction between Jim and Devina. Jim tries a new and dangerous tactic in this book in his fight with her. Ward is starting to portray Jim as something a bit different to the other angels and more powerful, so hopefully he will survive his new tactics. Again I found myself warming to Jim as we learned more about his strength and his compassion for others, especially Sissie and her family and the way he helped Adrian in his heartbreak.

Overall, I really enjoyed Envy. I think the Fallen Angel books are less predictable than the last few BDB books and have more potential for interesting developments in the future. I would definitely recommend Envy, especially to any JR Ward fans as it doesn't disappoint!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've gone off the boil where JR Wards books are concerned as her BDB series has veered away from the original characters and her constant and excessive use of Urban Americanisms had me reaching for the dictionary too many times. IMHO, she tries a little too hard to appear effortless in being hip and trendy with the latest expressions, with stuff that works when verbalised, but when on paper, only looks strange and makes the reader read and re-read (me, I was going WTF???) before the meaning becomes clear. And, she's on the back cover of her book in a poncy pose, which again tries too hard to be effortless and make her look young and trendy...But then came this series, with a great opening tale, an ok second tale, and this the third, a decent tale.

The main improvement is that the leads, who though not as fully-fleshed as they could easily have been, are actually nice enough people. She, Sophia Reilly, has overcome being born of a druggie mother who abandoned her, was lucky enough to be raised (and very PC the author is too, as Sophia is Caucasian, but her parents are African American) by successful people who have made her life happy and balanced, and more so, she's an Internal Affairs cop, but is confident, not conflicted in her role, though she does not have much of a life outside of work. He, Thomas del Vecchio the second, is the cop son of a serial killer, who apparently has both good and bad in him.

TDV - aka Veck, is due to have his soul taken by Devina if he succumbs to the darkness, and so Jim Heron and his angel buddies Adrian and Eddie are on the case. That's basically it.

There's a lot of blood, there's the torture and killing of an innocent female, some hot and heavy stuff between Veck and Reilly that I couldn't quite see (very little interaction, but then apparently they succumb to inexplicable passion, though she is supervising him), there's a threesome with Adrian, Eddie and an unknown pick-up (with some element of mild M/M interaction- where did that come from?), a really touching scene between Jim and the victim's mother, the death of a fairly main character, and two gay archangels. Sounds confusing? It was, a bit. To be able to really get into it, I'd have been better off re-reading book 2.

Overall, it was an ok read, but this series is not one that I will be forking out on; no, I will wait til it becomes available at my local library.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
Ex ops soldier and now Fallen Angel Jim Heron is already one soul down.Seeing Sissy encased in the black slimey walls of demon Devinas 'hell has made him more determind than ever to save the next one.
Detective Thomas'Veck'Delvecchio has demons of his own.The son of a mass murderer,does he share more than just the name of his father?
I give this book 5* because apart from being well written and the fact i thouroughly enjoyed it i liked all the characters.Also it was a bit of a crossover book with the vampire attack in the begining which ended the last book from'The Black Dagger series,Lover Unleashed'which is the first time J.R Ward does this.Also in both books we see Detective de la Cruz,taking place in Caldwell it had to happen at some time and i feel there may be a story there if we wait long enough for it.
I really like Jim Heron,Adrian,Eddie and little dog(who is he really?).It is a bit sad in the middle and i was dissapointed it happened(not going to say anymore than that).All in all i was etertained and unhappy that it had to come to an end and looking forward to meeting the next soul.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2011
Always slighlty a worry after so far enjoying a series that the next installment might not live up to expectations - no worries here! I thankfully had a free afternoon so i could read the entire book in one sitting, and believe me it wasn't hard to do. I just had to find out the ending - whilst some aspects where always going to be slighlty predictable (the guy gets the girl, the good guys win another point...) there were also the great variety of surprises that J R Ward adds into her books. I love the fact that the story isn't always so nice and clean cut, and people do get hurt... The only criticism for the book which may effect other readers is that a lot of the back story of Vecks life is covered in the BDB book Lover Unleashed by Ward, therefore if you read both series you should be fine, i read the BDB book before this one so i understood a lot of the old references but it properly doesn't detract from the story line if you only follow the Fallen Angel series.
I can't wait for the next sin... and i'm so glad that there are 7 deadly sins!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Envy is the third book in the Fallen Angels series by American author, J.R.Ward. After saving one and losing one, Jim Heron, the nominated saviour, with his two sidekick angels, Eddie and Adrian, has another soul to save. The action for this instalment starts in BDB Lover Unleashed, when Thomas DelVecchio Jnr (BDB Butch O'Neal's replacement in CPD as De La Cruz's partner) is introduced as a cop with unenviable parentage and an anger management problem. When he finds himself in the woods with critically injured serial-killer Kroner, a man he had intended to kill, he can't remember what happened (thanks to a vampire memory wipe) so he imagines his evil self has taken over. After all, his father, Thomas DelVecchio Snr is a serial-killer on death row. But his call to 911 brings Internal Affairs cop, Sophia Reilly to the scene. The attraction is immediate, and once Veck is vindicated, they are thrown together as partners in Homicide. With Devina up to her usual tricks, the angels have their hands full, and Jim's focus on Sissy Barten's fate creates tension between him, Adrian and Eddie. Nor is life harmonious with the archangels, with Colin showing his argumentative side. This instalment has FBI impersonations, a visit to a prison, a hot scene interrupted by pizza, a shock death, a clever trick with mirrors and a gripping climax in a cave. Jim adds another trick to his arsenal; the banter between the characters is enjoyable and Ward sets up the characters for the next book in the series, Rapture. Another habit-forming series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse