Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2011
I gave Elizabeth Norton's book about Margaret Beaufort five stars and consider this book to be equally impressive. A phenomenal amount of work must have been needed to produce such a comprehensive overview of the subject. Top marks also for the inclusion of family trees.

Biographical sketches are given of English queens since Boudica. I particularly enjoyed the details about the Anglo Saxon queens which is an area about which I have read little and the Stuart queens where the author does include information I have not come across before. The author also includes interesting characters such as Anne Hyde who never became queens but were married to men who became kings.

A really useful book which will lead me to further reading particularly on the Anglo Saxon era.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 April 2016
Here we have a great read carefully researched and attractively compiled by Elizabeth Norton whose work I find both more readable and more fascinating than many novels. There's no skimping and around 25% of the work is taken up dealing with the Anglo-Saxon queens, some of whom, and especially Emma, are fascinating characters. This section is followed by four more sections: The Norman Queens; The Plantagenet Queens; The Lancastrian Queens and The Yorkist Queens and the work begins with another chapter concerning the early and mythical queens with several pages allotted to Boudica. She and Matilda, daughter of Henry I (1100-1135) are the only queens regnant during the period covered in this volume, which also contains genealogical tables, notes, bibliography, illustrations and index.

Approaching history from the distaff side casts a whole new light on everything, not least in how we see how some of these special ladies played a more important role in affairs than is often realised. In some cases they were, in a very real sense, the power behind the throne. Among the most influential queens was Emma of Normandy (983-1052) who was the wife of two kings, Ethelred the Redeless and Canute, the mother of two kings, Hardicanute and Edmund the Confessor. She was also a great aunt of William the Conqueror.

No fewer than five 11th/12th century Matildas are featured: an empress, three queens and a duchess, all of whom played significant roles in the development of the English royal house. Since Henry I died without any surviving male children, his daughter Matilda, who was then the widow of the Holy Roman Emperor and had become known as 'The Empress', was the rightful heir to the English throne. Unfortunately, since a large section of the English nobility were not keen on having a female monarch, her cousin Stephen of Blois was invited to become king, a decision which caused civil war. Although Matilda was initially very successful in her attempts to oust Stephen, things began to go badly for her and she eventually agreed to allow Stephen to remain king until he died, after which her son, Henry of Anjou, would inherit the English crown as Henry II. Although Matilda was never crowned, bona fide claimants to the throne do not have to be crowned in order to become monarchs.

One of the most influential of all these queens was Eleanor of Aquitaine, queen of Henry II and mother of Richard I and King John and who lived until she was over 81, an unusually long life for those days. Isabella, queen of Edward II, was another strong character. In fact, there are several of these among the queens, among the most likeable of which are Elizabeth Woodville, the commoner who married Edward IV, and her daughter Elizabeth of York who married Henry VII, first king of the Tudor dynasty. Since this Elizabeth was directly descended from Edward III through his eldest surviving son it meant that the shaky Tudor claim to the throne was strengthened through the children of this marriage, one of whom became Henry VIII. Henry VII was descended from John of Gaunt and his liaison with Catherine Swynford (nee Roet). Henry VII was her great great grandson through her great grand daughter Margaret Beaufort.

This wonderful work is packed with fascinatingly interesting facts such as this and I could go on writing about it all for pages and pages, but long reviews can be very off-putting. It's a 'pick up any time book' when you need to find out something and is excellent for using in conjunction with relevant websites. Tracing history through the distaff side casts a whole new inspiring light on everything especially when it's so well done as achieved here by Elizabeth Norton. Although this work ends with Elizabeth of York, there's a second volume that takes us right up to Queen Elizabeth II, which I shall be buying shortly. History is a real joy when it's researched and presented in such an attractive fashion as it is here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
I brought this book for a family member at Christmas as i knew they where interested in History and wanted to learn more and having read snippets of the book i was sure it was the right one for them- they absolutely loved it and recommended me to read it as well.
What's so great about this book is it covers every women known to ever have been Queen of England ( nearly eighty either as regnant or consort) from the mythical Guinevere to the controversial ones Emma of Normandy, Eleanor of Aquitaine, the 'warrior' ones Boadicea, Margaret of Anjou and the one who fought for her right to be crowned Queen the Empress Matilda, the one that changed the course of her country's history Anne Boleyn, the one who was branded a tyrant for ordering the burnings of hundreds of Protestants Mary I, the one that proved women could rule equally as well as men- the enigmatic Elizabeth 1, the one who lost her head after plotting to take her cousins throne Mary Queen of Scots, the one who took her fathers position after he fled the country during the Glorious Revolution Mary II our current longest reigning Monarch- Queen Victoria and of course our current Queen Elizabeth II.

What's so great about this book is that it is not to heavy at all for anyone, even those that have just the slightest bit of interest in History, it will give you an insight into what each one went through and how they helped shape the role for female rulers- from those who where the power behind the throne and through one way or another helped shape their husbands rule good or bad- Emma of Normandy, Matilda of Flanders, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, Anne Boleyn, Caroline of Ansbach, Elizabeth Bowes-Lyon, to the those who's time ended in tragedy- Katherine Howard, Sophia Dorothea of Celle, and those whose marriages where true love-Eleanor of Provence and Henry III, Anne of Bohemia and Richard II, Mary II and William of Orange, Queen Anne and Prince George of Denmark, Queen Charlotte and George III, Queen Adelaide and William IV, Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, George V and Mary of Teck, George VI and Elizabeth Bowes-Lyon and our current queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip.

What's so fascinating is to see the role of Queen change as you go down the line and see how each one played some contribution no matter how small to shaping the position of female rule, every single Queen is covered in this book from Guinevere to Elizabeth II, each story will either fascinate, intrigue you, make you sympathise or admire them.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I chose this book primarily for the early chapters, but I found the whole book fascinating. Very little is said about events since Elizabeth II's accession to the throne, but plenty is available elsewhere about her reign. However, there is a striking family picture of her as a child, probably from the late thirties, with her parents, sister and their dogs. This picture has since appeared on the cover of Pets by Royal Appointment: The Royal Family and their Animals.

The book begins with the earliest known queens to rule over, or at least be wives to kings who ruled over, at least part of what became England. They include Boudicca (or Boadicea), who lived almost 2,000 years ago. There is a limited knowledge about her and other very early queens, so the book really begins around 1,300 years ago with the early Anglo-Saxon queens.

There are some very strange stories along the way, notably Isabella of Valois (married and widowed as a child) and Catherine of Burgundy (cousin and wife of King George IV; they took an instant dislike to each other but nevertheless produced a child, who died before either parent), as well as the more famous strange stories of the Tudors and others.

At the end are some genealogical tables, a bibliography and index. The genealogy tables, as ever in a book, are inadequate for those who are seriously interested in the subject, although adequate for other readers. For serious genealogists, I recommend looking around the net. My recommendation is to google for Celtic royal genealogy rootsweb -the royal lines go all the way back to Boudicca and before that site has occasional errors but it's better than other sites I've seen. My own genealogy includes a lot of early queens, most recently Joan Beaufort, Queen of Scots, who isn't covered in this book; her great-grandmother, Philippa of Hainault is.

I found this fascinating book entertaining from beginning to end.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
Love this book, great read. It is well written and gives an insight of how life was. If you love history you will love this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
A wonderful book about the queens of English history, I enjoyed reading this and would recommend it to anyone who is fascinated by history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
Very, very good !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
a gift bought for a female relative who likes to read about English Queens
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
please with purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)